We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alleno sorely needed in his own kitchen!”

Terroir Parisien de Yannick Alleno – Maison de la Mutualite
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The idea of a locavore restaurant in Paris sounded fascinating, but this place was all eye candy and nothing else. The service is poorly directed, inattentive and off-handed, and even more regrettably, the food is often just plain dull--endive with ham had no taste whatsoever. Alleno was wonderful at Le Meurice, but seems to have taken his eye off the ball as a would-be empire builder. He should reboot this place before it's too late. As is, wouldn't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yannick A, Directeur général at Terroir Parisien de Yannick Alleno – Maison de la Mutualite, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Malcolm C,

Firstly, we would like to thank you to share your experience with us at Terroir Parisien. We regret to read your experience did not meet with your expectations. We will share your comments with the team and we really hope you will be able to come back soon in our restaurant.

Best Regards,

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We ended our trip to Paris here and it was hands down our best meal. The quality of the food was much higher than many of our other meals in Paris although the prices here were actually more reasonable. Both of our appetizers were absolutely amazing. The steak we ate for our main course was the best filet of beef any of us had ever had.


The service was also fantastic. Servers were attentive throughout the meal and did their best to bridge the language gap for us. We asked our waiter if we should reserve the delicious dessert we had seen as we walked through the door. He assured us there was plenty, so when it ran out at the very end of the night we were disappointed. However the delicious free dessert they brought us more than compensated! Probably the dessert we should have ordered in the first place. Truly a memorable meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank l_m_palm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yannick A, Directeur général at Terroir Parisien de Yannick Alleno – Maison de la Mutualite, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear l_m_palm,

Thank you to share your experience at Terroir Parisien. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the overall experience. We do hope you will come back soon even if you live in New York !

Best Regards,

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Always trying to find new places in Paris at decent prices, so we went to Terroir Parisien. It is listed in the Bib Gourmand Michelin so expected something quite good. The experience was disappointing. The place is modern so interesting for a French bristo and the service was nice enough. However, the food was very average. Though the meat was good quality, the presentation was poor and the sauce with confied echalottes came from a bag (I had a view on the kitchen). The asparagus sold as fresh spring ones at EUR 15 (plus EUR 15 for the truffles) were tiny and not of high quality- in fact, pretty tasteless. Nothing interesting in terms of wines by the glass.So, overall, not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pierre171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yannick A, Directeur général at Terroir Parisien de Yannick Alleno – Maison de la Mutualite, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Pierre171,

Thank you for having taken your time to share your experience at Terroir Parisien.
We are deeply sorry to read the food wasn’t good enough for you. We want to let you know that your experience does not reflect our usual service and I would be glad to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

France offers such diversity of food and wine with specialties from every corner of the country. Other than the famous Brie de Meaux and the appropriately less famous red wine from Montmartre, I was unaware of the many specialties from Paris -- for which this restaurant of famous chef Yannick Alléno is becoming known.

We started with Spinelli's Parisian mushrooms stuffed with escargots in a watercress butter sauce. They made us happy to be there. The wines we selected by the glass were mercifully not from Paris but sauvignon blanc's from the Loire and the Yonne, a Saint Bris. My wife had cabillaud (cod) filet served in a fresh tomato compote. I had the navarin d'agneau, basically a very tender lamb stew with small potatoes, carrots, peas and haricot verts. The sauce was fragrant and magnificent to finish with a crust of bread. A glass of 2009 merlot from Lalande-de-Pomerol was a tasty match. We were both very pleased.

Instead of dessert, we opted for the plateau de frommage. Guess what? The four cheeses were all from the area around Paris! A brie de Meaux of course, plus two other cow's-milk cheeses, each different in texture from the other, and one goat's-milk lovely with a bleu center. A fruity glass of 2012 syrah-grenache-carignan from the excellent Roussillon winery Clos de Fées called Les Sorcières polished off a fine meal at this modern, attractive and thoroughly delicious restaurant.

Three final notes: 1) though the wine list offers many splendid bottles, this is one restaurant where wines by the glass are both well selected and well priced; 2) the service was correct and prompt. We took our time to select both our dishes and the wines. Once selected, we received attentive service -- you can set the pace; and, 3) the waiters do speak English. We are Americans but asked to be served en français. No problem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hexadoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The beef was incredible. One of the most tender and succulent pieces of meat I've had in a long time. It was absolutely divine. And I'm a South American who loves his meat so I don't say this lightly. The service was good despite some of the reviews below. The eggs cooked in wine as a started were also excellent. All in all I highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terroir Parisien de Yannick Alleno – Maison de la Mutualite also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing