We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, less good hotel.”
Review of Hotel Helder Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helder Opera
Ranked #1,167 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel's got an amazing location. Shops, restaurants and everything you need/want in walking distance.
However, the hotel doesn't look like the picture represent. The hotel is outdated. The quality of the beds are bad, the space in the room is extremely small en overall it just feels dirty.

I definitely wound't go back to this hotel and there are many other hotels in the same price range.

However, the people working there where very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randyhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel was in a great position but the overall decor was very poor.
The room smelt very musty like it had been flooded
The bathroom was very small with a bad odour coming from the drains
The hotel staff were very helpful
But I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flamonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We chose this hotel in order to stay near The Opera but it was a big mistake. It is really a hotel close to everything, but the rooms and bathroom are very , very tiny and old. There is no comfort to stay more than the sleep time. To make matters worse, during our visit, despite having asked for a quiet room, there was a reform in a building next to the hotel, with a horrible noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Where to start? Dirty carpet, peeling paint, holes in the wall, mold in the bathroom, threadbare carpet on the stairs - I could go on and on, but you get the picture... Don't be fooled by their website. You would think this is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the opera district. You would be right about the location but that is all.

Room Tip: Don't bother. There aren't any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s35pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is one of the small enterprises for budget visitors. It is small and they even not have the usual entrance space. I spend there one night only being caught by problems with another hotel. I was nicely placed in the clean room with full functioning equipment. It was what I was there for.

Room Tip: Dont pretend for any special services - just rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Do not stay at this hotel! This is the type of hotel where I did not want to take off my shoes. I couldn't tell whether the carpet was gray or brown. Other than location, this hotel should be avoided even at 90 euros a night. The room is dark and dingy,despite facing the front of the hotel with French doors to the street. Be warned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Located close to L'Opera, Hotel Helder provided a convenient stay for a business overnight stopover in Paris. 5-stars it is not but somehow they shoehorned 22 rooms into 6 floors into this little side street hotel. We stayed on the 6th floor which is in the roof, served by a lift. The room configuration was unusual, being constrained by the slopping roof and was pretty compact with little circulation space and odd windows. The bed was comfortable and all the usual mod cons were provided.

I did not stay in the hotel too long to comment further and will probably not stop over next time I visit Paris, preferring something a little more up market, but in Paris there is a shortage of hotel rooms sometimes and prices certainly reflect this.

Probably one more suited to a dirty weekend than a business trip!

Room Tip: Avoid 6th floor as it is in the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L3934FEsimonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Opera Vivaldi
Opera Vivaldi
#1,127 of 1,802 in Paris
113 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Chess Hotel
The Chess Hotel
#234 of 1,802 in Paris
353 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Richmond Opera Hotel
Richmond Opera Hotel
#961 of 1,802 in Paris
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
London Hotel
London Hotel
#1,045 of 1,802 in Paris
340 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
#1,505 of 1,802 in Paris
92 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Antin Trinite
Hotel Antin Trinite
#967 of 1,802 in Paris
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helder Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helder Opera

Address: 4 rue du Helder | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,167 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £74 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helder Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helder Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helder Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing