We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For an expensive city, this is a great hostel solution”
Review of Smart Place Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Place Paris
Ranked #18 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“For an expensive city, this is a great hostel solution”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

As other reviewers have noted, Smart Place Paris is about as fine as hostels get.

- It is located near Gare du Nord, a station from which you can easily explore the city.
- There are plenty of mini-marts nearby to grab supplies at for budget meals prepared in the communal kitchen (which could do with some extra mugs and cutlery, but is otherwise functional).
- The rooms (we had a private double) are small and gaudily decorated (pink!), but comfy enough. Note that wi-fi only works in the communal area downstairs.
- The people at the desk were often busy, but when you got to the front of the queue they were helpful and friendly.

Choosing accom in Paris is depressing for those on a budget - you don't get much for your dollar - but Smart Paris definitely delivered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Sarah_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    187
    66
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
57
159
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It's a super good location, cafés are located conveniently around the area. A 15-20 minute walk from Sacré Cœur.
The rooms are a tad bit small, it's really just a room for sleeping. Squeaky beds, but clean and rather comfortable.
Toilet was clean as well, just really small, so there's little space for movement when bathing.
Staff is very helpful, nice and patient, I'd definitely recommend this to people who want a convenient location and just need a bed to sleep.
Wifi is only at lobby, but connection speed is pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanniepancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Got a private double. Room was small, but for a hostel it was fine! Contrary to other reviews our bathroom was very clean. Towels and bath were done for us by the maid, similar to a hotel. The front desk was very nice and helpful at all times, even if they did give me the wrong info once about the antique market's hours (it closes at 2pm btw!!!).
Wifi is only in the lobby and it does suck, but there was free printing which was incredibly helpful for getting boarding passes for our flights.
Overall nice hostel feel, obviously not four star hotel quality but for a hostel I loved it!

Room Tip: Get the private double. Seems like it was cleaner and nicer than the communal rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriamandtheteam, Responsable relations publiques at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your warm review. We take every review into account and strive to get better all the time. Sorry about the wrong info, we'll double check next time!!!
Thanks again for encouraging us, we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What do people expect from a Hostel? The staff were friendly, and me and my fiancee shared a double room, which was small but comfortable (who spends time in a hotel room in paris??)

We paid nothing for a room, close to the trainstation and LOTS of ameneties (retaurants,bars,metro).

The area is dangerous, but then again where isnt it?

Clean room, clean bathroom and our beds were made every day. Safe as you needed a key to get in through the main doors which shut at 10, and ever so quiet.

The view was a bit pitiful, but then again, it is a HOSTEL, not a resort.

A great stay, good memories and convenient!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BumbleBea89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hostel looked really nice when I arrived but the reception staff were pretty unfriendly. During the night there was a fire alarm so everyone crowded into the reception area. The receptionist didn't go and check if everyone was out, he just stayed at reception and shrugged when we asked him if there was a real fire, which turned out to be a guest smoking in the room. I think the staff need to be better trained! Room was a bit mouldy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemakesfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriamandtheteam, Responsable relations publiques at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and I am sorry your experience at the Smartplace was not up to expectations. It has been almost a year since you were here and since then The SmartPlace has been completely refurbished. If you take a look at the pictures you will notice the changes.
As far as the fire alarm goes, we are a non smoking establishement and people smoking in the room will set it off. The receptionnist should have reassured everyone, I am sorry this was not the case. Again, it has been a year so there has been some changes regarding staff as well.
We have been working very hard to better ourselves, so please contact us directly for your next trip to Paris. We would love to share our progress with you. We have the friendliest staff in Paris and we would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the place from Feb 20th to Feb 23rd. We decided to stay at a double ensuite room. Upon arrival, the room turned out to be overlooking the backyard, however after the visit I believe this was an advantage. Montmartre quarter has all the necessary facilities for a tourist, though it is multicultural which can be seen as a drawback. Anyway, the accomodation is well worth the price and the staff is multilingual (the tall dark haired guy at the reception). Strong recommendation. Regards, Piotr & Agnieszka, Wrocław, Poland.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The only good things about this hostel were: it was close location to Gare du Nord, cheap.
they bad things were: poor wifi, dirty bathrooms with MOLD, when the maid gave us new toilet paper it was REALLY dirty(like dusty, and had marker stains and just gross). the beds squeekes A LOT, and the front desk wasnt really helpful, they actually gave us false information anout when the antique market was open!

over all it was dirty and i would not stay here again. I stayed over new years eve so for the price my options were limited other wise i may have left.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 250Sam_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriamandtheteam, Responsable relations publiques at Smart Place Paris, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I am very sorry about your unfortunate experience with us. as far as the bathroom goes it is unexcusable but we are refurbishing all bathrooms and you happened to stay in one of the rooms where the bathroom has yet to be refurbished and will be very soon.
As far as the dirty toilet paper, please accept all our appoligies, the person you are refering to has been spoken to. We really try to make all our guests comfortable and cleanliness is our top priority as you can see from some of our other comments.
As for the inaccurate information you got, we usually know our stuff and take time to help guests find their bearings.
Please contact us directly for a special rate so that you can rediscover Smartplace as it should be.
We sincerly thank you for your remarks and helping us improve. Please give us a chance to show you we take your comments to heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#2 of 166 in Paris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#12 of 166 in Paris
757 reviews
Arty Paris
#6 of 166 in Paris
602 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#9 of 166 in Paris
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Place Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Place Paris

Property: Smart Place Paris
Address: 28 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Place Paris 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Place Paris is the perfect budget hostel to experience the most of Paris. Located few meters to Gare du Nord and close to all the popular areas where the day and night life is quite animated, you will discover the most beautiful places of the french capital while enjoying a local city life. Surrounded by bars, theatres, you can easily walk to the Grands Boulevards, Opéra and Galeries Lafayette. Chose between the modern private, double or triple rooms, or share a dormitory with your friends (mixed or not). Prepare a meal in the common kitchen, relax in the lobby, stay connected with the free wifi and ask anything you need to the friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Place Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing