We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just all about wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lavinia

Lavinia
Ranked #84 of 646 Shopping in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Lavinia is the right place in Paris for wine lover, with over 6500 wines to taste and to shop.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not just all about wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stumbled onto Lavinia by accident on our last day in Paris. Magnificent looking wine shop - with a huge selection of french and international wines, plus a range of fortified wines and hard liquor. We found a bottle to try and moved upstairs to the restaurant. Even though it was close to 2pm and we were probably the last few in the restaurant, service remained friendly. Food was good - homely and tasty. On the way out, the kids received a surprise as well - a bunch of lollies and chocolate marshmallows (which were wonderful and were kindly served an extra helping).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMNK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    11
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
373 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stopped by to cruise the collection of wines and spirits. Thought the wine selection was excellent although missing some of my low end favorites as well as a noted absence of cotes du rhone rouge. What was most impressive was the selection of distilled beverages. The wall of whiskey is most impressive including a magnum size of Jack Daniels. Their cognac selection was limited. Did not notice any armangnac or calvados

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is the place for wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I don't know much about wine, but had a list of wines to get for everyone to take home. This place had them and millions more. My wife was as excited to be here as she is in a shoe store! The staff spoke English and were very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank marklongrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caves Beach,Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Truly great wines shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I went to find Egly Ouriet Champagne, that I have not been able to find elsewhere. Lavinia had all blends from this small interesting vineyard in Champagne. It is an excellent champagne with more concentration on Pinot Meunier. For Champagne lovers I recommend you try it is very well priced as well.The wine shop is beautifully laid out and real pleasure to browse in. We, had lunch in upstairs restaurant. Good atmosphere and service fine but nothing special about the food, but a worthwhile overall visit that I would recommend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best wine store, filled with treasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Wine shops across Paris had referred us to Lavinia to find unusual wines that we sought. We were blown away by the selection, professionalism, and knowledge. I found a wine I have been searching for for a year (working with the US importer and even traveling to the Loire to find it). It was here. We were able to buy a bottle wrapped to take home and we took a bottle to their restaurant where staff decanted it and served it with food we ordered. It was one of the finest moments of our trip. We will be ordering wine from them to ship to the US in the fall when the weather is cooler. Amazing store.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Wine_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavinia also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Lavinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing