We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Paris”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #810 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good base to explore Paris”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Near to the Gare du Nord and within walking distance. Rooms small but for the price you can not expect large rooms in Paris. Very stuffy, so had to sleep with window open so hence traffic noise but I am used to sleeping in traffic noise so was preferable to stifling heat.Friendly reception staff unlike a lot of other rude waiters etc which you come across in Paris. 12 euros for breakfast which I understand you can eat as much as you want , although there were plenty places nearby to eat. There is a vending machine sells cold drinks. The corridors are cramped and lift small. Beds comfy although the cleaning of the bathroom and toilet and room could be more thorough, dusty radiators and there was a empty toilet roll stuffed behind a pipe , which was there all week. The maid obviously never looks behind the door. If its just a convenient and relatively cheap place to sleep and tour Paris and you don't mind dust and noise it is fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your comment. Our hotel is indeed placed in a very convenient area , near to the train station Gare du Nord and with a big choice of buses to move around Paris. Unfortunately Paris is a loud city and it can get hot in the summer but air condition is planned to be put in the hotel this year. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast in hotel Avalon, the price includes a full buffet with a big variety of things such as pastries , yogurts , ham, cheese and bio products. Regarding the cleaning of the rooms , we have ladies that take care of all the rooms every morning and we try to be very careful about it. Thank you again for your comment and your information as it will help as make ourselves better . We hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Best Regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    382
    265
    81
    58
See reviews for
258
309
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Avalon Hotel, the staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. The location was ideal so close to Gare du Nord and bus No.30 directly in front of the hotel took you to you to Arc de Triumph and Eiffel tower. the room was spacious with ample storage and a comfortable sized shower
I would recommend your hotel to my friends and I would definitely return to stay there on my next visit to Paris.
during my visit the temperature was over 30 degrees and Airco would have been very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Jenny,
Thank you so much for your nice comments , we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Avalon Hotel , it is indeed located in a very convenient area , close to the metro , the RER and with a lot of buses to take you all around Paris ! We would like to let you know that air condition will be put in the hotel until the end of this year. We look forward to seeing you soon in Paris and in our hotel .

Best regards,
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel is indeed convenient for the whole city. We walked to the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay from it - a long walk, but very interesting. Close to the Gare du Nord. But it is desperately noisy, hot and expensive. Rooms at the back are quiet but small. The 12 Euros charged for breakfast is very bad, although there are many places close by to get a morning meal. The lift is tiny. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: A room at the back is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
The staff would like to thank you for your comment. We are glad that you found the area where the hotel is situated convenient to move around . It is true that the area can get noisy and hot in the summer but we are doing our best to keep all of our clients satisfied . The breakfast however is worth 12 euro because of the different varieties of things that we have such as yogurts, pastries, ham, and cheese. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing our hotel .

Kind regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel was cramped, uncomfortable, over-priced, under construction, and in a bad neighborhood. Family room was a joke, being on the 6th floor when the lift only goes to 5 with an awkward layout, crooked floors, and a bathroom that was water damaged. There was no ventilation, so in mid-July we couldn't sleep at night. The only positive thing I could say is that the proximity to Gare du Nord was helpful. Paris is not kid-friendly to begin with, and this hotel put the exclamation point on that.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are really sorry that your stay at our hotel was not as you expected it to be . Our hotel has just become a 3 star hotel and we renovated already many parts of the building . Also, air conditions are planned to be added in all the rooms before the summer of 2014 . As for the size of the rooms and the elevator , the hotel is placed in a classical, old building in the heart of Paris so its normal to be a little small (although you had a quite big room of 27 square meters which is a big room for Paris) . The hotel itself is really safe and there is a receptionist available 24/7 . All of your comments are noted and we will do our best to satisfy you next time .

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Heatwave in Paris. No Air-con in Avalon hotel rooms (why?) - so you either sweat unsleeping at night, or open the windows and listen to very noisy busy-all-night road outside.

Shame really, cos the staff are so friendly and the hotel is genuinely 5 mins walk from Gare du Nord (Eurostar train station + metro) so ideal for travellers & visitors to Paris. Area is strangely devoted to shops retailing wedding dresses & suits (I guess) for the N African community.


Internet connection is very fast - surprisingly. Rooms are small and nothing like on the hotels website, but the shower works fine & the beds are comfy & clean which is all we wanted - if only sleeping at night was an option.

Would certainly go back at a cooler time of year.

Room Tip: DONT get room facing the main road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me-myself-i-tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We thank you for your comment.
Hotel Avalon has air conditioning, but only in the studio rooms. We’ve noticed many customers asking for it without checking what we really have in the hotel. Anyway we know we need to install it, and probably at the beginning of 2014 we’ll have it in the whole hotel.
We are happy to know you’ve appreciated our fast internet, comfortable beds and cleanness.
Our windows are double glazed but we know it’s easy to choose when you have to sleep in the silent but very hot room with the closed window or with the opened windows and the noise from the boulevard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having recently had a baby my husband wanted to treat me to a break for our wedding anniversary. We looked at this hotel and thought it would be perfect, rooms looked lovely, great price, hotel pictures made it look lovely and clean.... How wrong we we.

We were made to pay fully up front which I know is standard practice in most places but has we seen the room we would of walked out and found elsewhere. We paid €436 for 4 nights-the first room was so small, dark and dirty looking, no way you could get your bag in there never mind two people!! We were then offered another room-the lesser of two evils, room had mildew in the shower, broken tiles around the toilet, dirty tissues in the cupboards and it was so hot you couldn't open the windows as its on the main road, after a sleepless night, i asked at reception for a fan and basically got laughed at!! I emailed the manager to complain, after breakfast ( which is very nice-the only good thing about our stay) we were moved to a studio room. This room was bigger and had air con which we thought was brilliant....until the air con unit that was in the roof above the bathroom started leaking over all our stuff!! Regularly we got wet from this unit-we told recovering but no one seemed to care!
To top it all off I then received an email from the head of reception which basically said we should just deal with being uncomfortable as the staff are dealing with it-my answer is they are not paying to stay there and a fan that costs around £10 would of helped the situation.

Very poor attitude from the hotel, they didn't even offer to refund us anything as an apology as this hotel was ridiculously over prices feel they have completely ripped us off-this was far away from the romantic break we wanted to have. Ruined our stay completely!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollieanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear customer,
When we received your 1st email, we immediately ask the from office staff to change your room.
You originally booked a standard room; 105,90€ BB, which is a good deal for a 3* hotel
You have been upgraded for free in the studio room, as we wanted to make your stay enjoyable.
Unfortunately, you inform us about water coming from air-conditioning (we checked that during the day but we haven’t seen any water leaking).
You have a number of ways to check the standard of our hotel on internet, by reading customer comments or checking ratings. The photos from our hotel have been done last year by professional; you have also non professional photos on TRIPADVISOR.
You could also ask for a refund; what we accept if you decide to check out even you paid in advance.
We are sorry if you did not have the standard you’ve expected.
Once again, please accept our apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family trip to paris was in jul17-22. If u chose to be in Gare du Nord which has the best metro, rer, eurostar, airport connections, intercity trains, u can read. I chose to Gare du Nord , as i air travel is with Beauvais airport (tille airport - taxi 15euro - beauvais train station - 10euro per adult - Gare du nord) Every one hour there is a train between these spots.
Avalon is just 2mins walk from the train station, the staffs are good and helpful.Almost every hotel in paris has rooms which are small and have crampy toilets ( it is far better than sharing a common toilet on the corridors). but the rooms are clean and well serviced daily.
In summer it is hot in paris so better to choose a room on the street side , even though it is noisy with streets, u can some good air circulation. But if u want quieter room , choose the other side.
There is no security problem with path from train station to the hotel , so dont need to fear at nights and that too summer it never gets dark until 00:00.
Sacre Coeur is very close to hotel, my adivce is to do ur paris souvenir shopping near the shops in sacre coeur, it is dead cheap there.
There are some sandwich and general stores nearby, u can find it easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senthil Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy that you found your stay at our hotel enjoyable . Hotel Avalon has indeed a very convenient position and our staff is always willing to help you. We would like to thank you also for your suggestions that might help any future client of our hotel as well as anyone that is visiting Paris for the first time.
We hope to see you again soon .

Kind regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Rocroy
#681 of 1,801 in Paris
446 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#425 of 1,801 in Paris
698 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#480 of 1,801 in Paris
654 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#179 of 1,801 in Paris
568 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#614 of 1,801 in Paris
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Property: Avalon Hotel Paris
Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #810 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that some of the rooms are accessible for people with disabilites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing