We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Paris on a budget”
Review of Hotel Helder Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Helder Opera
Ranked #1,135 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Central Paris on a budget”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The 9th arrondissement (around Opera) is tres chic a Paris. So if location is paramount, close to the best shopping districts and central Paris you wont find spacious rooms on a budget. I thought Hotel Helder Opera was a good compromise, clean and working, it looked threadbare and in need of a redecoration. But I was there only 2 nights for a some meetings in the 9th and wasn't prepared to pay top prices, the staff was friendly the a/c tried to work properly, the shower was ok, the bed was nearly very comfortable and the price was right

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alastairrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    48
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
24
54
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived and was greeted by the friendly staff. Absolutely loved the room. Little small but everything functioned. Beds were confortable and so clean. I didnt plan to stay in the hotel the whole day so it didnt bother me that it was small. I came to see Paris and I didnt need a spacious or fancy room. Tea and coffee making facilities, wardrobe with safe, complimentary bathroom toiletries, heating/cooling, gorgeous french styled windows, LCD tv, and comfortable beds. The room smelled clean and the bathroom was sparkling. Would definitely come back and stay jn this hotel. Location was great!

Helpful?
6 Thank Zen92
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N. Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Starting with the positive - this was a great location for all the tourist attractions but that is the only good thing. The hotel did not look like the rooms advertised. I found them small, cramped, DIRTY and way over price. I could not even walk around the bed, the carpet was so bad and it had lots of stains which was not pleasant. This was probably the worst place i have ever stayed which includes hostels when i was younger. Wish i had done a last minute search of hotels and gone somewhere else. There are better hotels for less. I will not return to this hotel

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Hooch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Cumbuco, CE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel's got an amazing location. Shops, restaurants and everything you need/want in walking distance.
However, the hotel doesn't look like the picture represent. The hotel is outdated. The quality of the beds are bad, the space in the room is extremely small en overall it just feels dirty.

I definitely wound't go back to this hotel and there are many other hotels in the same price range.

However, the people working there where very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randyhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel was in a great position but the overall decor was very poor.
The room smelt very musty like it had been flooded
The bathroom was very small with a bad odour coming from the drains
The hotel staff were very helpful
But I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flamonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We chose this hotel in order to stay near The Opera but it was a big mistake. It is really a hotel close to everything, but the rooms and bathroom are very , very tiny and old. There is no comfort to stay more than the sleep time. To make matters worse, during our visit, despite having asked for a quiet room, there was a reform in a building next to the hotel, with a horrible noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Where to start? Dirty carpet, peeling paint, holes in the wall, mold in the bathroom, threadbare carpet on the stairs - I could go on and on, but you get the picture... Don't be fooled by their website. You would think this is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the opera district. You would be right about the location but that is all.

Room Tip: Don't bother. There aren't any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s35pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Opera Vivaldi
Opera Vivaldi
#1,016 of 1,801 in Paris
86 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Richmond Opera Hotel
Richmond Opera Hotel
#926 of 1,801 in Paris
157 reviews
Opera / Bourse
London Hotel
London Hotel
#1,027 of 1,801 in Paris
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
The Chess Hotel
The Chess Hotel
#210 of 1,801 in Paris
319 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Excelsior Opera
Hotel Excelsior Opera
#568 of 1,801 in Paris
350 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Volney Opera Hotel
Volney Opera Hotel
#510 of 1,801 in Paris
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helder Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helder Opera

Property: Hotel Helder Opera
Address: 4 rue du Helder | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,135 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helder Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helder Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helder Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing