We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should I keep this gem to myself?”
Review of Le Mareuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Mareuil
Ranked #126 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

So many good things to say about this hotel: yes, smallish rooms but at last designed by someone who is determined to get the small things right! So excellent bedside lighting, lots of handy plugs for charging, practical modern shower bathroom, really comfortable beds and pillows, excellent sound-proofing, etc. But in addition, there were so many extras unexpected at this level of hotel: free wifi, a sound 'cave' machine to wake you up and send you to sleep and the steam room and mini gym in the basement with white bath robes to wear on your way!
In addition, the position is excellent. Two minutes from Republique metro with its five different lines to take you anywhere and walking distance of the beautiful Marais district.
Finally a word about the staff who were just brilliant - so friendly and helpful.
Yes the breakfast is expensive but we went to the boulangerie on the corner which is probably what most people do. Also there is an excellent Monop mini market on the other side of the road for drinks and fresh food.

Room Tip: The lift is extremely slow so be prepared to walk up occasionally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camdencalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florine C, Directeur général at Le Mareuil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear customers,

We deeply thank you for your terrific comment posted, on our property and its surroundings.

Your whole family was just a wonderful jewel, and your way of living was a reference for us.
Thanks for providing us so much happiness in serving you,.
Making your stay a pleasurable one was a great moment for all our team.

Yours sincerely

F.C. - G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff, close nearby two metro stations, Oberkampf and Republique. Very small room but clean! Hammam downstairs is lovely, open till 23.00 and no charge. Used it twice. Breakfast, expensive, tables are way too tiny to put your breakfast on but 2 min walk from the hotel there is a great boulanger where you can have a simple breakfast and better cafe au lait. Tv screen great, free slow wifi, good bed and great shower, we had a great stay here and would definitively come back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, right near metro, short walk to Republique area, a lovely fresh, clean hotel, excellent value with helpful staff who allowed us an early check in when we presented our bedraggled selves fresh off the flight from Australia via Singapore....so glad I checked TA rather than Travel Agent to find this one - now, if only I'd done this for amsterdam and frankfurt......

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPepys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here recently 4 nights with my partner. This one year old hotel has it all! Great location just a few steps from Republique metro to allow easy access to anywhere in Paris, small but very well designed rooms with modern bathroom which is really rare in this price level, extremely helpful and kind staff who even learned few sentence of Finnish during our stay :)
If you are looking your perfect reasonable spot in Paris, this is it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tuomo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a fantastic find and thanks to my fellow TA community for locating and writing about this marvelous hotel. I spent a few nights recently at this property while on a business to Paris. The rooms and bathrooms are perfection! Everything one needs plus more. Sensible design and extremely clean. My room even had a balcony with very decent views.

The front desk staff were very efficient and polite. Breakfast was more than one would need or could ask for.

Last but not least the location is excellent as one can be in the heat of Marais with in a 5 minute walk.

I can't say enough about this hotel. A fantastic value for money in Paris.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maninasuitcase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great location for : wonderful dining, Le Chemise across the street, excellent bakery on the corner and walking distance to Metropolitan.
The hotel staff treated us very well and were helpful. Also, hotel spoke perfect English.
Great view of Paris rooftops from my balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I just completed a three night stay at Le Mareuil and loved it! The staff was friendly and spoke English; the rooms were small, but well-appointed. The bathroom is huge by European standards and I already miss the rainshower and towel warmer. The rooms are so quiet, we wondered if we were the only ones staying there (we weren't--we saw do not disturb signs on the neighboring doors when we left in the morning). We loved the neighborhood--it was close to several metro stops (Republique, Oberkampf, Parmentier), had a lot of restaurants to choose from, and more than enough patisseries/boulangeries to satisfy my pain au chocolat craving. I've traveled through several European countries and this is the nicest boutique-style hotel that I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDW0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#250 of 1,803 in Paris
438 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le General Hotel
Le General Hotel
#317 of 1,803 in Paris
159 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Hotel Gabriel Paris
#285 of 1,803 in Paris
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#59 of 1,803 in Paris
213 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#108 of 1,803 in Paris
632 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#74 of 1,803 in Paris
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mareuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mareuil

Address: 51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Notre Dame / Marais , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Paris
#29 Spa Hotel in Paris
#62 Family Hotel in Paris
#95 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#121 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £120 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mareuil 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mareuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notre Dame
Notre Dame Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing