We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who said European hotel rooms are tiny ??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Ranked #250 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Who said European hotel rooms are tiny ??”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We found this lovely, fairly small hotel through our travel agent. After a long overnight flight we arrived at the hotel late morning and our room was ready and waiting for us! A very easy check in, we quickly unpacked and set out for our first day in Paris! We found that we were staying in a perfect location. On a very narrow quiet side street but within walking distance to a very upscale shopping area including the likes of Dior, Jimmy Choos, Henry Winston and the list goes on! Had lunch overseeing all these stores and then had a lovely stroll to the Arc d'triumph! Going in a different direction that evening ate a little cafe facing the Eiffle Tower, watching it sparkle and light up before a walk along the Seine. Many little cages in every direction we walked!
The hotel served a lovely but a little spartan breakfast. The breakfast room was a little tight at times, but fortunately it was easy enough to go into one of their sitting rooms to enjoy breakfast. I think they could serve more fruit and perhaps this is European- I enjoy cold milk for cereal not room temperature or warm!
The staff was lovely, very friendly and very accommodating. One late afternoon my daughter wasn't feeling well and we found a local grocery store to pick up some soup. When asking if there was a microwave we could use, they insisted on doing it for us and brought the hot soup in beautiful China up to our room asking if we needed anything else. The next day they all inquired how she was feeling!
The room was a fine size with a lovely balcony. One late afternoon we were entertained by street performers - it was perfect!
One hint- the shower/bathtub has a shower head plus handheld but using shower head the water went all over the floor. We were warned by friends and brought a shower curtain with suction cup hooks and everything stayed dry!!
A small hotel with a familial atmosphere. Very definitely worth checking out! Also, we had a sofa bed for our daughter so three could easily fit in the room!
A perfect hotel to experience Paris!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    163
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
194
306
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swanbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great little hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Located in a quiet street with plenty of good restaurants in the vicinity. It's not in a night life district but is easy walking to the main monuments! Quaint little bar area and beer garden.

Room Tip: A friendly hotel in a quiet street. The staff were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Swanbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This a boutique hotel not a big place. For individuals and familys that like this type of hotel, it is nice. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast selection! The location was perfect, great shopping location and close to the metro station. It was a good find.

Room Tip: Suite is preferred!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picazo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We chose it because of the location was promising. It turned out to be better that we could have ever expected. A short walk to the major tourist sites, a convenient taxi ride to the business centre, excellent dining options within a few minutes’ walk, and a convenient Metro station. The establishment is elegantly decorated. The rooms are tastefully appointed, large in the European context, and comfortable. Breakfast is generous. Yet all this pales in the light of the staff, it would be hard to pick an area that needs improvement. We were provided with assistance in every manner that would make our stay more enjoyable – restaurant options, booking reservations, and arranging airport transportation. It wasn’t just delivered, it was volunteered. The area is beautiful and quiet with excellent restaurants. Steps from the shaded river walk and Eiffel Tower. It might look pricey, but it is full value for the money. If you are seeking the complete Paris experience, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The price has gone up but the hotel is really dated. The value is no longer here which is why I rate this poor. But even at less than this price, it is merely adequate. This was one of our favorite hotels from 10 years ago and remains good in that it is a terrific location, easy access to many sites. As usual, the suite we had was large but the Asian theme bedspread matching wallpaper matching couch, was so old I didn't want to sit on anything.

The washroom is tiny with a separate water closet for the toilet. Toiletries are poor quality, an ancient looking hairdryer fixed to the wall. There is a request to recycle but no recycle boxes provided. The AC was ridiculously loud - impossible to sleep with it on, impossibly stuff with it off.

No water is provided (except for purchase), no coffee machine in room (instant powder), plastic disposable cups in washroom. No turndown service.

Recommended restaurants provided at desk not very good. Far better options available with a search on tripadvisor.

The breakfast area is cramped, awkward to move around in. Baked goods were dry, like day-old, hot eggs are extra charge, no fresh coffee, no service of any kind. Tables were covered and people piled dishes up. After we were there for an hour (reading newspaper), staff did come to clear but didn't say a word - no good morning, no smile, no - how are you, how is everything, nothing.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the main corridor for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaneteil, Hotel Manager at Chambiges Elysees Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

It is always hard to read that one of our client was disappointed with the Chambiges Hotel. We try to do all our best to satisfy our clients. But we will take your remarks in order to improve ourselves.

Please be assured that our carpets, wallpaper and bedspread in our rooms are changed or washed regularly. When we renovated the hotel, we tried to make our rooms the most comfortable than possible. Our toiletries are new but “old styled-model” in order to go with the ambience of the room, traditional and elegant. We agree with you about the hairdryer and are pleased to inform you that they will be changed very soon.

Technical problems are regularly checked by our technical service but can be resolved in the quickest way by informing the reception desk.

In generally, we propose restaurants that are walking distance from our hotel and that we tried before. Of course, there are so many other restaurants in Paris, that it would be impossible to propose them all. The restaurants in our area have good quality food and reasonable prices. Most of our clients are very satisfied with our suggestions. Sometimes, there can be, of course, a problem with the service or the quality of a dish but this is independent from us.

Our full breakfast buffet is offered (and not included) to all our clients every morning. On the breakfast buffet you find: ham, salami, bacon, 3 different kinds of cheese, sliced bread, fresh croissants, pain au chocolate, pain au raisin and baguette, 3 kinds of cereals, fresh fruits salad, 3 different kinds of yoghurt, boiled eggs, orange juice, apple juice and grapefruit juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Please be assured that our bakery is delivered freshly every morning.

You are right that our breakfast room is a little bit small but please note that you can have also your breakfast in our garden as well as in our salons.

Concerning the unacceptable behaviour of our employee from the breakfast service, we inform you that appropriate action will be taken.

We are truly sorry that you didn’t appreciate your stay in our hotel, nevertheless we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.


Clélia Feunteun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lovely hotel, a lovely boutique hotel with a great location and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We had a wonderful time and would go back there again. Great recommendations for day trips and dinner and resturants

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was really perfect for our short stay in Paris. It is in a beautiful location on a quiet street which is close to the Champs Élysées and an easy walk to the Eiffel Tower. The room was clean and relatively spacious given it is a small old hotel. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I had read reviews about the breakfast room being small but we really did not find that to be an issue. My husband, my ten year old son and I shared a triple room and there was a more than adequate pull out couch for my son.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suharbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#38 of 1,800 in Paris
730 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#32 of 1,800 in Paris
1,079 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#264 of 1,800 in Paris
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#228 of 1,800 in Paris
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambiges Elysees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambiges Elysees Hotel

Property: Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Address: 8 rue Chambiges | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Paris
#99 Business Hotel in Paris
#111 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#173 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambiges Elysees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant 5-story Hotel, housed in a turn-of-the-century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chambiges Elysees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chambiges Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing