We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a museum”

Musee de l'Orangerie
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.33*
and up
Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and...
Ranked #12 of 1,105 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, CAlifornia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just what I like in a museum - small, easy to navigate, with a perfectly curated collection. The showpiece are the two oval rooms which each display four huge panels of Monet's water lilies in natural light, just as Monet wished them to be shown. A lovely space.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SportsFan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,130
    2,870
    706
    114
    73
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite treasures of Paris!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Who knew? A little solarium built by Queen ???. As she strolled in her garden, still living in what we know as the Louvre, she wanted a place to be alone. Fast forward 700+ years, here is L'Orangerie. Lovely house exhibit and grand exhibitions. The winner, of course, is the first floor, the two oval rooms that the magnificent Monet visited ... oh my god, I cannot walk through them with anyone, has to be solo, shut up!, as I absorb the utterly transcendent beauty of Monet's ponds. Will never, ever tire of it; toujours a jamais, mon coeur casse quand je visite

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Monet lovers must visit”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

it was great it's worth waiting in line for 2 hours in the rain. love the water lilies of Monet and now there was an exhibition for frida kohla so try to visit it if you're near by.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
268 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth the wait in line”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

In addition to the wonderful permanent collection of Impressionist art, there are temporary exhibitions that are always carefully curated and displayed. If you know when you want to go, it's worth buying your tickets online or buying a Paris Museum Pass (also available online) that gives you entry to nearly every worthy museum in the city. Either advance ticketing option means you won't have to stand in line to gain entry - the walkup line can often stretch to one hour or longer (sometimes much longer) and that's no fun in Paris's autumn and winter. Pass holders and advance ticket purchasers usually won't have to wait more than a few minutes for entry. Inside, visitors pass through a security checkpoint. The museum can often be crowded and warm - the ticket line is rationed, but they still allow a lot of people in at any given time. The museum shop is very good and there are audio tours available in a dozen languages.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Needless to say, Monet's two "oval murals" are amazing. It's like spending a day in his garden in Giverny. As I had a lot of time, I decided to see just how long it would take standing in the regular line. Answer - 3 1/2 hours!!! Those with a Museum Pass - approximately 1/2 hour or less. You decide. However, the wait was worthwhile! The addition special exhibition was excellent, but the main reason for visiting l'Orangerie is the incredible Monet murals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de l'Orangerie also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee de l'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing