We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable staying”
Review of MARAIS HOme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
MARAIS HOme Hotel
Ranked #249 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel is very stylish, good located at about 2 minutes from Metro Station "Republique". Staff is very welcoming, there is young but elegant atmosphere, rooms are not enormous but extremely clean. There is a wellness area with gym tools, sauna & hammam. Would choose it once again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandra_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a lovely small hotel just on the edge of The Marais. The two rooms we had were on the small size but this is as we expected. The beds are wonderfully comfortable with high quality linen and the rooms lovely and clean. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the ability to use the sauna and steam room was much appreciated after a long day's walk around Paris. Two small negatives - no complimentary toiletries which I would have expected in a hotel of this kind and the breakfast is incredibly expensive so we went into the Marais and ate for a third of the price. Apart from that we would stay here again without hesitation (in fact we are already planning our next trip).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohcine E, Directeur général at MARAIS HOme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Lucy,
We thank you for your comment which helps us to improve the quality of the hotel.
We, also, are very pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Concerning the complimentary toiletries, in order to respect environment, we are trying to limit as much as possible the packaging. Otherwise, please let us know which kind of complementary toiletries would delight you for your next stay in our hotel. It would be a pleasure to provide you this service.
Then, our breakfast, cost indeed 16€, but it’s a full and large unlimited breakfast buffet whose product are highly selected.
Our buffet menu is composed of:
Hot sausage, scrambled and soft boiled eggs
Charcuterie and cheese plate
Variety of pastries and breads
Cereals and yogurts
Our Juices are freshly squeezed so as the fresh fruit salad.
Then our coffee machine can provide several types of hot drinks, such as espresso, cappuccino, chocolate and tea.
Maybe, you could tell us which kind of breakfast, you’re looking for when staying in a hotel, it would probably help us to adapt to our guests.
Do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel Ho Marais is a small hotel well located close to Place de la Republique. It is new, fresh and modern with lovely design touches and friendly service.

The rooms are nicely designed and quite sumptuous, but the standard rooms are too small to be comfortable and overpriced for the space. Hotel rooms in Paris are generally small, but this is by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in this price category. There are few amities in the room, no minibar, kettle etc, but the free internet was fast and reliable and there is free coffee in reception. The room service consists of cold food only, and is not good quality. Our room had a huge contraption to hold the flat screen tv, which took up a lot of the limited floor space and left no room for the suitcases. The room was however quiet so we slept well.

The breakfast is served in a nicely decorated but small cavernous space in the basement, and it was definitely not worth the money. We arrived one hour before closing time the first morning, and there were no scrambled eggs, no juice and very little else left, and there were not much choice in the first place. The lady looking after the breakfast area did not refill the missing items. We arrived a bit earlier the next morning to find the room very crowded and uncomfortable. Guests kept bumping into each other. Buffet better stocked today, but the scrambled eggs are not made fresh but microwaved from a ready mix (?). Better to grab a quick breakfast from one of the many boulangeries in the area at a quarter of the cost.

The hotel offers a nice sauna/hammam for free with prebooking, and also a massage service. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful, and did not mind speaking English. We felt very welcome, but a bit short charged bearing in mind what you get for your money.

Room Tip: Some rooms face a small courtyard without natural daylight. These rooms are quite dark but might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snufkin1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohcine E, Directeur général at MARAIS HOme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Ho Marais Hotel.
It is a really pleasure for us to know that you appreciated the hotel decoration and the proximity of the most important monuments of Paris. Our staff will be glad to acknowledge that you appreciated what they do.
Now day is very difficult to find a room big enough in Paris, especially in the center of the city. Our Superior, Deluxe, Duplex and Junior Suite room are very spacious and cosy. The hotel tries to preserve a Zen and purifying atmosphere. We choose to put a bottle of water for each client and make a lot of services on free access for our client, that’s why the rooms are not equipped with minibar. As you underline at the front desk you have a coffee machine and pastries that the customers may use all day long. Regarding the room service we will see with the company in order to ameliorate the quality of the products.
Because this is a design hotel we tried to equip our rooms with the last technological TV, for the comfort of the clients.
We are very disappointed to note that our breakfast wasn’t in honor with your expectation. The breakfast is composed of fresh production in order to assure an equilibrate one. As you know the French buildings are situated in historical area, we are not able to change the capacity of the breakfast room. We will try to ameliorate the service and to make sensitive our staff regarding the breakfast service.
In order to assure the privacy of the sauna/hammam, we decided to set up a reservation system, for the comfort of the guests.
We hope to welcome you another time in order to prove you that our services evolved between your last stay.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel was a delight; quality small modern hotel.
I originally had a back room that was a little dark but the staff member at the desk was responsive and she changed me to a room at the front as it was light and airy. The set up was great for me with Wifi, good coffee on tap. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Even with my poor French they were very helpful.
Close to good shopping the metro and easy access to Paris. If I hadn't come down with a bad head cold I would have also used their gym, and Spa.
I will go back!

Room Tip: If you want quiet with your windows open , the back If you want light and don't mind the city n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelaide48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohcine E, Directeur général at MARAIS HOme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you for your great comment about Ho Marais Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your room that offers a great view over Boulevard du Temple and the other services of the hotel (free coffee, free wi-fi). Our staff will be glad to read such a nice review, they are doing everything for the comfort of the clients.
Please feel free to contact us to prepare together your next trip to Paris.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Rooms are small as most European rooms are, that aside this hotel is brand new and very quiet and comfortable. The hotel is located just minutes from many restaurants and the Metro giving you easy access to the whole of Paris. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I only had a carry on case with me if you have anything larger than this you may need to store your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily_2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohcine E, Directeur général at MARAIS HOme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Customer,
We are glad to see that you enjoyed the comfort and the location of our hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you another time, don’t hesitate to contact us for your next trip.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel opened in May 2013, so the hotel is very modern, clean and fresh. We staying on Monday 26th August to Thursday 29th August 2013. The location of the hotel is walking distance to the Metro at Republique which has good links to many locations including Paris Nord train station for the Eurostar. We used the Metro when arriving at Paris Nord train station and used line 5 (3 stops to Republique), as we boarding the train with our bags and suitcases, 2 large men followed us on by banging into us and bundled us on when we boarded. One of the men was distracting me whilst the other was trying to pickpocket me by having his left hand under a coat or through a bag so that it could not be seen, luckily I had zipped pockets so the [--] did not succed and got off at the next station Gare de L'Est, so if you plan to travel on the Paris Metro with suitcases, be very careful and DO NOT keep any money, mobile phones, valuables in your pockets as these thieves will ruin your holiday! These thieves were not children!, they were men, praying on tourists and ruining what could be a lovely destination, Police in Paris need to work harder to stop this happening and be more on the case of these thieves that board the train at Paris Nord Metro Station, how more obvious could they be! Even though we used the buses and Metro whilst we were travelling around Paris, on returning back to Paris Nord train station Thursday we used Taxi G7, which cost just 15 euro, by booking online at www.taxisG7.com and the taxi driver arrived on time and was very pleasant, DON'T RISK TRAVELLING ON THE METRO WITH SUITCASES! as these [--] are praying on tourists. The hotel room we stayed in was number 101 which was very compact. The room was very modern, fresh and clean. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were changed daily, the cupboard space is limited due to the size of the room and we had to squeeze through a small gap between the bed and the wall to get around the room. The television was a modern large Panasonic smart TV on the wall, although be aware the room has no tea/coffee facilities, so a travel kettle would be advised if you would like a cuppa on returning to the room or if you do not have breakfast included. There is a Carrefour supermarket 5 min walk from the hotel towards Bastille (stay on the left hand side of the main road) where you can buy food and water at reasonable prices (around 20 cent for a 1.5L bottle of water). The shower kept going luke warm and cold, when speaking with reception they say this keeps happening and that we should have let them know as they are aware of the problem and are able to reset the system (teething problems with a new hotel) to resolve the problem. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very modern and the shower heads (you have two to choose from, one fixed above and one removable), although they could have been slightly more generous with the hand gel which was a large container, with very little in the bottom which run out very quickly. The room number 101 we staying in was very small and with the lack of natural light it did feel a little claustrophobic at times. The reception staff were absolutely lovely, very helpful and friendly, superb! The steam room, sauna and gym were also very modern and superb quality on -2 floor in the basement. There is a bus stop very close to the hotel where you can get a bus (number 20) to Opera where there is lots and lots of shops including the Galeries Lafayette department store which has everything and they even let you enjoy the views of Paris on their roof terrace free of charge. You can buy a Navi Go Decouverte card from Paris Nord train station for around 20 euro and 5 euro for the card which last ten years! This gives you a card (similar to an Oyster Card) for 25 euro which you can use for unlimited travel on the buses, metro and trams for 7 days, although this is not available from the ticket machines, so you will need to buy from a ticket office, I used the SNCF ticket office and I had to wait for someone who could speak English but they we're extremely helpful, freindly and superb! Recommended hotel, not the best location if you do not want to use the Metro as difficult to get to using buses from most locations and the location of the nearest Metro at the Republique is far from desirable. JUST BE AWARE IN ALL LOCATION OF PICKPOCKETS AND BUY A BUM BAG WHICH CAN BE PURCHASED CHEAPLY ONLINE FOR AROUND £10, PAC SAFE IS A SUPERB BRAND TO BUY HENCE WHY HAD THEY GOT THE POCKET UNDONE THEY WOULD HAVE ONLY GOT VERY LITTLE!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohcine E, Directeur général at MARAIS HOme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Customer,
We are glad to read your review about your stay at Ho Marais Hotel. It is nice from your part to share your Parisian experience with the others tourist.
Now day is very difficult to find a room big enough in Paris, especially in the center of the city. Our Deluxe and Suite room are very spacious and cosy, next time don’t hesitate to contact us directly in order to have an appropriate room.
The front desk staff will be delighted to read your commentary, they are doing the best to offer a pleasant stay to our guests.
We hope to welcome you another time at Ho Marais Hotel.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We got a good deal for 3 nights in August (EUR129 pn double with breakfast). The Ho Marais is very well located for getting around - 5 mins walk from Republique or Filles du Calvaire metros. But it is on the NE edge of the Marais so expect to walk a lot. We certainly had to because so many restaurants were closed for the holidays despite Paris bursting with tourists trying to spend their money. The reception staff at the Ho were always very friendly and helpful and it's a good touch having free Nespresso and pastries plus a tethered iPad in reception. We had one of the basic Classic rooms It was quiet, at the back of the hotel, and the bathroom was stylish with a good shower but the room itself was very compact. We also had problems with the aircon - it blew a cold blast into the room whatever the setting on the controller and we just turned it off and opened the window when the weather allowed. Breakfasts were very good even if space was limited at busy times. Plenty of cereals, fruits, juices, yoghurts, cold meats, pastries, cheeses and a hot choice of scrambled eggs and sausages. The thing we liked most of all about the hotel was the roof terrace. It always had a choice of sun or shade, had great views over the rooftops and was never too busy. We had a late return Eurostar on our last day and they were very happy for us to leave the cases then come back to spend a couple of hours on the terrace before we had to leave. We had a delightful picnic with some rosé wine and the wifi even still worked on my phone. So I'd not want to pay their much higher rack rates but at the price we paid it was pretty good.

Room Tip: Front rooms noisy if you open the window - go for a courtyard or rear room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohcine E, Directeur général at MARAIS HOme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your commentary about your stay at Ho Marais.
As you underline the location is the “must have” of the hotel, it give you the possibility to go wherever you want in Paris.
The front desk staff is trying always to assure an unforgettable stay and the services we are proposing are in ad equation with.
Regarding the breakfast we are trying to offer an equilibrated one with fresh products.
It is true that our roof terrace offers you another view of Paris, which may be interesting for our customers.
Next time don’t hesitate to contact us, we will help you to choose your room between our Classic, Superior, Deluxe and Suite.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#85 of 1,804 in Paris
229 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Le Relais du Marais
Le Relais du Marais
#561 of 1,804 in Paris
230 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mademoiselle
Hotel Mademoiselle
#243 of 1,804 in Paris
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#110 of 1,804 in Paris
613 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Mareuil
Le Mareuil
#124 of 1,804 in Paris
585 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#272 of 1,804 in Paris
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MARAIS HOme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MARAIS HOme Hotel

Address: 38 boulevard du Temple | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Hô Marais)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , République
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Paris
#143 Business Hotel in Paris
#170 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#317 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £101 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MARAIS HOme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marais Home with its 33 rooms and suites invites you in its poetic world : follow the white link till the Place de la Republique. The hotel features also a wellness (hammam, sauna) and fitness area. This hotel proposes you a massage service available 24h/24, feel free to contact the hotel to book this service in supplement.The hotel is located in the hype Haut Marais district with its trendy boutiques and restaurants.Direct access from Gare du Nord and Gare de l'Est. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MARAIS HOme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarelle Hotel Paris
Aquarelle Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing