We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Ranked #594 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You can do better”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked this place because we wanted to spend our fist couple nights in Paris without hassles, and decided that a chain business hotel like this one would minimize any potential traveling agita -- in exchange for lack of charm, you figure you at least get a reliable clean and well-maintained place. But not here. The first room we stayed in had a huge gash in the door frame, which looked like the result of someone kicking in the door. When we woke up the next morning, the bathroom had flooded from a leak in the pipes. They moved us to a new room, which was slightly nicer, but the place is still careworn, only marginally clean, and minimalist -- kind of what you would expect in a budget motel on a highway in the US, except smaller. The breakfast is big, but expensive (17 euros) and uninspired. For about the same money, you can have a cute little Parisian hotel in a nicer part of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraxLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    681
    212
    57
    24
See reviews for
282
456
99
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel offers a great location, near to subways stations, many restaurants and theaters in the street. The breakfast is very nice. The room is ok, but I had some problems with my bathroom - a terrible smell all day long that was not solved during the three days I spent day. Anyway, I recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Miimis,

Many thanks for your very nice comments about our hotel. We are happy that you appreciated our location and services.

We are sorry for the problems you met in your bathroom, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly again,

Kind regards
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

1st trip to Paris and this was a wonderful hotel. Evenly situated from all attractions and close to several Metro stations and train station. Had emailed in advance seeking information but did not get a response. Mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary and was placed in an incredible room with a small balcony and view of Sacre Coeur, Tour Montparnasse and the Eiffel Tower! Room make up was clean and of average size. Bedding and seating was very comfortable. Staff was helpful, courteous and prompt. Neighborhood was filled with excellent cafes, theaters, groceries, and shops. Would choose this hotel again on a return trip.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms have small balconies. Courtyard side has view of Tour Montparnasse, Eiffel Tower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Judit H,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that you have good memories of your room and our location for your first stay in Paris.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in hotel Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse.

Yours sincerely,
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is very clean and small. The room (615 on 6th floor) is probably typical of all of the rooms. Size is OK but not great and when we asked or anon smoking room-we were put in a smoking room. However, I did find the staff very helpful generally.
Its a very easy access hotel to the nearby Montparnasse and if you walk doewn Gaite and past Cafe Odessa a tthe bottom of t he road, you will enter an area near the Gallerie Lafayette-turn right to enter a long street full of bars and restaurants including American Cafe Coupole...

Gaite has lots of Japanese restaurants, afew thestres and several or may sex toy shops etc-so probably not an area to stay in if you are a family with senstitive tastes...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for giving tripadvisor' readers these details on our area and our hotel. We will be pleased to welcome you for your future stay in Paris.

Sincerly,

Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of a tour package. Great location close to Metro stations, lots of restaurants, creperies, shopping (Gallerie Lafayette) and close to attractions. If you are looking for a "Ritz-type" hotel, this is not it! BUT you will get a small, efficient room, clean and near a many places to visit for an inexpensive price. The rooms are "well used" and some areas need paint touch-up, but rooms are clean and well stocked up with toiletries, etc. There is a refrigerator included in the room as well. The cleaning ladies are friendly and they do an excellent job, in fact, better than at a US Marriott or Hilton!!!!
The front desk staff is a bit "stuffy" but helpful. Contrary to the rumor that French people are rude and don't like Americans, we (our group of 45 people) found French people extremely friendly and willing to help you everywhere we went.
I am a selective person when it comes to where I stay, but I would certainly stay here again and highly recommend it. The price is right for what you get. Location, location location!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jungelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jungelmann,

Many thanks for this nice and complete description of your recent experience in our hotel !
I shared your nice comments to my team, who was very happy. Our Guests' satisfaction is our priority.
It is true also that our location is generally appreciated for tourism or business.
We will be very pleased to welcome you again in Mercure Montparnasse for your next trip in Paris,
Yours sincerely,
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I decided to stay here as we had an early train to catch to Bordeaux from Gare du Montparnasse.

Upon arrival, we were surprised that the room was very decently sized unlike the reviews of most Paris hotels which we have read. Hotel room was very clean and receptions were pretty helpful for Parisians / French well-known snobbishness.

There are many restuarants which open til late (say..11-ish 12am). So it is pretty safe to walk back to hotel from stations even at night. (My friend and I are 2 small Asian girls an we couldn't feel more safe to know that there are many people still hanging around after dinner around the hotel talking and drinking)

Gare Montparnasse is contacted to metro line 4, 6, 12 and 13. However, you will still need to walk in the underpass for another 10mins to reach the metro lines.. Hotel is about 2mins walk to Either Gare Montparnasse or Gaité on L13.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Jia17,

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel and we were pleased you enjoyed our very central and convenient location.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.
Kind regards,
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigtuna,Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed 2 adults and 2 children in one room. It was narrow , very tight. The room had two small windows that let in minimal light. It was difficult to move and even harder when for some reason we needed to open a suitcase .

We are glad that we still could sleep together . We would like to emphasize that the sofa bed was made up of 2 separate beds , which is not often . Very good !
The room was clean and quiet. There was safety box , water, slippers and bathroom accessories.

We lacked a proper wardrobe with doors / drawers to put down underwear in. It was difficult to get hot water in the shower. The temperature and the water pressure shifted.

We stayed 4 nights and ate the hotel's breakfast every morning. The restaurant was more an impersonal breakfast room, which was bustling and noisy. The staff worked on and was very nice, but every day (!) missing meals ; breads, pancakes, scrambled eggs and cereals. The standard answer when I asked for more scrambled eggs was that it would take seven minutes. How come? What I do not understand is how this can be ready in 7 minutes and still be COLD !? We had to wait for the dishwasher to wash up new glasses and small bowls 2 out of 4 days.

The streetarea below is full of restaurants , bars and crêperies . The streetarea above is more for adults.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Annelig,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the breakfast service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#366 of 1,801 in Paris
788 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#564 of 1,801 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#556 of 1,801 in Paris
327 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
#950 of 1,801 in Paris
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse

Property: Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Address: 20 rue de la Gaite, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#333 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#450 Business Hotel in Paris
#521 Family Hotel in Paris
#579 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Montparnasse station to the south of the centre of Paris in a modern building close to the Montparnasse business district and the Porte de Versailles exhibition centre. Close to the popular tourist areas of Saint Germain des Pres and Saint Michel, the hotel is next door to the legendary cabaret club, Bobino, the only place in Paris where you can enjoy a drink, see a show, dance and have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing