We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for young backpackers - Le Village Hostel, Paris”
Review of Le Village Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Village Hostel
Ranked #4 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Le Village Hostel in Paris is a highly recommended place for young travelers including Solo backpackers. Being one myself, I found the place to be a great value for money proposition. Agreed, it is a bit off the main areas of Paris but at the same time the hostel is literally a minute's walk from the Anvers metro station and a stones throw from the Sacre Couer!

The rooms are pretty neat and simple with ensuite bathrooms. The only irritant being the bizzare shower system in the rooms which has an automatic turn-off every minute and has literally no pressure! So, taking a shower is not really the most refreshing part of your day here.

having said that..the hostel is pretty cool and chilled out with a decent free breakfast every morning and free wi fi in the common area and kitchen area. There's a simple but well equipped kitchen area if you wish to cook up stuff.

The staff of the hostel is pretty chilled out and there is no lock out period too!

All in all, i would recommend this place if you are looking at a chilled out no frills hostel in paris

:)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrpanMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

I had reservations about this Hostel. It exceeded all of my expectations. The staff was helpful. The immediate area is average for Paris, think Bohemian Rustic. It is very close to Metro, food and bin type apparel shopping. Easy to get to and from with a little patience. You can pay and catch the "HOP ON HOP OFF" tour bus right next to the Metro (Anvers) station.

I shared a room with 3 other females all traveling solo. The room was on the terrace with bathroom ensuite, toilet and shower separated, Great. Only complaint, bunk beds with no ladders. I am 43 years old and 5'2. It was a task getting in and out of the top bed for the one night had to sleep in a top bunk. Clean, but it does have a odor that soon fades once you've been there for a while, like a basement slightly damp. Not a deal killer.

The price is right, and I met some great people there...GREAT FOR WOMEN FLYING SOLO!

Room Tip: ASK For room on the terrace with ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJones1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Le village hostel is a clean comfy hostel which provides everything you could need for a short stay in Paris. One of the staff, tony I think his name was, was really helpful and showed me where I should go and how to best use the metro. The main downside of this place is the location of the hostel itself. Montmartre is a bit of a dodgy area, particularly at night, and its a bit out of the way from the main sights.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azza116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My school JIS in Brunei went on a school trip to Paris we stayed there for 5 nights and had an amazing time. We brought along our lovely dog Hese who played with all the dogs that were staying there. The food was great and the staff were very helpful even giving some of the children french lessons. Overall, it was a great stay and we will defiantly be back nest year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedwen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The village is a nice hostel just around the corner of Sacre Coeur.The best thing is they give you two clean and fresh bed sheets on arrival and have a well maintained kitchen and locker facility.

Location - It is very close to the metro station “Anvers” and “Barbès Rochechuart”. It is good advice to buy a 10-times-ticket or a similar offering and start your sightseeing tours at one of these metro stations. The railway station “Gare du Nord” is easy to reach by walk...

It serve a cool breakfast in the morning, their english speaking staffs are very friendly and helpful.

I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Really cool and friendly hostel, provided with fresh clean sheets upon arrival and met smiling faces. Good working free wifi, clean well kept rooms with plenty of young people to socialize with, and FABULOUS free breakfast. Hostel provides many areas to sit and talk to friends. Also 2 minutes away from metro and sacre coer. Would stay here again!

Thank marcyella13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We liked our stay here but might look elsewhere when in Paris, main reason was unfortunately just the area itself. When we first saw it, i must admit my heart sunk with some worry, It is next to the red light district with lots of market stalls and a few sketchy people around, so if arriving by night I would hesitate to walk from the metro to the hostel alone in a city your unfamiliar with. Having said that the hostel is actually really good. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The hostel is secure and only five minute walk to a few metro stops. Close to the sacre couer and moulin rouge. Room was clean and decent although a bit small and a little bit noisy from the street noise. Breakfast was included and was good. Had a kitchen and fridge and nice outdoor area for chilling out when the sun was around. Wifi only worked in the lobby which was a bit annoying but no biggie. Seems like a very chilled and quiet hostel, not a party hostel. Good budget option and not bad for the price in Paris, an expensive city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brians86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Le Regent Hostel
#11 of 181 in Paris
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Arty Paris
#10 of 181 in Paris
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village Hostel

Address: 20 rue d Orsel, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £20 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Village is when old charm meets modern. Located in Montmartre, one of Paris most popular, young and dynamic area, the hostel welcomes travelers willing to enjoy Paris as a local and discover the most beautiful momuments of the city. Walk few minutes down to the Sacré-Coeur, sit in a nice coffee shop, enjoy the small streets of the area, and the great night life. The hostel offers different type of accomodation; dormitories, mixed or not, private, double or triple room, all equipped with AC and free wifi. Prepare a meal in the common kitchen and share it in the dining room with travelers from all around the world. As well, we invite you to share a fresh drink in the "On the Road" pub located inside the hostel! The great team will be happy to help and answer any of your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Village Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing