We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Small Hotel”
Review of Le Mareuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Mareuil
Ranked #129 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Le Mareuil, at 51, Rue de Malte in Paris, is excellent. Staff are genuinely pleasant and helpful. Rooms are spotless and smallish, (let's face it most rooms en Paris are compact), but we had a good sized bath and shower and a teeny balcony with a view over chimney pots to a distant spire. Bed was very comfy too and for us, coming by Eurostar from St Pancras, London, the fact that the hotel was only four stops, straight down the line, from the Gare du Nord was a big bonus.
We walked, 20 minutes, to the beautiful Pere Lachaise cemetery (we wanted to see the graves of Jim Morrison, Oscar Wilde, Edith Piaf et al) and other attractions were within easy metro travel. One minutes walk, to the corner, there is a bakery where the food is melt in your mouth. Ab fab.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florine C, Directeur général at Le Mareuil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Sally S,

We thank you for expressing in a so positive way, that you were satisfied about everything in our property, including our team.

We all remember you as very friendly customers, and thank you as well for the pleasant time we shared with you, making our daily work so enjoyable :-)

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future,

I remain,
With best regards.

F.C. - G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights in the junior suite. Very comfortable bedroom and sitting room combination with a beautiful view of the Paris skyline. Room was smartly decorated with a restful color scheme and with plenty of room for two. Free, easy access WiFi for our devices. An easy walk to the Pompidou Museum along scenic Marais district streets. Metro is close by. Several good bistros are a short walk from the hotel. Staff followed up every inquiry, no matter how small. This reflected the hotel's high standards and management's attention to detail. Two breakfasts, express and complete, are offered - and fresh squeezed orange juice. We will definitely stay here again. A fine, new hotel in Paris.

Room Tip: The junior suite included a sitting room and bedroom with a pocket door connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

So many good things to say about this hotel: yes, smallish rooms but at last designed by someone who is determined to get the small things right! So excellent bedside lighting, lots of handy plugs for charging, practical modern shower bathroom, really comfortable beds and pillows, excellent sound-proofing, etc. But in addition, there were so many extras unexpected at this level of hotel: free wifi, a sound 'cave' machine to wake you up and send you to sleep and the steam room and mini gym in the basement with white bath robes to wear on your way!
In addition, the position is excellent. Two minutes from Republique metro with its five different lines to take you anywhere and walking distance of the beautiful Marais district.
Finally a word about the staff who were just brilliant - so friendly and helpful.
Yes the breakfast is expensive but we went to the boulangerie on the corner which is probably what most people do. Also there is an excellent Monop mini market on the other side of the road for drinks and fresh food.

Room Tip: The lift is extremely slow so be prepared to walk up occasionally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camdencalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florine C, Directeur général at Le Mareuil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear customers,

We deeply thank you for your terrific comment posted, on our property and its surroundings.

Your whole family was just a wonderful jewel, and your way of living was a reference for us.
Thanks for providing us so much happiness in serving you,.
Making your stay a pleasurable one was a great moment for all our team.

Yours sincerely

F.C. - G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff, close nearby two metro stations, Oberkampf and Republique. Very small room but clean! Hammam downstairs is lovely, open till 23.00 and no charge. Used it twice. Breakfast, expensive, tables are way too tiny to put your breakfast on but 2 min walk from the hotel there is a great boulanger where you can have a simple breakfast and better cafe au lait. Tv screen great, free slow wifi, good bed and great shower, we had a great stay here and would definitively come back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, right near metro, short walk to Republique area, a lovely fresh, clean hotel, excellent value with helpful staff who allowed us an early check in when we presented our bedraggled selves fresh off the flight from Australia via Singapore....so glad I checked TA rather than Travel Agent to find this one - now, if only I'd done this for amsterdam and frankfurt......

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPepys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here recently 4 nights with my partner. This one year old hotel has it all! Great location just a few steps from Republique metro to allow easy access to anywhere in Paris, small but very well designed rooms with modern bathroom which is really rare in this price level, extremely helpful and kind staff who even learned few sentence of Finnish during our stay :)
If you are looking your perfect reasonable spot in Paris, this is it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tuomo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a fantastic find and thanks to my fellow TA community for locating and writing about this marvelous hotel. I spent a few nights recently at this property while on a business to Paris. The rooms and bathrooms are perfection! Everything one needs plus more. Sensible design and extremely clean. My room even had a balcony with very decent views.

The front desk staff were very efficient and polite. Breakfast was more than one would need or could ask for.

Last but not least the location is excellent as one can be in the heat of Marais with in a 5 minute walk.

I can't say enough about this hotel. A fantastic value for money in Paris.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maninasuitcase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#254 of 1,802 in Paris
459 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le General Hotel
Le General Hotel
#183 of 1,802 in Paris
188 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Hotel Gabriel Paris
#281 of 1,802 in Paris
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
802 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#10 of 1,802 in Paris
1,202 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mademoiselle
Hotel Mademoiselle
#255 of 1,802 in Paris
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mareuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mareuil

Address: 51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Notre Dame / Marais , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Paris
#30 Spa Hotel in Paris
#62 Family Hotel in Paris
#96 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#121 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#180 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £115 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mareuil 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mareuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notre Dame
Notre Dame Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing