We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
177
397
284
86
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
397
284
86
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgare dutriple roombusy roadclose to the train stationtransport linksyogurtminute walkcity breaktea and coffeedecent hotelsmall balconycafes and restaurantsstreet noisearound the cornereiffel towereurostarmagenta
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, very pleasant room. We were in Paris to see the French Open. Travelled on Eurostar to the Gare du Nord. This hotel was very conveniently located. Staff on reception were great - very friendly and not "in your face". Didn't have breakfast as thought it was a bit expensive, also would have liked a mirror in room itself (there was one in the bathroom of course!). Other than that room was clean, comfortable and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for your advice and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that its position has facilitated your visit in the city.
Thanks for your advice concerning the missing mirror,, we will try to solve.
Breakfast costs 10e because its a buffet whith a large choise.
It will be our pleasure to see you again.

Best Regards
Avalon Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Considering this isn't the most up market area, this is a really nice hotel. Staff were friendly and spoke English which made our lives easy. The room was very small, but clean and the bed was big and lovely. I wouldn't recommend for a long stay as the room had very little storage space. But the biggest plus point was the balcony; our room was on the fifth floor and overlooked a side street, not the Boulevard Magenta itself, so also very quiet. We spent as much time on the balcony as our busy schedule let us. Breakfast was good and plentiful, with English tea served. I guess this is a very typical city centre building with narrow winding staircases and lifts that reminded me of the Hollywood Hotel of Terror at Disney. So essentially, everything there that you need including excellent transport links. Forgot to mention that there is a secure room and safes to store belongings if needed.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible; 5th floor has balconies. Also ask for a room off the Rue Magenta if possible for peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meercat_chipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback; it’s always great to hear such lovely people enjoyed their stay and we are so glad that you were able to see how much we love helping our guests and how much Paris’s Haussmannien buildings are charming and small as well; maybe for that you suggest only short stay in our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very good location, just 1 block from railway + RER + metro station Gare du Nord and RER trains will take you to and from Charles de Gaul airport (it is like 30-45min). I do not recommend 18E per person hotel´s offer to transfer you to airport (train RER ticket is 10E). Hotel itself is classic city building, which is situated on main street (do not expect calm enviroment). Many nice restaurants and shops around the hotel. Moulin Rouge and Sacre Coeur are just few minutes walk from this place.

Hotel has free, nice working, wi-fi into rooms (it was one from our criterions). Rooms and hotel corridors are very small, tiny (but it is in whole Paris) and do not expect something extraordinary. Hotel has a lift. We did not taste the breakfaft, because there is supermarket with everything you need for 1-2 euro and in hotel it was far more expensive.

Sleep quality was ok, bit warm. There is kettle and tea bags + coffee ready in room and filled daily, towels and shampoo in bathroom (there is shower and toilet together in one room, no bathtube).

Reception people were very kind, helped us with everything.

Prices for lunch and dinner in restaurants around are 7-10E pizza, 3-4E water, 13-16E menu - dessert + main menu etc.. Classical baguette with something from street shops is around 3-5E, sandwich‎ from supermarket 2pcs 2-4E, coffee costs 3-5E

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PavelVancak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback and for all information give.
We are so happy that you appreciated our professionalism and our service, we hope to see you soon so that you could try our breakfast buffet.
As regards the shuttles; the price is a bit high but it is normal than you book a private bus and could be a good solution when you have so many suitcases and you do not want to get lost in the station.

Best Regards
Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Room was small but worked. If choosing to stay here i would not recommend going Big Bus Tours to get around, use the other company because they have pick up stops close by and have multiple routes to choose from. Not too far of a walk to Hard Rock Cafe and other dining. This area is shopping for all formal wear, wedding dress shops all up and down the street. This hotel is close walking distance from two train stations. Lots of spiral stair cases to walk up but there is an elevator. Over all I think it was nice and clean for the cheaper price to be somewhat close to the action.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Resht124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thanks for your advice and we are apologize that you had problems with your ticket hop on hop off, we usually recommend the open tour (yellow line) because the nearest station is a few minutes by walk from the hotel.
We have two lifts to reach the upper floors if you do not like stairs and we do care to keep our hotel clean and tidy.
We hope to see you again.

Avalon Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After flying in to Charles de Gaul - we took our bags and hit the train for the Gare du Nord station. We chose the hotel for its relative close proximity to the station- and this station due to its location to where we wanted to go. Compared to the other hotel we stayed in later in the trip- this place was awesome. Right around the corner from the train- it was far enough away from the hassle of a station with all of its traffic. Additionally we found our bus stops to be comfortably close. The hotel had its fair share of dining choices and a convenience store and market all close by. Our room had all the amenities we needed- including kitchen. Elevator was small- and the stairs not too wide either- but other than the bizarre arrangement of the shower pretty much hitting the toilet no matter how you closed the curtain- the place served us well. Staff at the desk was exceptional- with only a snafu for trying to get tickets for Moulin Rouge when it came to a dress code.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

We often upgrade our guests when the hotel is not full, it's for that you was in a room with kitchen.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you apprecieted hotels position and closest metro/ bus lines as well.
In fact we are a two minutes from Gare du Nord but I would like to clarify that you have to take the exit DUNKERQUE;
I hope you enjoyed moulin rouge as well and we would be happy to help you again if you decide to come back in Paris.

Best Regards
Avalon Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews