We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique
Ranked #1,417 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Copthornw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, rooms were cramped but nice apart from the fact the bed sheets didn't get changed in the time we stayed. Also there was minor light on the stairs - serious health and safety issue. Breakfast was nice but very cramped with only a few seats.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Westgate1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    61
    57
    25
    33
See reviews for
55
76
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here with some friends, whilst out and about on the Saturday our rooms had been cleaned and money was taken from the room. The manager? (not much of one) said it could not be his staff and then proceeded to get quite irate, he then started accusing my room mates of taking the money!! we asked that we have the number of the local police station to report the crime, he then said he didnt know the number, we asked if he could fine out, he said no and told us to use our phones to find it out. The rooms have black carpets that seem to never get a vacuum, and the beds have plastic sheets that crinkle when you move. Its also extremely noisy even in the early morning. Please only stay here if you are desperate!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 123kim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager E, Gérant at Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guests,

We are very surprised by your accusations that we reject because you had 2 options for safekeeping your documents and money:

- Put your documents and money in the safe with password provided in your room for free
- Put your documents and money in the safe of the reception for free

It is important to remember that you were not alone in your room, and you were with 3 roommates. Also, you have written 2 reviews on Tripadvisor regarding the same room, the same booking and the same problem: "Do not stay here unless your desperate", "Terrible experience".

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed in a very cramped room (photos are extremely misleading) with three friends for a nice weekend in Paris, but although the hotel is well-situated the staff are rude and we had a terrible experience. We were out all day Saturday and returned to our room to find the room had been cleaned, but money had been stolen from one of my friends! The manager was very accusatory and basically told my friend that one of us (her friends) had stolen the money! Don't stay at this hotel...rude and untrustworthy staff, plus the rooms are very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieFanatic045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager E, Gérant at Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Same response because the previous review is from the same guest:

Dear guests,

We are very surprised by your accusations that we reject because you had 2 options for safekeeping your documents and money:

- Put your documents and money in the safe with password provided in your room for free
- Put your documents and money in the safe of the reception for free

It is important to remember that you were not alone in your room, and you were with 3 roommates. Also, you have written 2 reviews on Tripadvisor regarding the same room, the same booking and the same problem: "Do not stay here unless your desperate", "Terrible experience".

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The pictures certainly show the best of this hotel but don't do it justice. We stayed for three nights and had a good stay but a couple of complaints. Disappointed with the size of the bathroom - the toilet was crammed in one corner, the shower in the other, with the sink in the middle and little space to stand, let alone walk. The beds weren't long enough - I'm 5 ft 7 and my feet hung out the end! On the whole, the room was clean and enough space for our luggage, but was far too dark (because of the black/white decor). Staff were a lot more friendly than others suggest, despite our inability to speak French. We asked where we could print out some tickets and they happily printed them for us - very good service! Excellent location, situated between two metro stops and plenty of shops/cafes etc. While there are better hotels in the area, there sure as hell are a lot worse!

Room Tip: Don't sleep with windows open, as despite the heat from the room at night, the outside noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Rude staff with a very low service standard, Rooms are small and too expensive for what you get. We booked a room for 3 persons but could only get breakfast for one person. We had to pay aditionally for the breakfast for the others (!!?????) which was 10€ each for a buffet that was empty (30 minutes after it opened. When we asked why we had to pay extra the receptionist didn't even bother to explain and was also too lazy to get more food. Conclusively, not worth visiting unless you like to piss away your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmen1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel Staff both am and pm very rude. They do not know what Customer service is. Was billed for room and when the clerk tried to give me my room key; suddenly room not available. I had to call my US Bank and cancel transaction; since no manager seems to ever be on site; whom according to clerk is the only person authorized to reverse charge. In my opinion I sensed fraud.

I ended up staying in my traveling companion's room / a double bed, and there was an extra charge for a downgrade from queen to double bed. His room was a queen.

The rooms are tiny, elevator tiny, floors don't ever seemed to be vacuumed; general area very noisy. I HIGLY do not recommend anyone stay at this property. Price may be cheap for Paris standards but my experience was HORRIBLE there. The rude treatment from Staff alone; is a reason NOT to stay.

Room Tip: avoid property / not worth low quality rooms or rude staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this hotel last minute as our previously booked hotel was not in the best location for a group of women traveling together. The price is competitive, it is close to the train line to travel into the city, and well the hotel doesn't have all the mod cons, but then again, you are not staying in your room all day. The walls are a little paper thin, considering we could hear the couple next door (which I assume were on their honeymoon) going at it all night! I found the staff to be friendly, but then again we were all women. They don't have a lot of staff, and yes they do not have a secure locked area to hold your luggage. Would I stay here again? Probably no as I would like to try something different, but I would recommend this to others for a short stay in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Paix Republique
Paix Republique
#1,143 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Hotel Exposition Tour Eiffel
#676 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#826 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
#968 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel Meslay Republique
Hotel Meslay Republique
#1,221 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Ibis Styles Paris Republique
Ibis Styles Paris Republique
#1,154 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique

Property: Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique
Address: 4 boulevard de Magenta | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,417 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the 10th district of Paris, Hotel Exposition République is located in Place de la République, a stone's throw from the Marais quarter, Place de la Bastille and major department stores. Hotel Exposition offers comfortable, soundproof rooms some of which include a balcony. They are all equipped with satellite LCD TV and Wi-Fi access. The professional staff is on hand to ensure you have a pleasant stay in Paris. 24/7, Phone, Safe, Wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Exposition
De l Exposition Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing