We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Ranked #646 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Gladgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for short stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great hotel for a short stay in Paris, the rooms are quite small but clean with maids every morning. The staff cant do enough to help you and its in a very local french area - great if you want the french experience. The closest metros are gaite(come out hotel turn left its 5 mins away) and alésia(come out hotel turn right its 5 mins away) - we preferred the alésia as it takes you directly to most of the attractions along the Seine. The metro is easy to work once you get your head around it and very useful! There is a supermarket if you follow the alley to the left of the building and go along the ajoining road its on your left. There is also a small shop directly outside hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    299
    121
    24
    8
See reviews for
91
226
44
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We chose the Campanile Maine Montparnasse for a few key reasons: it was well priced, it allowed us (through Booking.com) to specify twin or double rooms, it was well located - not far on the metro to the main sights and the reviews on TA were solid.

We were not disappointed with our choice. A number of us travelled together and found the rooms clean, well appointed and the hotel staff very pleasant and accommodating (helping with chilling some champagne for us and when we had problems with the safe). The rooms were bigger than I expected for Paris (though not huge) - I think if you get the corner rooms (ending in 07) they are more generously proportioned. The bathroom was very clean with excellent water pressure in the shower. Bed was comfortable and we did not find being on the first floor noisy at all, even though the hotel is on a main road.

In terms of location it takes about 10 minutes to walk to Montparnasse Bienvenue metro and just under that to get to Denfert Rocherau. It takes so long to get through MB as it is a large interchange that there is no point changing there for Gaite as this stop is about a 1 minute walk from MB. No attraction took more than about 20 mins on the metro. We found plenty of restaurants nearby too - heading off the main street to find more reasonable options and the area was safe and pleasant.

As we often got the metro from MB in the morning, we often ate at the cafe in the train station - 6€ for coffee, croissant and an orange juice.

I'd not hesitate to stay here again. It is not a place full of character, true, but a clean, well-appointed base to explore the city from.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be quieter. Corner rooms (ending in 07) might be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumbletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My 14 year old son, friend and myself stayed here for three nights in April. The hotel is, as the title suggests, fine. Let's face it we weren't in Paris to be in our room. It is easy enough to find, nearest metro station is Gaite on the light blue line! (I'm a Londoner so just renamed the Paris metro lines after the tube so in this case the Victoria line - not very helpful if you don't use the tube - sorry) what is helpful if you have a smartphone is the "Paris metro" app. Great expandable map and route finder which meant we didn't get lost on the metro once and we took it everywhere. Station is a 10 minute max walk from hotel. The reception staff are nice and when we made requests these were dealt with promptly. We borrowed a hair dryer and converter plug from them (20€ deposit refundable on return). The room is very small particularly with three single beds, but it was clean, the windows opened and the beds were very comfortable. Small bathroom with a small shower which had the main tap in the middle of the back wall, being of the larger variety I tended to turn of the shower every time I took a step back from the shower curtain but the water pressure was excellent and that is my main criteria for a shower. There was also a huge step up to get in the shower which could be a problem for anyone with mobility problems.
We didn't bother with the breakfast as it didn't look that appetising, there are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a very nice bakery about 10 mins walk away (turn right out of the hotel, cross over and walk down the side of the small park with the carousel and you will come to the bakery on the left. On the Friday there was also a fantastic little market). So overall everything was........fine. I don't know that I'd stay in Montparnasse again, little quiet for me but honestly if you're happy with fine go for it.

Room Tip: It's a very quiet area can't imagine any rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clockendkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in Campanile Maine Montparnasse for 4 nights in April, it is well located between Metro stations (Gaite and Alesia) for easy access to the Parisian attractions we were visiting for (I had 27 students and 3 other staff to accommodate!) My bed was comfortable and the room fine, including a safe for security. I was a little annoyed that no matter if I had flipped the 'do not disturb' switch on my room door (that is what you have to do instead of hanging a little sign on the door) my room was indeed disturbed each day for cleaning. Having 27 teenage boys to wrangle meant I had bigger things to worry about at the time. Breakfast was decent each morning, we all had enough to eat (and these boys eat a lot!) however when supplies ran low it was slow to be replenished. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights on a short break to Paris. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is about 10 minutes walk from the metro-Line 4- which goes directly to Gare de Nord , Cite and other tourist locations.
the room was really comfortable-and I loved the contemporary décor. We were at the back, so it was really quiet. Tea/coffee making facilities were a welcome addition, so was the provision of a bath as well as a shower. The twin room was a good size and, whereas the beds might be a bit small for a tall adult, they were fine for us. We could regulate the temperature in the room ourselves, so that was another bonus. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't have the buffet breakfast, but there are several cafes nearby if you just want coffee and croissants.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back, as the hotel is on a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annafromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for money. The rooms were very clean and of a decent size. Didn't have to wait long for the lifts to the top floor. Not too noisy. Excellent receptionists. Very friendly and helpful.

We had to pay for breakfast but a good continental selection. Slow to be replenished at times. Times of breakfast were excellent. I think they were 630 to 10 on the weekends. Cost we €9,95 and half price for children

Quite a good location for the metro. It was within easy walking distance

Would recommend this hotel if on a budget

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank slb1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Accommodation, service and breakfast were all of good standard. We had a room at the rear and therefore weren't bothered by noisy main road ( I wouldn't chance a room at the front). We found the hotel to be quite noisy in that you could hear all of the internal noises, however, the room was small but comfortable and good value (part of Eurostar package). Montparnasse is a good choice if you are seeking a more local area - there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the Metro/RER are about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel. Breakfast at 'Felicie' (5 mins walk) was a delight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#776 of 1,801 in Paris
524 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#378 of 1,801 in Paris
551 reviews
Montparnasse
Ibis Paris Maine Montparnasse 14eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Orchidee
#396 of 1,801 in Paris
254 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Virgina
Hotel Virgina
#640 of 1,801 in Paris
296 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
#729 of 1,801 in Paris
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse

Property: Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Address: 146 avenue du Maine, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Maine Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Campanile Maine Montparnasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing