We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant ask for more in a hostel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Place Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smart Place Paris
Ranked #16 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cant ask for more in a hostel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location (steps from gare du nord with many metro lines and trains). Close to a ton of restaurants, pharmacy, grocery etc. Safe area. Great prices. Access to a full kitchen to cook and store your own food. Free wifi. The rooms are very clean (abit noisy facing the street), All together, I had a fabulous time in august at the smart place hostel and met great travelers. I will definitely return in the future!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    184
    65
    9
    12
See reviews for
30
56
153
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hostel is in a good location close to the train station. The rooms are terrible small but the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. They needed a shower curtain in the bathroom because water went everywhere. The worst part of the room was the bathroom. It needed some work. The bunk beds were noisy and not that comfortable but what can you expect in Paris? There were Not very many nice restaurants nearby and the train station got scary at night. But Overall the Smartplace was convenient, safe place to stay. Close to most everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I booked the Smart place in May for my trip in August, paid a deposit and got my confirmation. When I arrived they told me I had been upgraded and parcelled us off to a shabby hostel up the road.

The tatty Vintage Hostel had broken air con, peeling paint, graffiti, clueless staff, and not enough blankets to go round.

I wouldn't trust these guys unless you confirm they haven't done this to you. It ruined our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I'd read various reviews of hostels and I decided upon this one based on it's location and affordability. When I arrived I was checked in by the staff at reception which was nice and quick. Although I'd booked a 10 bed dorm I was upgraded to a 4 bed dorm which I can't complain about as the price was the same. The room was clean and had an ensuite shower and toilet, my only complaint about the shower room was that there was no soap dispenser. As for sleeping at night time it could be a bit noisy if you left the window open, luckily I'd bought earplugs and this wasn't too bad. The bed itself was comfortable..

Downstairs there is a kitchen area with crockery and utensils as well as a fridge that you can use. There are also tables that you can eat on. Although the wifi is limited to downstairs with the intention of getting you to socialise I didn't feel that vibe here, which is the first time ever. As for accessibility you're right next to Gare du Nord train station and the metro below you also have taxis and buses less than 5 minutes away. You can also walk to Sacre Coeur which is a 15 minute walk and Pigalle is about 25 minutes away. Overall I'd recommend this hostel to those on a budget and anyone who wants to be in the centre of the city!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor as you can get internet on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Standard hostel. Smart Place is located close to Gare Du Nord station. Easy to get to CDG airport from there. No meals are provided however there are various eateries in area including Mcd's and Quick, a local Mcd's type of fast food restaurant. Also a number of pizza places and steak places. there is also a stove and fridge if you want to make your own meals. you can just go out to the supermarket and make your own meals. I stayed in a mixed quad room and my room consisted of 2 women and 2 men. There are one or two outlets to charge your electronics. Wifi is available if your room is near the first floor, not sure about higher floors. Bathroom facilities consisted of a standard (kind of small) shower, toilet and wash basin. be aware, there are no lockers or storage areas in your room. there are backpack sized lockers in the lobby area, you just put a .50 euro coin in the locker and you get it back when you open the locker. There is a secure coat room in the lobby to store your larger suitcases for free. it is located next to the elevator. they give you a ticket used to pick up your suitcase. The hostel is near the bus line and you can go to Gare Du Nord if you want to take the trains. The place is relatively safe, just be aware of your surroundings and you should be okay. The elevators are small and slow, basically holds 1 or 2 people at the most. There is a stairway next to the elevator if you want to skip the elevator. there is a minimum charge for towels (1 euro or two). I am not sure if they wash the blankets between guests, hope so. There are signs in the windows indicating the hostel. At night they have to buzz you in but there is usually a desk clerk at all times.

People working there were friendly and relatively helpful. unfortunately they weren't able to assist with some details, such as which train to get to CDG (esp since there was a strike at the time) but generally tried their best to help guests.

This place was great for budget minded travellers who just want a simple place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: no lockers in room, luggage can be stored in coat room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiitravellerinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hostel was clean and the people working there were very friendly. I felt very comfortable there, making my first time in Paris a wonderful one. I walked A LOT from there to different attractions, and there are TONS of cool places nearby... Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuqueSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringá, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at Smart Place for 10 days in Paris and I have nothing to complain about. The hostel is really close to Gare du Nord station, which can take you anywhere in Paris and outside Paris. Very crowded place, with a lot of tourists, but beggars also. I didn't feel threatened not a single time in that region, but I can't say I felt comfortable as well. Lots of places to eat: pizzas, kebabs, bakeries. If you prefer saving money, you can buy some food at one of the supermarkets around the area and cook something at the hostel.

The staff is great, always there to help you with good information about what is going on in Paris.

The room was a little bit small, but that was no big deal. Both the room and the bathroom were super clean - also, hot water available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel
Generator Hostel
#5 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#8 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Le Regent Hostel
#13 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Place Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Place Paris

Property: Smart Place Paris
Address: 28 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Place Paris 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Place Paris is the perfect budget hostel to experience the most of Paris. Located few meters to Gare du Nord and close to all the popular areas where the day and night life is quite animated, you will discover the most beautiful places of the french capital while enjoying a local city life. Surrounded by bars, theatres, you can easily walk to the Grands Boulevards, Opéra and Galeries Lafayette. Chose between the modern private, double or triple rooms, or share a dormitory with your friends (mixed or not). Prepare a meal in the common kitchen, relax in the lobby, stay connected with the free wifi and ask anything you need to the friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Smart Place Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing