We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #861 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at Avalon Hotel Paris for two nights and I´m quite satisfied. For a 3* hotel in Paris the price was ok. The location is good if you arrive by train. Just a five minutes walk from Gare du Nord station (follow the exit signs for "Rue Dunkerque" inside the station). It´s also a short walk to the nice neighbourhood of Montmarte.
I stayed in a singleroom (small). The room was actually not that small, a bit dark though. Although I stayed at the first floor in a room facing the street it was quiet with the window closed. However, this was in the beginning of May and quite cold weather. The room was warm despite the cold weather, almost too varm. In the middle of the summer I expect the room to be very hot.
The bathroom was good and clean. WiFi was included in the price but the signal was very poor in the room.
The corridors in the hotel were quite unwelcoming, narrow and dark.
I choose a room rate with breakfast included and it was good. Nothing special but all the necessities was there.
Overall Avalon is a good choice for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stig-Helmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for your advise and also for all informations given, they will be useful to other people planning to came in our hotel.
We still have the heating on because the weather is unpredictable, but on summer will definitely be off ;)

Best Regards
Avalon Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our room was upgraded to accommodate our teenage son who decided to take the trip with us. Compliments by the hotel and on new years eve no less. Located very near the Gare du Nord train station. Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are happy to read your pleasure
and we thank you for having written this short but pleasant advis.

Best regards
Marilena and all Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Decided to choose a hotel close to Gare du Nord since we had to catch a train to Amsterdam the following morning. We made the right choice indeed! Avalon is just about 5-8 mins walk from Gare du Nord and the premise seems to be well maintained both from the outside and inside. The ambience of the hotel is generally welcoming. Breakfast was not included in our bookings but we paid 8 euros extra for it. However you need to check with the receptionist properly how much the breakfast really costs as we were later asked to pay 12 euros when we decided to have the breakfast the next morning. After they made some checkings on the system, we were indeed supposed to pay only 8 euros. Not sure though if the difference in price is related to the online booking that we had made via booking.com.

The room is generally what you would expect of a 3-star hotel - clean, nice, medium sized but with an added touch of a balcony that nicely overlooks part of the street . Wi-Fi connection is good. Bathroom is standard with the normal modern amenities. The only downside is probably that there is no A/C inside the room so it could get stuffy on days that are bit warmer than usual or during summer but since we came in Spring we didn't see that as a problem. Breakfast is typical continental european style, bread, pain au chocolat, cheese, cereals, hot chocolate, coffee etc.

Overall, a comfortable stay in Paris for one night and I wouldn't mind staying here again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danial_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and we hope to see you again soon!
And if you decide to come during the summer, our Studio Apartments are equipped with air conditioning for maximum comfort, whatever the temperature outside!


Best regards,
Benjamin, Hotel AVALON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had an overnight stay here on our trip through Paris to Berlin. The hotel is situated conveniently for both Gare du Nord and Gare de L'Est. The receptionist was very helpful and pleasant; she spoke good English. The room was small and could do with a makeover - everything was brown making it appear quite gloomy but it was comfortable enough for an overnight stay. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we hope next time you came in Paris, you will choose again our hotel and you will taste our french breakfast.

Best Regards
Marilena and all Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When booking a hotel in Paris for the first time we were looking for a hotel within 5 mins walk from the Eurostar station and had a set budget so opted for this hotel. When leaving the station from the main entrance turn right and the hotel is just up the road.

Plus points:-
Bed was comfortable
In room safe for passports etc.
Large TV – Only CNN in English at the moment; but still useful if you like to keep up with the news.
An assortment of toiletries etc in the room which included soap, shampoo, body lotion, shoe sponge and sewing kit. Also a couple of mini chocolate items left in the room for Easter which is a nice touch.
A vending machine in the lobby with snacks and soft drinks if required.
The breakfast area by the lobby has been updated from the photos with the tour operator and looks nice. Continental breakfast only; but fine for us; items included; cereal, hams, cheese, yogurts, fruit, bread/rolls and jams, croissants, juice, tea and coffee.

Other points:-
There was only a shower room/toilet (prefer bath) which was very cramped and the shower head needs de-scaling.
The room was very warm and even in April we only needed a sheet at night and there is currently no air-con or even a ceiling fan so in the summer when it is hotter it would be difficult to sleep.
Walking distance – 15 mins to Sacre-Coeur and 45 mins to the Louvre or Notre Dame.

We would stay again; although I would check if another tour operator had a different room grade.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJVADorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We are really grateful for your advise.
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you've thought about going back to visit us.
Next time on check in, ask for a room with a bath if you prefer, we are able to satisfy your request.
We have heaters in all rooms, but air condition is only in the STUDIO; our mini-apartments.

Best Regards;
all Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location - 5 minutes walk from the Gare du Nord and within easy walking distance of Montmartre and Sacre Coeur. It looks nice from the outside and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately, those are the only positives. We had a double room on the 6th floor - the lift only went to the 5th, followed by a dimly lit and perilous spiral staircase. We can only describe the room as like a student bedsit - tiny, with a sloping ceiling (you are up in the rafters) that meant you were unable to get around the bed nor get close the the lavatory. Perfect if you are under 5 feet tall maybe? There were no English TV channels and the remote did not work. To be fair, the room was clean and tidy but in desperate need of modernising. It was almost impossible to get the lift in the morning due to the cleaners using it and it was a struggle to get 2 people with bags into it. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment. We know that Paris is expensive however, this was most certainly poor value for money for a '3 Star' hotel and we would not recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 6th floor - unless you are under 5 feet tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for your advise; the price for breakfast is linked to the site where you book and it cost from 8euro to 12euro.
we are happy to read that you appreciated our food; our hotel and our position, and we are sorry for soundproofing; next the time you could ask for a room in the corner.

Best regards
Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had an early-morning Eurostar departure, and selected the hotel purely on its closeness to Gare du Nord, which is also great for its Metro and RER links. Staff were extremely helpful and informative and the room was simply luxurious. I will definitely be back next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForbesLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thanks for your opinion and we are glad that you chosen this hotel only for its proximity to Gare du Nord and have discovered our services and our helpful staff.
Next time you come in Avalon Hotel, we will reserve the same treatment.

Best Regards.
Marilena and all Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Rocroy
#712 of 1,803 in Paris
457 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#416 of 1,803 in Paris
732 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#554 of 1,803 in Paris
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#185 of 1,803 in Paris
598 reviews
Appia la Fayette Hotel
#898 of 1,803 in Paris
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #861 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical Parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that one room is accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing