We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #816 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great deal”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is located right next to the sacre coeur and Gare du Nord. The staff is very welcoming, speak English and were able to answer all our questions. The lobby has newspaper and computers with wifi access. The rooms are a little small (also the elevator) but apparently it is normal in Parisian buildings. Besides that, the room had a balcony with a view on Paris rooftops. The room is very clean, the beds are comfortable and they even have complementary coffee and tea in the room. The bathroom is functional and clean.
They served a large variety of food for breakfast and Dragana was the best!!!!

Thank you for this experience and I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenHernfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you so much for your comment; we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We have two different types of accommodation: normal rooms and apartments equipped with every comfort such as the one where you spent your pleasant holiday.

Dragana will be happy to read your comment and we hope to see you again in our hotel.

Happy Holidays to Marilena and the entire Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    380
    265
    80
    57
See reviews for
258
308
63
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Avalon Paris Hotel is simple, small sized (my 1 person room was), but clean and has friendly and helping staff. Stayed here to attend a congres and it suited my needs perfectly. Well located close to Gare du Nord. I'd stay here again!

PS. fast and reliable WiFi!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jacco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for having taken the time out of your day to write us this comment. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and that you plan on staying with us again if you ever come back to Paris. Our hotel is the heart of Paris and to get to the most famous monuments in the country is easy by the many different buses and metros. As for our staff our job is there to help you, so if you found us helpful then our job is done. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is very close to Sacre-Coeur (less than 10 mins walking) and to the North Station-Gare Du Nord and to the metro. Besides, there are plenty of places near by to eat.
We had a standard twin room. The worst thing about it was the light - so poor that I could not even take smth.out of my luggage without turning on the mobile phone light. And the ceiling - brrrrr. It needs to be repaired as soon as possible. The bed cover - eeks, so old. When I removed it from my bed, I immediately had to wash my hands, because I felt disgusted. The stuff was friendly anyway. Yet I think that the hotel owner cannot compensate by friendly stuff those substantial flaws of the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this comment. Comments like yours help us to better ourselves. We are working on getting better lighting for the entire hotel, as for the bed covers we wash them daily so there should not have been any problems with that. Again thank you for your remarks and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First of all: This has nothing to do with the nice name of the hotel.....!

It's a small travellers' hotel close-by Gare du Nord.
If you take a single room you end up in a prisoner-cell-like room.
If you take a double room, you get another VERY DARK room, with old furnishing and old everything.
SO: Make sure you get a RENOVATED room!!!
It makes a HUGE difference! They're almost nice!
That's the only way you can survive a night - or even stay two or three nights without feeling really bad and sad...
What's also important: Most rooms face the Magenta boulevard, which means traffic 24/7.
Staff at reception was helpful and understanding though.

Breakfast is okay. Typical bad fast-machine coffee (those like you also have in Italian hotels)
Croissants and Baguettes abound of course. Also some ham, eggs, salami, and jam

Room Tip: Accept only renovated rooms! Very important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schubert05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable commercial at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciated your comment on TripAdvisor following your visit in Hotel Avalon Paris.

We were deeply sorry to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to let us know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your stay.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Clément Lépine
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just stayed 2 nights at the Avalon for our weekend in Paris - the location is perfect for a short stay, as it is really close to gar du nord and major metro lines. our room was very small (i guess that's Paris standard!) but had everything we needed and was nicely decorated and clean. Supernice staff made us feel welcome and gave us useful tips! overall: had a lovely stay - thanks!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kugelfisch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the staff nice as we are here for that. Our hotel is close to some of the most famous monuments of paris, and that is why they choose to stay here. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay a,d we hope to see you again very very soon.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here with our 10 year old daughter during the half term holiday. The hotel did exactly what it said on the tin! It is within a couple of minutes walk from the Gare du Nord which makes it good if you have children. We were in room 513 which was perfect for us. The small balcony was great for sitting and watching the world go by below with a nice glass of wine! The room was clean and the beds very good. The road is busy but as the windows were double glazed, the noise wasn't a problem. The staff were very friendly and my daughter was encouraged to try her french which she enjoyed. This hotel is a great stepping off point to the whole of Paris with the Metro and RER easily accessible. It is also short walk to the Montmartre.

We had a fantastic time and will be using this hotel again as it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Pick a higher room, they have walk out balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011roobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter used her french with us. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here on the last leg of the Continent holiday. The location was great very close to the Garde de Nord railway station, plenty of eat places and the tour buses. I would stay there again. Try the Thai eat place close by, good food, helpful people and reasonably priced. The hotel itself was good, people there were helpful and the b/fast was not wonderful but enough. We had a front room which was a little warm (no air con.) but could not open the window for a little fresh air as it was to noisy. otherwise everything was fine.

Room Tip: get a back room, apparently they were a little more spacious with air con and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSVx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are so happy that you had such a great stay at our hotel. The location is great since it is near just about everything in Paris. As for our staff we are so glad that you found us kind, as we are here to make sure that you have the best stay possible. Thank you so much for your great comment because it helps us better ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Rocroy
#655 of 1,802 in Paris
443 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#421 of 1,802 in Paris
686 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#617 of 1,802 in Paris
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,237 of 1,802 in Paris
354 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#495 of 1,802 in Paris
645 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#183 of 1,802 in Paris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Property: Avalon Hotel Paris
Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #816 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that some of the rooms are accessible for people with disabilites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing