We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location and great staff”
Review of Smart Place Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Place Paris
Ranked #17 of 177 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

i stayed in may for 5 days here and its a nice cozy lil place !..the staff was super friendly and reallly helpful.the best part was location.its 5 min walk from gare du nord making it ideal.i cant really make a fuss bout the bunks and all coz i used to spend more time outside the room than inside :D...plus montmartre and pigalle were just a walk away.the central location is a big plus.its not really cheap as far as "budget" places go ...but hey its paris !!:D

Room Tip: rooms with windows opening to street get a bit of street noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceelabrawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippeandtheteam, Directeur général at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

thank you for your very warm review
happy to share with all the team that the customer are enjoying their stay
my goal is that we give you the best so you get the best of paris
hope to see you soon by us
contact me when you come back in Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Smart Place Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed at Smart Place last May for 5 days during the Paris leg of a euro trip with friends. Rooms were clean and basic -- just what budget travelers like us needed. Near the Gare du Nord so quick transportation was readily available. It was especially convenient for us since we were off to Amsterdam via train after Paris. It was also near a boulangerie that had a great-tasting and affordable selection of bread, perfect for a quick breakfast or snack. The staff were English-speaking and very friendly. Common areas were cozy and a good place to meet fellow travelers if you are up to it. I would recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippeandtheteam, Directeur général at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hi,
thank you for the time you spend to share your impression. your remarks are very important to me and my team to make this place better.
i am always sensible to know what my customer think about the way we treat them
thank you again and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The rooms are very basic but for the price what do you expect? Our room were small but clean and Smart place is located within a 5-10 minute walk of numerous metro stations including Gare du Nord making it ideal for travel all over Paris. I would recommend Smart Place to any one looking basic accommodation with easy transport links in Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanta0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippeandtheteam, Directeur général at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

hi
thank you for sharing your impressions about the smart place
its always nice to hear that our work means something to our customer
hoe to see you again
philippe and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very good location! Minutes away from Gare du Nord and Sacre Couer. Helpful and friendly staff. It was cheap, so the trade off is no frills- bunks seem pretty old and they don't have individual lights or powerpoints, no lockers in the rooms (they do have small ones in the lobby though). I booked a female dorm, or at least I thought I had, but it wasn't. As I only stayed one night I didn't ask about it so there may have just been a mix up. All in all the location and staff made it worth going without extra comforts.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippeandtheteam, Directeur général at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

thank you for all your remarks . i need always to get more informations about how was the stay at the smart place hostel .
I know that the location next to gare du nord is not the only reason why all our customer comes to us
the staff the lovely place the cosy place to mert people
i will work to all your remarks to make the hostel better than yesterday
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent 2 nights at the smart place hostel, great locations and rooms very clean. Sheets and bedding included and yes the kitchen area is small but it's cosy and met loads of lovely people. Free wifi to keep in contact and they have a board of all the exciting place to visit or do. Great find will stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoexplora88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippeandtheteam, Directeur général at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

always to hear the good things about the hostel
i always try to improve the best for the hostel
hope to see soon
philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was by far the best hostel I stayed at over my whole trip in Europe. The location near Gare du Nord was extremely convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful in answering all of our questions and also giving us advice throughout our stay. The facility was clean and the room was very cozy. The common room was fun and we were able to meet a lot of other travelers and that helped us plan our trip better. I definitely would go back to the Smart place and definitely recommend it to others.
Bon voyage!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenHernfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriamandtheteam, Responsable relations publiques at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We try our best to make our guests feel at home while visiting Paris.
We look forward to having you stay with us again and thanks for the great recomendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location is near Gare du Nord metro station, which helps. Stayed there for 4 nights. The reception guys are friendly and there are lockers near the reception. But the rooms are small. There are no lockers near the beds, no electric plugs for each bed and our common bathroom door could not be locked. I found this place wanting in many aspects, having stayed the previous four nights at Rodemon Hostel Barcelona, which had curtains for each bed, electric charging points and also lockers near the bed. Most importantly, the Barcelona hostel was spacious. Hence, my review may be influenced by my previous experience. Dont know if the other hostels in Paris compare favourably.

Room Tip: Irrespective of the rooms You choose, expect a cramped place and be ready to compromise on comfort.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayakrishnanPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriamandtheteam, Responsable relations publiques at Smart Place Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I understand that the size of the rooms can be surprising when coming from a different destination, but this is Paris in a nutshell. As magical as our city of lights can be, I'm afraid the one thing missing is space. We are working on putting lockers in the rooms and on a few other ideas to improve comfort.
What we lack in square meters, we try to make up for with friendliness, great tips and a constant care for our guests.
Thanks for helping us improve!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 177 in Paris
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Regent Hostel
#12 of 177 in Paris
1,016 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Arty Paris
#10 of 177 in Paris
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Place Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Place Paris

Address: 28 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 177 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £24 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Place Paris 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Place Paris is the perfect budget hostel to experience the most of Paris. Located few meters to Gare du Nord and close to all the popular areas where the day and night life is quite animated, you will discover the most beautiful places of the french capital while enjoying a local city life. Surrounded by bars, theatres, you can easily walk to the Grands Boulevards, Opéra and Galeries Lafayette. Chose between the modern private, double or triple rooms, or share a dormitory with your friends (mixed or not). Prepare a meal in the common kitchen, relax in the lobby, stay connected with the free wifi and ask anything you need to the friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Place Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing