We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Paris”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #952 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was excellent. The room was large, the bathroom very modern. It was nice to have air conditioning on those hot August days. The people at the desk were always helpful and friendly. There were many restaurants and cafes within the block. The metro was very close and it was easy to get to and from the Gare Montparnasse.
I would go back there. And I would recommend it to my friends.
Just note that the elevator does not go to the street level, making it necessary to walk up the first flight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Parc
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights on the first stop of our 6 week tour around Europe. We were very pleased by our choice which we made after reading many, many TA reviews. The room was tiny, which is to be expected in Paris, but there was enough room for both of us and two very large suitcases. The bed was comfortable by our jet-lagged standards, though the pillows probably could have been a bit plumper. I was really pleased with the modern bathroom, including a HUGE walk-in shower with a waterfall shower head which was absolutely wonderful after a 30+ hour flight and long hot days walking around Paris. The room was air conditioned and was cool 10 minutes after turning the unit on.
As stated in other reviews, your bags do need to be carried up two flights of stairs to reach the reception, but there is a small lift from there. We didn't have any difficulty with this, being young and fit, but I don't doubt that others may find this challenging.
We decided not to eat breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants and boulangeries around where you can grab a couple of croissants and a coffee for €4.
The hotel is in a fantastic area. It is a 5 minute walk from Montparnasse train station which gives you access to 2 metro lines as well as RER and TGV train services. There are quite a number of restaurants around the hotel, we enjoyed dining in the local area every night. There is also a Monoprix store at the bottom of the street which is ideal for quickly purchasing anything you forgot to pack. Depending on your fitness and enthusiasm level, it is certainly possible to walk to many of the major attractions from the hotel; it took us about 40 minutes to walk to the Eiffel Tour.
The best discovery of all: the food market that appeared on the street behind the hotel (Edgar Quinet Blvd) on Saturday morning. I'm not sure if its a regular occurrence, but the variety and freshness of the food for sale was heaven for a Francophile foodie like me!
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for comfortable, clean, budget friendly accommodation in a central area of Paris. We will certainly return!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ConstantlyinAwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, only few stops metro from eiffel tower, lively location. Clean, modern rooms. Wifi. Only downside is check in at 2pm- no earlier then that! Was surprised but ok... Our room was veeeeery tiny also but staying 4 days was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel was a real find. Great value for Paris and a good location. The room was clean, turned over every day and had air conditioning. There was a safe in the room, plenty of plug sockets located where you could actually reach them and a luggage store. checkout is at 12.00 weekdays (11.00am at the weekend) which is good as I know some hotels where you have to be out of your room by 10.00am. I stayed in a superior single room which was actually a double room. Although it was probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in I thought it was plenty big enough. Two adults could happily stay in this room but if you wanted a cot or child bed in there I could see this being a problem ( I think the hotel might have family rooms though). I could also imagine you struggling if you had loads of luggage or massive suitcases. The bathroom was tiny but the shower was amazing. The hotel is conveniently located near two different metro lines and I was able to easily get around Paris. There is a shop called monoprix a stones throw from the hotel where you can get 1.5 litre bottles of vittel water for 0.64 euros, just be warned it doesn't open until 9.00am and is closed Sundays and public holidays. The hotel breakfast was 12 euros which I didn't buy but this was not a bad price looking at what some of the nearby cafes were charging. If you like a big breakfast or want convenience the hotel breakfast could be a good option (although I can't testify to the quality). If you are on a tight budget or don't want to eat a lot it is possible to get breakfast for much less by buying a croissant from a boulangerie (or from monoprix) or eating at the nearby shopping centre. Brasserie Gaite did a croissant, tartine, fresh squeezed juice and hot drink for 6.80 euros but they don't open until 9.00am.
I thought Paris was lovely and will go back again one day. When I do return I will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: My room was quiet and it was located at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What do you want from a hotel when you're on holiday? Somewhere cool, quiet, and comfortable away from the bustle outside. Hotel du Parc met this perfectly. The room was big enough for our needs, with an en-suite bathroom. Your basic features were there, including a TV, electronic safe, free Wi-Fi, and a nice powerful shower. Very clean, very modern. Job done. Bedding is changed daily, as are towels if you leave them on the floor. All I'd say about that is lock your door if you're not expecting to be out early; the cleaners might not knock!

The reception staff are friendly and seem to speak English just fine, but we spoke French most of our visit. Generally, people will appreciate if you try and speak the language. When you hand in your key card at the beginning of the day (as is their policy), try 'bonjour, voilà' ('good morning, here you go.') - simple and easy.

Location-wise, the hotel is slap-bang in the middle of the Montparnasse. As a result, you're going to pay through the teeth for food and drink if you don't stray outwards a little. However, two niceties we found were the Japanese restaurant nearby (difficult to miss), as well as the gelato parlour opposite the metro station (also difficult to miss).

Speaking of the metro, the hotel is very, very easy to reach. If you're coming from the airport, you need the €9.50 (ish) ticket which is valid for the entire journey. Take RER line B away from the airport (marked as Robinson or Saint-Rémy, usually) to Denfert Rochereau (around an hour), and change to the Etoile-bound Métro line 6 to reach Edgar Quinet (two stops).

Come out of the station, and go down the road to your left (so you walk past the gelato parlour on your right). The hotel is a right-hand u-turn about 30s down. Getting to most places is easy thanks to the proximity to Montparnasse station (walkable, if you don't want a one-stop first leg), and the Eiffel tower is in fact on the No. 6 line further in the direction of Etoile. If you can find a guide with a map of these lines, it'll be indispensible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_C_Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great location and great value. Area is lovely! The neighborhood is pretty residential and right next to the Montparnasse Tower. Tons of restaurants that are open late into the night. It's a great atmosphere. The metro is down the block with the bigger metro stop a few blocks away.

The rooms are a bit on the smaller size. The walls are thin so you will be able to hear everything that goes on. It shouldn't be a problem if you'll be sightseeing all day. One thing to note is that the hotel lobby is one floor up. It might be a slight struggle if you're carry a heavy and large luggage.

The hotel offers breakfast for a additional price. It's not necessary as there are tons of restaurants and bakeries in the neighborhood. There is also free wifi for all guests. The staff was okay, could have been a little friendlier. The hotel does ask you to hand in your room key whenever you step out. But most small hotels will ask that of their guests. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is a little gem! Rooms are spotless, beds comfy, staff friendly and helpful. Metro stop one block away. Major train station is down the side street. Restaurants are everywhere! They have AIR CONDITIONING. Nice breakfast for a small fee. Very quiet. Note: they are working on the street right now so parking is an issue. But we didn't have a car anyway. We loved the convenience of this hotel.

Room Tip: We had three rooms all on different floors. All were no e and all were quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
#963 of 1,803 in Paris
386 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#481 of 1,803 in Paris
335 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#546 of 1,803 in Paris
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Central Hotel Paris
Central Hotel Paris
#1,118 of 1,803 in Paris
441 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Apollinaire
Hotel Apollinaire
#985 of 1,803 in Paris
221 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#379 of 1,803 in Paris
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: 6 rue Jolivet, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #952 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £84 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Parc is located just opposite a lovely square , quiet in the heart of Montparnasse, a district authentically Parisian in a lively area night and day shopping . Montparnasse, Mecca of nightlife , with numerous theaters, cinemas, nightclubs within 5 minutes .In the neighborhood dozens of restaurants and cafes open late into the night . Montparnasse crossroads where cross many lines of bus and subway to go through Paris directly . Our contemporary 3 star hotel has an interior making a bold use of color , non- smoking rooms are air-conditioned , benefit from the canal sat channels , Canal + . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing