We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Modern Hotel Lafayette
Ranked #1,752 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Bcn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, but not so good”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hotel is ok, good situation, staff friendly, but maybe this hotel in Spain is not more than 1 star.
All furnitures old, room nothing special, breakfast correct.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txema_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    11
    11
    15
See reviews for
8
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I chose this hotel for two reasons: The relatively low price(95 euro,breakfast included) and the location. I was not surprised and I came across with what I read in the other travelers' experiences.
Positive points: Kind and helpful personnel, location.
Negative points: Poor elevator, mediocre breakfast, very small bathroom, poor sound isolation from other rooms and corridor and vibrations from the metro(even in 5th floor).

Room Tip: Choose 1st floor room (poor elevator if works).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We got out of the eurostar north exit and decided to look for the hotel since it was near. We found out that the hotel has changed their name and was extremely difficult to find. We got to the hotel and we went to check in as we assumed the rooms would be ready as we booked a month in advanced.

The staff was extremely unpolite and they said the room was not ready. We booked a room for four people but they told us they could only provide us with two rooms and not the quadriple room. Since we had booked the room in advance we got pretty annoyed and they finally gave us the room we wanted but then very rudely said that our room does not have any curtains until two days later. We decided to stay in that room anyways, when we got to the room and it was old and looked like it was about to fall apart. The gave us two pillows for four people and when we went to the reception to ask for more pillows the lady told us no in a very unpolite manner, she finally gave us the key to another room and told us to get the pillows from there.

We were extremely disapointed at the hotel and at the staff that worked there. We asked for wifi which was free, we though that was finally one good thing about the hotel but when we got up to our room which was on the first floor the wifi was slow and had no reception unless you were sitting in an awkward position.

We browsed through the tv and found there was absolutly no english channels other than french channels which was really dissapointing, shouldnt they have at least one english channel, this is a place for people who dont live in france to stay right? well apparently not.

The atmopsphere was really bad, it felt totally unsafe since near the hotel there were a lot of beggers drunk on the ground and people will intimidate you if you are a female. Which was extremely unpleasent, as i am a female.

We immediatly asked to check out and found another better hotel with a even better location. It was a million times better than this hotel. But it was slightly more expensive, but totally worth the money, we couldnt stand another night there.

To be honest, i dont even know how this hotel managed to have any stars. My family and I were extremely disapointed and it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The pictures are completely different than the real hotel. I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel because all you would be is disappointed. My first impression of Paris was ruined by this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonsiuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Cheap room in a cheap hotel. You could probably find better but the room was clean

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sburtoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Haha... I haven't seen such a dump in Paris since the early eighties. Worn down both on the inside and outside. The building is falling apart and a net on the top floor is put up to prevent pieces of the facade to fall onto the street.
But, most important: a travel companion woke up one morning with red nasty insect bites all over her arms and neck. 30-40 of them, maybe more. Fleas. Yeah that's right: fleas!
The lady in the reception didn't seem all that surprised... She immediately helped to change to another room though. What became of the flea-room? Don't know, maybe it was given to new arrivals.

This place has three stars. This is nothing short of a miracle. One star would barely be proper. A three star hotel in Paris is nowadays quite good - ANY other three-star Parisian hotel is lightyears ahead of this one in standard.
Besides the fleas, the breakfast is more than basic and the rooms are very noisy, most of them facing the street. And the street is Rue La Fayette - a busy one...
To say something positive: the staff is quite friendly and nice.

Never, ever put your money in this establishment. Period.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Hotel booked because of photographs which showed a lovely hotel. On arrival found a dingy facade and grubby entrance. On entering we were told that a "contaminated disease" had been found within and that we could no longer stay there. We were found another hotel nearby which for the same money we found to be clean, tidy and well cared for with pleasant, helpful staff.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank alibruce2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

There are many hotels in Paris in the same price range and if possible I would try to book someplace else. This hotel is currently going through significant renovations and it shows in the room quality. First of all, I will say that our room was quite spacious (triple). However, the sheets had tears in them, bedspreads were stained as were the pillows. The bathroom was okay, clean/updated. The heat did not work the two days we were there and the front desk seemed uninterested in helping us. Location is okay, but pretty much everywhere in Paris is convenient to something thanks to the Metro.

  • Liked — Price was good for a triple-breakfast was good
  • Disliked — Dirty carpet, bed linens, stained bedspreads, no working heat
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
The Modern Hotel
The Modern Hotel
#1,232 of 1,801 in Paris
459 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,029 of 1,801 in Paris
322 reviews
République
Hotel Modern
Hotel Modern
#1,553 of 1,801 in Paris
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#894 of 1,801 in Paris
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Hotel Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Hotel Lafayette

Property: Modern Hotel Lafayette
Address: 60 rue la Fayette, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,752 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Hotel Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the lively Opéra Garnier district, the hotel is between Montmartre and the famous Grands Boulevards, and their department stores. In the heart of Paris, the Modern Hotel La Fayette boasts a privileged location from which to discover the beautiful French capital. The hotel welcomes you in a peaceful and warm atmosphere; the rooms offer well-appointed rooms decorated with warm autumnal colours; and the devoted and attentive staff offer caring service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Modern Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing