We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little known "gem".”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #853 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 17 January 2014

let me start out by saying that I was never more impressed by the great customer service and language efficiency displayed by the 2 ladies at the reception. One of them was named Cynthia and she previously worked in the U.S for 17 years before coming to Paris to work. The other whose name I forgot, is another sweetheart who guided us through the main attractions, sights & sounds of Paris. Both were exceptional. As for our rooms, we were given Studio 10 at ground level and it looked beautiful. Spacious enough to put down our luggages and settle down nicely. The only complaint I would have is the toilet where it's completely open inside and the shower section does not have a sliding door or a cover to close while showering. I guess that's French culture. Hmm. Interesting to say the least. Everything else was just smooth. The free morning breakfasts, the wi-fi, the bed comfort and lastly, great hotel staff. Would definitely come back here again. LOVE.

Room Tip: Studio 10 at ground level. It's where I stayed with my parents. It's literally just beside t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for those kind words from all the staff! We are always glad to welcome guests like you to our hotel!

Regarding the bathroom, like in every hotel some of the rooms are made to accomodate even persons with reduced mobility. But if these don't suit you, if you ever come again we also have rooms with more "classical" bathrooms!

We hope to see you again soon, and while we wait for your return, we'll keep polishing this "gem" into a real jewel!


Best regards,
Benjamin, Hotel AVALON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Hotel Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I travel a lot...and when you do, you get a nose for a crappy hotel and this one is right up there. The acid test is when you feel compelled to check the sheets to see if they have been washed!
Location is OK if you want near to Gare du Nord but from there it's downhill. The rooms are small, the public areas are seriously in need of upgrade, the bathroom...shower room is dingy and finally it's on a busy,noisy road. Do your research....many better hotels in the area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Robinsonsbestbitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable commercial at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciated your comment on TripAdvisor following your visit in Hotel Avalon Paris.

We were deeply sorry to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to let us know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your stay.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Clément Lépine
Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A lady by the name of Cynthia Fanny (if I remembered it correctly) made our day with the smooth check-in, upgrade, explanation of best shopping areas, arranging our transfer to airport, buses to take, the do's and don't(s). The two day stay were filled with nothing but helpful staff from the reception who helped us to confirm our booking with France Tourisme and re-confirming the details for our delayed transport for transfer. Forgotten their names, but these are the staff that worked during the day from 4-6 of Jan 2014.

Rooms were great. Clean and nice. Location a mere 5 minutes walk to Gare Du Nord Train Station. Buses to central Paris and Montmarte are just facing the road of the hotel.

Room Tip: The VIP wing is suited with better facilities. Try to get Room 10 or 12.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahfii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Mr Shaffi,

I remember you and your entire family, i am so happy that you had such a wonderful time and that i could help you all out with your questions. Your family was a joy to have at our hotel and we hope to see you guys again very soon. I see that you all made it back safely to Singapore, if i am ever there i will be sure to look all you guys up. Again it was my pleasure to help you and your family out during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Fanny Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our one year anniversary in October. We loved it. We had a cute room. Everything was clean. The front desk people all spoke great English, and we even had our own balcony. The only potential down side is that the elevator stops on floor 5 and if you stay on floor six you will have to take a short set of stairs.

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to 5 so pick a room on floor 1-5 if you don't like stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GageDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this wonderful comment. We are glad that you could spend your wedding anniversary at our hotel and that you enjoyed the room that we gave you. All of the reception speaks English to be able to help our guests who are from all around the world. As for the elevator it does indeed stop at the 5th floor and then you have to walk the little steps until the 6th. We hope to see you again very soon, until then Happy New Years.

Fanny
and the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is located right next to the sacre coeur and Gare du Nord. The staff is very welcoming, speak English and were able to answer all our questions. The lobby has newspaper and computers with wifi access. The rooms are a little small (also the elevator) but apparently it is normal in Parisian buildings. Besides that, the room had a balcony with a view on Paris rooftops. The room is very clean, the beds are comfortable and they even have complementary coffee and tea in the room. The bathroom is functional and clean.
They served a large variety of food for breakfast and Dragana was the best!!!!

Thank you for this experience and I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenHernfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for your comment; we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We have two different types of accommodation: normal rooms and apartments equipped with every comfort such as the one where you spent your pleasant holiday.

Dragana will be happy to read your comment and we hope to see you again in our hotel.

Happy Holidays to Marilena and the entire Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Avalon Paris Hotel is simple, small sized (my 1 person room was), but clean and has friendly and helping staff. Stayed here to attend a congres and it suited my needs perfectly. Well located close to Gare du Nord. I'd stay here again!

PS. fast and reliable WiFi!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jacco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for having taken the time out of your day to write us this comment. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and that you plan on staying with us again if you ever come back to Paris. Our hotel is the heart of Paris and to get to the most famous monuments in the country is easy by the many different buses and metros. As for our staff our job is there to help you, so if you found us helpful then our job is done. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
and the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is very close to Sacre-Coeur (less than 10 mins walking) and to the North Station-Gare Du Nord and to the metro. Besides, there are plenty of places near by to eat.
We had a standard twin room. The worst thing about it was the light - so poor that I could not even take smth.out of my luggage without turning on the mobile phone light. And the ceiling - brrrrr. It needs to be repaired as soon as possible. The bed cover - eeks, so old. When I removed it from my bed, I immediately had to wash my hands, because I felt disgusted. The stuff was friendly anyway. Yet I think that the hotel owner cannot compensate by friendly stuff those substantial flaws of the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank HappyBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this comment. Comments like yours help us to better ourselves. We are working on getting better lighting for the entire hotel, as for the bed covers we wash them daily so there should not have been any problems with that. Again thank you for your remarks and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Fanny
and the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#415 of 1,803 in Paris
723 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#712 of 1,803 in Paris
454 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#597 of 1,803 in Paris
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#183 of 1,803 in Paris
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #853 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £69 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical Parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that one room is accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing