We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel de France - Spring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France Quartier Latin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Ranked #1,177 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Suffolk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hotel de France - Spring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel de France in Paris in April 2011 (not as title suggests). We had a double bedroom, although small was very clean and fit for purpose. We were visiting Paris and seeing the sights so all the home comforts of a more expensive hotel were not needed.
The location was good and we were able to walk or take the metró to Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower etc. We did not eat at the hotel, instead we opted to eat at the various cafés and restaurants locally. The surrounding places were very good for breakfast and lunch, or with a drink in the sun. The average temp for our stay was approx. early 20c. Very comfortable sitting outside the various cafés. Sadly we struggled to find a restaurant that didn't serve the same menu everywhere in the area around the hotel, it became boring eating the same thing every night on a limited menu. However an Italian restaurant called La Comedia in the Panthéon region was by far the best, including food and service.
Our double room faced the street and was not too noisy to disturb our sleep and the room comes with air conditioning, free wifi and a flat screen TV (most channels were in French). Our room had railings outside (not really a balcony) but was nice to watch the world go by, and the sun shone in the double doors. Although we only saw the staff at reception and no one else, they were very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side, allows the sun to shine in through the window and is quite pleasant to wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlasalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    112
    61
    12
    15
See reviews for
31
127
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

The cons:
Very small bedrooms and bathrooms and breakfast room.
Breakfast is for spartans with a vital minimum (like motel 6), and you can't help yourself.

The pros:
Very good location next to the bottom of Mouffetard. Many good restaurants around, and close to the activity of Mouffetard, but in a quite place. Closest metro station is Censier Daubeton. Lots a line buses, including one (91) running between Montparnasse and Gare de Lyon railway stations.
Free WiFi
Nice staff
If you get a good deal with sites like Kayak, it is worth it for the price

Room Tip: Rooms on Monge street maybe noisy. There are rooms on the other side (window facing other windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Near to the railway station, Gare de Lyon and metro station. There are many restaurants, cafe and convenience store nearby. Room is small but quite clean. Free wifi available.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NgeePei Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

The exterior of the building was under renovation and it does not looked like a hotel at all. I know it's a budget hotel but nv expect it to look like a construction site. Extremely small room with no space for two luggages (when open).There is no WiFi at all because when tried to login it indicated that WiFi is not available due to limited user/access(for 3 consecutive nights). Toilet is old and door can't be locked. I will not stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank SuGe777
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

we stayed at the hotel six days while we were in Paris. The staff is very nice, the breakfast is "excellent" as they offer eggs ( which you have to make) and fresh breads every day. The breakfast room is a tight fit; sometimes having to walk sideways and chairs are uncomfortable. The actual hotel rooms are so small you have to close bathroom door to get to toilet in its own room. Use the toilet, then go to bathroom and wash hands...ugh... what made stay pleasant was staff. This is a residential area so not many eating places close by...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

On the second day of our stay, my fiance and I came back to our hotel room to find 150 Euros missing. Spoke with manager and spent an entire morning filing a police report. The manager assured us he would launch an investigation and get back to us, 2 months later we are still waiting. Make sure you leave all your valuables in the safe at the front desk. We were very shocked by the staff's dishonesty. This put a huge damper on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe201238020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed here 1 night which was fine. Any longer would stay elsewhere . 2 star hotel . Clean but rooms very small . Bed linnen bit threadbare but did the job. Wifi worked well with phone . Continental breakfast ok . Receptionists were helpful. Location fine and they allowed my husband and his mate to stow bikes in lobby .
Did the open top bus tour round Paris which was well worth it .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinnyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel de France
#1,582 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,196 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Eiffel Villa Garibaldi
#1,007 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel International
Hotel International
#197 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Americain
Hotel Americain
#1,213 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#357 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Quartier Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Quartier Latin

Property: Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Address: 108 rue Monge, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,177 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France Quartier Latin 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the historical Latin Quarter, the Hôtel de France Quartier Latin is a two star hotel offering business travellers and holiday makers quality accommodation in the centre of Paris. Our friendly staff will do their utmost to help you organise your stay in the City of Light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France Quartier Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing