We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Ranked #943 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quaint and just what we needed”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I traveled to Paris in September with my parents and we stayed at this hotel. We all shared one room, to cut down on cost, and although it was a tight squeeze with all of us in a triple room, Austin's was able to accommodate us at a decent price. There was a queen (I think) bed and a twin bed in the room and a small bathroom. The breakfast area downstairs feels like you're in a cave, but we liked the uniqueness of it. It was nice to have the breakfast included in our stay as we were up very early to sight see some days. There was a lot of construction around the area at our time of stay and we weren't as comfortable in the area at night, but it was easily walking distance to many different metro stops and there was a great shopping area near by, as well at the train station right across the street. We booked pretty late and would have liked to stay closer to the Eiffel Tower and other sights, but this was great for how late we booked and we got exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnsanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelaustins, Responsable relations clients at Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
We thank you for your coment . It helps us a lot to improve our service . The hotel has recently been renovated ; painting , bedding . The hotel is well located ; not far from a lot of subway stations . There is in St Lazare station a huge shopping center with 80 shops .
Do not hesitate during a next stay to give us your coment .
Best Regards

Amel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    117
    56
    16
    4
See reviews for
35
98
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel is a wee bit strange. My room was tiny but spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The breakfast room is an old coal cellar (I think) but again small and spotless.
The staff are very friendly.
If you are looking for luxury this is not the place for you but if you want a clean, honest hotel close to many of Paris' main attractions then this is the place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Well, ok, not exactly cheerful... And, on sec on thought, not that cheap. But you get the idea...
First of all, everything is tiny. I usually smile at the reviews saying "the room was too small, I couldn't fit all my luggage!" (well, how much luggage can one need on a trip?..), but in this case, rooms are REALLY small... (at leas those standard double ones). Yet, it should not be a problem, unless you are trying to have a conference in there. And they say it's OK for Paris, as everything seems to be small in there.
Unfortunately, I can't even say a good word in terms of cleanliness - I have definitely seen several bugs running around on the floor (or is it common in France?.. I really don't know, but hope not).

The breakfast is seriously limited (if you lucky enough to fit into the breakfast room). Seriously, there are no more than 10 tables (opposing to 36 rooms in the hotel), but you do have an option to have your breakfast in your room (I do suspect that means limiting your breakfast even more, though). But it should be enough anyways - Parisians are said to have light breakfast, and I do agree with them. Although, in that case, it might be a good idea to buy your breakfast in a store yourself, as they do charge a lot for what they offer.

Location is very nice. The hotel is located right next to the metro station, which happens to be right inside (under?) a shopping centre, including a grocery store. However, if you came to see Paris, I assure you that there will be no need in underground, as the walk to the city centre is not extremely long and you get to see a lot.

Unfortunately, there is no parking, but that is a common issue for Paris hotels. There is a multi-store parking nearby, but be sure to check the prices as it is rather expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here as it was good value and good position so close to opera and the grand magasins. Room was small but good value. Shower in bathroom was a bit of a miss as was reliable hot water. Drop off and pick up was a challenge as there was roadworks opposite the hotel and parking space was negligible. Close to take a walk down to the seine and see all the sights. staff were very helpful and breakfast included in the rate was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavahoSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here on our first day in France. We were super disappointed. The lobby area is tiny, and is several steps up from the street. It is a hassle to get your luggage in if there are other people in the lobby. The rooms are also very small and uncomfortable. Our particular room faced the street and it was very noisy. We were also disappointed with the location and the things around it. It is more of a business area - no interesting shops or restaurants nearby in my opinion. One plus -- it was right across from the Saint Lazare Train Station, which was very handy for an early departure to Bayeux the next day. Thank goodness we only stayed there one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

For me the plus points were the great location, very pleasant and helpful staff and the fact it was clean, well maintained and comfortable. Not so great was the noise from outside (although hardly the hotel's fault) and my extremely small room which made it hard to relax. Also breakfast was pretty poor and in a very small area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Well located in the central of Paris, directly next to St Lazare metro station. Very convenient hotel. Room is clean and housekeeping agent is very efficient, loyal and trustworthy.
Breakfast room is very small and very poor in terms of items. Room is very small, no restaurants, no facilites and no room service.
If you are looking to spend 2-3 nights in paris and most of your time outside the hotel, then this will be your aim. Prices are high.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddychahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 mi away
Phileas Hotel
Phileas Hotel
#503 of 1,802 in Paris
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
#833 of 1,802 in Paris
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
ATN
ATN
#741 of 1,802 in Paris
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#273 of 1,802 in Paris
534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
#1,570 of 1,802 in Paris
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,033 of 1,802 in Paris
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel

Property: Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Address: 26 rue d Amsterdam, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #943 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austins Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing