We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Eurostar on a budget.”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #826 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Near Eurostar on a budget.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When booking a hotel in Paris for the first time we were looking for a hotel within 5 mins walk from the Eurostar station and had a set budget so opted for this hotel. When leaving the station from the main entrance turn right and the hotel is just up the road.

Plus points:-
Bed was comfortable
In room safe for passports etc.
Large TV – Only CNN in English at the moment; but still useful if you like to keep up with the news.
An assortment of toiletries etc in the room which included soap, shampoo, body lotion, shoe sponge and sewing kit. Also a couple of mini chocolate items left in the room for Easter which is a nice touch.
A vending machine in the lobby with snacks and soft drinks if required.
The breakfast area by the lobby has been updated from the photos with the tour operator and looks nice. Continental breakfast only; but fine for us; items included; cereal, hams, cheese, yogurts, fruit, bread/rolls and jams, croissants, juice, tea and coffee.

Other points:-
There was only a shower room/toilet (prefer bath) which was very cramped and the shower head needs de-scaling.
The room was very warm and even in April we only needed a sheet at night and there is currently no air-con or even a ceiling fan so in the summer when it is hotter it would be difficult to sleep.
Walking distance – 15 mins to Sacre-Coeur and 45 mins to the Louvre or Notre Dame.

We would stay again; although I would check if another tour operator had a different room grade.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJVADorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are really grateful for your advise.
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you've thought about going back to visit us.
Next time on check in, ask for a room with a bath if you prefer, we are able to satisfy your request.
We have heaters in all rooms, but air condition is only in the STUDIO; our mini-apartments.

Best Regards;
all Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    382
    266
    81
    58
See reviews for
259
309
64
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location - 5 minutes walk from the Gare du Nord and within easy walking distance of Montmartre and Sacre Coeur. It looks nice from the outside and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately, those are the only positives. We had a double room on the 6th floor - the lift only went to the 5th, followed by a dimly lit and perilous spiral staircase. We can only describe the room as like a student bedsit - tiny, with a sloping ceiling (you are up in the rafters) that meant you were unable to get around the bed nor get close the the lavatory. Perfect if you are under 5 feet tall maybe? There were no English TV channels and the remote did not work. To be fair, the room was clean and tidy but in desperate need of modernising. It was almost impossible to get the lift in the morning due to the cleaners using it and it was a struggle to get 2 people with bags into it. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment. We know that Paris is expensive however, this was most certainly poor value for money for a '3 Star' hotel and we would not recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 6th floor - unless you are under 5 feet tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for your advise; the price for breakfast is linked to the site where you book and it cost from 8euro to 12euro.
we are happy to read that you appreciated our food; our hotel and our position, and we are sorry for soundproofing; next the time you could ask for a room in the corner.

Best regards
Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had an early-morning Eurostar departure, and selected the hotel purely on its closeness to Gare du Nord, which is also great for its Metro and RER links. Staff were extremely helpful and informative and the room was simply luxurious. I will definitely be back next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForbesLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for your opinion and we are glad that you chosen this hotel only for its proximity to Gare du Nord and have discovered our services and our helpful staff.
Next time you come in Avalon Hotel, we will reserve the same treatment.

Best Regards.
Marilena and all Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Avalon is really close to the Gare du Nord within easy walking distance. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We found the 8 Euro buffet breakfast very good and substantial. Our bedroom on the 5th floor was really comfy and apart from one or two little details was all we required and expected. It would have been nice to have BBC World News on the TV! There is a bit of noise from the street but this is after all a city centre hotel. WiFi reception is patchy and could be much better.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for your feedback; its a pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that ,our hotel was at the height of your expectations.
Unfortunately, we don't have many channels in English and we hope to provide in the future.
As you have written, hotel is a central area, so its normal that same rooms are noisy but we have quiet rooms on the corner as well.
All Avalon staff will be happy to see you again.

Best Regards and Happy Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Location is easy for transportation & food. Reasonable price. Clean. Just noisy in bustling town. Taxi is easy. Staff helpful. Breakfast is good. Bed and room is clean. Recommended for solo or small group travell

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Razrul Anwar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for your feedback; it’s always great to hear such lovely people enjoyed their stay!
See you next time.
Best Regards
Avalon hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Thank you staff at hotel Avalon for making our weekend in Paris. The room was small and cosy just right for us two. I took my own kettle. It would have been nice to have it provided. I found the staff very helpful and friendly.
Janice Jones
Dates 14-17th March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. we have a kettle in the lobby, next time you could book a STUDIO, you will find in it all facilities.
Best Regards and we hope to see you again.

Marilena and Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

In my opinion, it is a huge stretch for this hotel to be rated 3 stars. You have to walk past homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk to get from closest metro stop to the hotel, the rooms are very dark and in definite need of updating. There was peeling paint and we found toenail clippings on the carpet. We won't be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pineghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We thank you for you comment and we hope you have spent a god time even if you had met some iconveniences. After a new french hotel regulation Hotel Avalon passed positive control and got 3-rd star in October 2012.
You’ve met homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk, I think this is a big problem of the all big cities and a big challenge how to find solution. We are aware that some rooms are dark, they are first on our list to renowate. Its for this reason we’ve put one lamp on the room office.
Kind Regards
Marcin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#415 of 1,801 in Paris
703 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#678 of 1,801 in Paris
448 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#184 of 1,801 in Paris
570 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#483 of 1,801 in Paris
654 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#604 of 1,801 in Paris
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Property: Avalon Hotel Paris
Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #826 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that some of the rooms are accessible for people with disabilites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing