We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How does this get good reviews?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peace and Love Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peace and Love Hostel
Ranked #115 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How does this get good reviews?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Like most people who book here you hear some good reviews about the bar and atmosphere, how wrong was I. The reception doubles as the bar and dj booth which may sound cool but the room is that small I could pee from one side to the other which is what it smells like, the location is easy to find but way out of centre of Paris and even as quite a big guy doesn't feel like the safest area. I'm not usually to phased with beds or noise because hey it's a hostel. But the beds are a bit small and its right next to an ambulance centre and there seemed to be some gang throwing bottles all night, found the manager friendly and helpful enough but the other staff were very rude, and if my suitcase didn't stink there's nothing stopping people from street walking in and going thru it. Stay at st christophers instead!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forty6and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    50
    67
    69
    72
See reviews for
1
37
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hostel seemed to be a breathe of fresh air when we were researching; young and trendy, accommodations like wifi and small rooms (3 bed instead of 14). However, when we rolled in, it was in a slummy part of town, and our room #7 was on the SIXTH FLOOR. The room was purple and the windows opened, which was nice, but the shower was so tiny you could hardly turn, and made very loud shrieking noises when you used it, which wakes everyone in the room. The toilets are down the hall and *nasty*, reeking of pee and sprayed all over, resembling the metro. The bar is overpriced, and they didn't know basic drinks like a cosmo, margarita, or anything with more than 2 ingredients (although their pumps look fancy). Their "huge" beer selection is 4 on tap, a straight out lie. Some of the staff is nice, but one gent knows your tourists and messes with you just because he can, giving false directions and bad advice under the guise of sarcasm, but will let you walk off thinking he's serious. The first morning we had food stolen from the communal kitchen even though we'd had it tucked back in a far corner of the pantry and refrigerator, and later were told (when we came home late and wanted to make dinner) that we couldn't because someone had broken the stove and ruined it for everyone. Supposedly they have cameras, but they don't record so they're useless unless someone is actually monitoring them. They sort of let us grab something quickly to eat (after we were told everything was 24/7) but wouldn't let us up to the bar area, which is where they told us we HAD TO eat. So we ate in the stairwell like gypsies. The "free" Wifi is only 7-7, when everyone is out, and only works in the bar. The location is right across the street from the emergency station, so there are ambulances and firetrucks leaving, with sirens BLARING, right near your room at all hours of the day and night. Apparently there are a LOT of emergencies in this part of Paris. Really, we would have paid more for anything better. It seems good online, and when you get there you get questionable service, little sleep, and a shady existence.

Room Tip: Don't, go anywhere else. They all face the same direction and are waaaay high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

This hostel is directly across the street from the train station and not to far from gare du nord which is a plus. We stayed in a 3 bed mixed and thought the room was on the small side considering there was 3 of us. The shower head was full of limescale an the toilets did smell quite bad later in the day but were still usable. The beds however were nice and clean. The bar downstairs was a little pricey but it was nice all the same. The staff are friendly. Great if your staying a short while b

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itajai, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Good hostel for singles.. Small rooms, good location, excellent vibe! No breakfest, but very cheap diaries. There's also a walking tour from the hostel to the main locations of paris.
The bathroom is very small and there's no recreation areas, but the bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hostel itself was safe and the manager was very kind but in hindsight I would have stayed elsewhere. Incredibly small rooms. We had to climb on top of someone's bed to get to the bathroom. You had to know yoga to fit in the shower, which also didn't drain correctly so you had to shut the water off every three minutes to avoid flooding the bathroom. None of our outlets worked, not even the ones directly outside our room in the hall. I mentioned this problem twice and it never got fixed. They advertise "free wifi" as an amenity yet its actually only free from 7am to 7pm in their lobby/bar and nowhere else. Convenient for them since that is when the guests are out and about experiencing the city.

All of that was manageable, I think. Not ideal, but manageable for a hostel. The only reason I would not return was because the neighborhood Peace and Love is located is very unsafe. I felt uncomfortable walking to and from the (very close) metro stations by myself at night. They're safety precautions were absolutely necessary. Horrible area of Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Brilliant little hostel smack back inbetween the metro Stalingrad and Jaures. Extra friendly staff, trendy bar and clean beds. The batbroom facilities are a bit manky- but what gives!
Definately stay here- best and cheapest in Paris

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fantabbyabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Possibly the worst hostel in my entire 2 month Europe trip. Small rooms, 1 power outlet between 3 beds and was not working, I had to go downstairs at the bar to charge my phone. Extremely dirty and bed quality is poor. Pillow is squished and I came out of there with bed bugs bite on my entire arms and legs. NEVER GO HERE!

Internet is not free from 7pm - 8am you have to pay 3 Euros per 2 hours. Only 1 key per room so if you get in the room first you have to open the door for others even very late at night. In a slightly sketchy area, and the cost is the same as other hostels, Go to St Christopher's hostel down the road.. much much better than this terrible hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa_Isabel_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#11 of 155 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#33 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#8 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#32 of 155 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Arty Paris
#9 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Love Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Love Hostel

Property: Peace and Love Hostel
Address: 245 rue la Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , Entrepôt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Peace and Love Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Love Hotel Paris
Love Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing