We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good place.”
Review of Le Mareuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Mareuil
Ranked #129 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is a good place.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Le Mareuil is potentially an excellent stay, as long as you understand what you are getting.
FIRSTLY, understand that the street, although having little traffic, is NOISY! AT 3am, it is laughing shouting workers getting off their restaurant shift. At 4 AM it is young Parisian women yelling at their drunk boyfriends. At 6 AM, it is Parisian street workers shouting about. The Le Mareuil windows do a good job of filtering out the noise, but they must be closed. Our window was open, because we couldn't get the room cooled off without that (not knowing that the desk could lower the temperature remotely; caveat emptor!)
Second, know that they don't have a concierge. This task falls to the desk staff. They are some help with advice on getting around, but not much. On the other hand, they have FABULOUS restaurant suggestions. FABULOUS! Every suggestion world class. There is a fine patisserie/boulangerie up at the corner; skip the house breakfast. THe pastry is inferior, and the coffee is corporate Nescafe. blah.

Great bed. Great pillows. Great bathroom. Great location (Republique) Great local BIstros/cafes. (Toucan, Bistrot Pop) Great restarant across the street (Le Chemise).
That is all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    176
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
324
30
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
victoria, australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Typically compact Paris hotel room, but it was very clean and nicely finished, both in the bathroom and the bedroom. I imagine the air conditioning would be very useful in warmer weather as well, and not a given in older Paris buildings. Pleasant surprise was that the room was ready very early, a big plus when you have just got off an intercontinental flight and don't feel like wandering the streets for several hours waiting for check in. Good bedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose Le Mareuil based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. As others have mentioned, the location is great - on a quiet side street but very close to the Republique Metro station and many restaurants. The room was very nice and the staff were helpful. Ms. Clements Jaziri was exceptional, assisting us with a number of reservations prior to our visit, warmly welcoming us upon our arrival, and graciously assisting us with any requests. We were very happy with our six-night stay in late September and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility constraints, be sure to ask for a room with a shower, rather than a tub. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEM91713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mareuil during a short vacation to Paris. We didn't really take advantage of any services offered by the hotel, including the very expensive breakfast or the "oxygen bar", but the room was very clean and well furnished and of adequate size. The staff was friendly.

What we really liked about the hotel was its location. We were looking for a neighborhood with some interesting character and the Republique/Oberkampf area definitely provided. We had breakfast each morning at the patisserie at the end of the block and enjoyed several wonderful meals at local restaurants. Despite being a little removed form the crowds in the center access to all of Paris was very easy thanks to the nearby Republique metro station.

Room Tip: There was a problem with the bathroom door in the regular room we had booked so they moved us into a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've recently returned from a weekend stay at Le Mareuil, and it was really enjoyable from check-in to departure. The receptionists were warm and friendly upon our arrival and showed us to our room. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms are on the small side, but we stayed in a twin superior room with a bath and it suited us perfectly, as we would be out sightseeing for the majority of the day. Everything in the room was spotless, and the bathroom was very clean. Hot water wasn't a problem either. Breakfast was just right and you are given two options. We chose the express berakfast and it was more than enough - cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit, pancakes and pastries, as well as hot and cold beverages. If we ever had the chance to return to Paris, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Le Mareuil again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley_xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Nice and clean close to Republique. Really helpful Staff who helped us in à tough situation. Ok breakfast and small gym and hamam. The area has really turned out to be nice with lots of good restaurangs on rue jp timbaud.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Mareuil for three nights and the room was small but given we were there only to sleep this was fine. It was clean and very comfortable complete with robes and slippers. Staff was very helpful with reservations and recommendations for restaurants (thank you Berg). Free wifi throughout the building was fast enough for video calls back home.

The only complaint was breakfast. We were under the impression that it was included. It was delicious, but at checkout came a 45€ bill for us for three mornings that was basically coffee, cereal, and pastry. If you took eggs it suddenly became the "buffet" rather than an "express" breakfast. So, in hindsight, go have your breakfast at one of the many cafes or boulangeries around. In fact, the place they get their croissants from is at the south end of the city block, and they make excellent pastries and coffee. So I would recommend just going there for breakfast.

Otherwise was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huntsvilletri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#226 of 1,801 in Paris
402 reviews
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#34 of 1,801 in Paris
192 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#124 of 1,801 in Paris
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#112 of 1,801 in Paris
592 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#86 of 1,801 in Paris
197 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#13 of 1,801 in Paris
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mareuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mareuil

Property: Le Mareuil
Address: 51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Notre Dame / Marais , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Paris
#30 Spa Hotel in Paris
#62 Family Hotel in Paris
#99 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#121 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mareuil 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Mareuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notre Dame
Notre Dame Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing