We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to grocery store, smokes, beer and cabs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smart Place Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Place Paris
Ranked #15 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to grocery store, smokes, beer and cabs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great place to stay if you want a quiet hostel. Not much going on in the evenings and the common room is quite small. The hallway to the bathroom from the common room is open ceiling and you can smoke there. Free WiFi was handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    185
    66
    9
    12
See reviews for
30
56
158
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Firstly, there's bedbugs. We've been feasted on in this place so until they get this sorted stay clear.

Bedbugs aside, it really isn't a very nice place to stay (and I've stayed in quite a few Parisian hostels).

We found the staff we met slow, apathetic, generally unhelpful and rude at times.

We witnessed another traveller being turned away after he had booked & paid an extra night because of an admin error - it seems the staff charged for the same date twice for separate rooms. We did try to help him but were rudely cut out of the situation and the girl handling it was ignorant to the error (perhaps knowingly?).

In the room the noise from the kitchen travels straight up the air ducts & is piped into the bathroom. The plug hole in the sink was blocked.

In my opinion it is also overpriced and we totally regret spending the money.

There are many better places to stay in Paris. I just can't understand why some people rave about this Hostel. It's just a bit of a dive!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DashWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippeandtheteam, Directeur général at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
hi
i am very surprised about your comments my goal is to make customer happy to be at the smart place happy to be in Paris
regarding the bedbugs i know that its a major problem in small as bis hotels its why i do have a contract yearly renew to make sure that we dońt have bedbugs sometimes the traveler brings them
the staff are awate to make the stay very enjoyable and to share the best tips about paris and resolve problems when it´s possible
i hope you come again and see the real servce theat we provide
philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Минск, Беларусь
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Smart Place was my shelter for 2 days in Paris. I really liked the whole easy atmosphere and the work of the personnel. Generally The district of "Gare du Nord" (where the hostel situated) is quite noisy but the location of the hotel is very good and the noise will not disturb you. Also there are enough cafés and supermarkets around, which is very convenient. And yes, comrairing to other hostels I slept veeeery well there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gritoscantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location (steps from gare du nord with many metro lines and trains). Close to a ton of restaurants, pharmacy, grocery etc. Safe area. Great prices. Access to a full kitchen to cook and store your own food. Free wifi. The rooms are very clean (abit noisy facing the street), All together, I had a fabulous time in august at the smart place hostel and met great travelers. I will definitely return in the future!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hostel is in a good location close to the train station. The rooms are terrible small but the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. They needed a shower curtain in the bathroom because water went everywhere. The worst part of the room was the bathroom. It needed some work. The bunk beds were noisy and not that comfortable but what can you expect in Paris? There were Not very many nice restaurants nearby and the train station got scary at night. But Overall the Smartplace was convenient, safe place to stay. Close to most everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I booked the Smart place in May for my trip in August, paid a deposit and got my confirmation. When I arrived they told me I had been upgraded and parcelled us off to a shabby hostel up the road.

The tatty Vintage Hostel had broken air con, peeling paint, graffiti, clueless staff, and not enough blankets to go round.

I wouldn't trust these guys unless you confirm they haven't done this to you. It ruined our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I'd read various reviews of hostels and I decided upon this one based on it's location and affordability. When I arrived I was checked in by the staff at reception which was nice and quick. Although I'd booked a 10 bed dorm I was upgraded to a 4 bed dorm which I can't complain about as the price was the same. The room was clean and had an ensuite shower and toilet, my only complaint about the shower room was that there was no soap dispenser. As for sleeping at night time it could be a bit noisy if you left the window open, luckily I'd bought earplugs and this wasn't too bad. The bed itself was comfortable..

Downstairs there is a kitchen area with crockery and utensils as well as a fridge that you can use. There are also tables that you can eat on. Although the wifi is limited to downstairs with the intention of getting you to socialise I didn't feel that vibe here, which is the first time ever. As for accessibility you're right next to Gare du Nord train station and the metro below you also have taxis and buses less than 5 minutes away. You can also walk to Sacre Coeur which is a 15 minute walk and Pigalle is about 25 minutes away. Overall I'd recommend this hostel to those on a budget and anyone who wants to be in the centre of the city!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor as you can get internet on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#12 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#14 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Place Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Place Paris

Property: Smart Place Paris
Address: 28 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Place Paris 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Place Paris is the perfect budget hostel to experience the most of Paris. Located few meters to Gare du Nord and close to all the popular areas where the day and night life is quite animated, you will discover the most beautiful places of the french capital while enjoying a local city life. Surrounded by bars, theatres, you can easily walk to the Grands Boulevards, Opéra and Galeries Lafayette. Chose between the modern private, double or triple rooms, or share a dormitory with your friends (mixed or not). Prepare a meal in the common kitchen, relax in the lobby, stay connected with the free wifi and ask anything you need to the friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smart Place Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing