We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Ranked #561 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Great location for tourists as very accessible to all metro stations.
Lovely room very comfortable and had a very good night sleep in very comfy bed. Shower is great even though bathroom is smallish.
Fridge in room if needed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ruthwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    664
    200
    56
    21
See reviews for
274
437
99
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My family of 3, with 16 year old daughter stayed their in early July. Each time we stay in Paris we choose to stay in a different area, and this allows us to really get to know different area. The hotel was a very short walk to the Metro. Nearby there were many restaurants and shops to choose from. The hotel was modern, wifi was good..but the lobby etc a bit small. But who in Paris hangs around their hotel anyway?

All in all good value. The Montparnasee are had a lot to explore including the catacombs and The Tower for a great view of Paris without the queues of the Eiffel Tower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melb2World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binyamina, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great Hotel, friendly staff, great location.
I just came back from a long weekend in Paris with my mom and sister. The contemporary designed room was spacious and clean . The hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
Situated in the heart of the Montparnasse area. a few min. walk from the metro station.
This is definitely a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Client,

We want to thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
We really hope to welcome you back in Paris !

Best regards

Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent hotel, good location near the metro and many restaurants, very nice breakfast, with plenty of choice. Rooms are clean , big and nicely decorated. Helpfull staff. Hope Ill be back again////////////////

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liron078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Liron078,
Many thanks for your nice comment !
We are pleased you have enjoyed the choice of the breakfast which is a new selection of high quality products in the Mercure brand since the beginning of september.
This week we have also redesigned the organization of the "Buffet" and we hope you will come back to try it soon.

Kind regards
Patricia BRIMBEUF
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
161 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week and it was a fantastic hotel.
The rooms were spacious and hard to come by for a Parisien hotel.
It is located right in the heart of Montparnasse and close to the train station and subway.
You could walk to explore the city if you are up for it!

The staff are all very helpful and pleasant stay.

Well done to the team.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agape10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Agape10,

We are happy to reed that you had a fantastic stay in our hotel. We thank you for your comments.
We hope to welcome you soon.

Kind regards
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I chose the Mercure Montparnasse for its location (and price :-). We were flying into CDG and took the AirFrance coach (cheapest booked online!) from CDG to Gare Montparnasse. It was then just a quick 3 minute walk thanks to being pre-armed by Google Streetview and maps.

The hotel wasn't horribly cheap or expensive but just about what I'd expect to pay for a city-centre hotel (certainly cheaper than most London ones!)

The checkin was quick, efficient and friendly and within minutes of walking through the door, we were in our room on the fourth floor.

The room itself is not huge but apparently average for Parisian standards. It was clean, well maintained and just right for our long weekend.

It was also very quiet which was great as we live way out in the country and have long since lost our immunity to city noise. Noise in the hotel was also at a minimum which suited us perfectly.

Free WIFI is available but it's not exactly obvious as it's supplied by Orange and looks like one of their standard hotspot sign-ups. Choosing a payment plan of free-access got us online with reasonably good bandwidth both up and downstream.

A good nights sleep on the comfortable bed the covers we thought were a bit thin were actually more than enough. Why are hotels always so hot????

Time to get ready for breakfast! The bathroom was again, clean and well serviced but still rather small - definitely a one-person-at-a-time area. The shower was good and strong but the temperature could be rather variable at peak showering times.

Once showered and dressed, we headed down for breakfast and once again, my woeful French was only just sufficient to get a table for us and to order tea and coffee.
The breakfast buffet was fairly standard but not replenished quickly enough - so it was a bit hit or miss whether you got the items you wanted.
Having said that, the food that was there was good quality, well prepared and just right to set us up for the Parisian morning.

Being at one of the major Paris railway stations, we were very well served for transport options with the Metro just a short walk from the hotel.

There are plenty very good restaurants in close proximity to the hotel so we didn't eat there other than for breakfast.

All in all, it was just what we were looking for and we'd definitely use the hotel again when we visit Paris.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are apparently quieter according to the check-in staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Andrew N,
Thank you for this nice and complete description of your experience in our hotel.
We have well noticed and shared your comment about the speed of resupplying the buffet on rush hours. We are sorry for these troubles.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#361 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#511 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#620 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse

Property: Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Address: 20 rue de la Gaite, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#314 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#450 Business Hotel in Paris
#522 Family Hotel in Paris
#580 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Montparnasse station to the south of the centre of Paris in a modern building close to the Montparnasse business district and the Porte de Versailles exhibition centre. Close to the popular tourist areas of Saint Germain des Pres and Saint Michel, the hotel is next door to the legendary cabaret club, Bobino, the only place in Paris where you can enjoy a drink, see a show, dance and have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing