We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luxembourg Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Ranked #38 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dreadful customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

i am in the business of finding hotels for my clients so, evidently, i've seen both, good and less good. but this hotel disappoints most dramatically in customer service. if the owner ever reads this, i'd encourage them to review their staff's handling of the business. because some members of their reception staff are at the very core of not keeping clients in or worse, attracting [more] clients to this venue. forgetting to apologize when having a client find a frozen room in the middle of winter and after a long flight, debating on whether it was the client's imagination on the low temperature or not, rolling eyes over when inquiring if any problems with the internet connectivity, discussing the client's "imaginary" complaint on room temperature with another staff member in french--in front of the client, assuming the client did not understand the language--being given the receipt without even being asked if the stay was enjoyable or not... all part of how a hotel should NOT be run. shame. one pays no less than 270 euros a night to witness front desk staff turn the value of a hotel's business to nil.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank WorldEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    220
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
179
803
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. The hotel and room were beautiful and spotless. The staff was very friendly. It's in a quite spot across from Jardin Du Luxembourg.

The drinks were a little overpriced even for Paris.

We booked our room through the hotel's site and got the 4th night free.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WhollyHeretic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
286 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

We enjoyed our weekend stay in the Luxembourg Parc and think it deserves its four star rating.. The hotel is well located in the Latin Quarter, opposite the Senate and the Musée de Luxembourg, close to St Germain but several minutes walk from the nearest Métro. The immediate area is quiet.

This is a small hotel in many ways, a conversion of an old building. There are just 23 rooms, of varying sizes but generally quite small, and compact public areas. Our room was elegantly furnished in traditional style - including the original roof beams - and the only irritant was poor lighting (but not in the well equipped marble bathroom). There’s a library lounge, a bar, a fitness centre, an indoor courtyard, and a small breakfast room. There is no restaurant (but plenty of choice nearby).

The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the overall experience relaxing. The breakfast is a good compromise between American and French tastes. There is a public computer and free WiFi.

This hotel is a good choice for those who like their luxury understated and moderately priced for Paris. It’s certainly one of the best we have used in our many visits to that city. But it is small, a place for sleeping in rather than living in and probably better for a short stay.

Tip - avoid the Taverne St Germain, the worst restaurant we have encountered for a long time, anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

We stayed at this lovely hotel on our stop-overs to and from remote vacation destination. It is a very quite and tidy hotel, perfectly located for a relaxed city break. Our room on the way to destination was just fabulous - large, with a very nice bathroom; the one on the way back was much smaller. The hotel staff was very helpful and compitent, theirs recommendation for the restaurant was very good.

We will definitely stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank piiiiix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

We booked this hotel to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and checked trip advisor as well as the hotel website and the Lonely Planet guide.
The hotel, for us, was situated perfectly, close to interesting shops and a great selection of cafes and restaurants arounf the Luxembourg area and St Germain des Pres.
The hotel is small and very friendly. A lovely library (with a real open fire!) and bar. The room was very well appointed and very nicely furnished, with excellent bathroom facilities.
There were only two issues: firstly, our king sized bed had two single duvets, which was unusual. Secondly (and both of these things might common practice in Paris?), there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
Those issues apart, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to anyone, bearing in mind that it is not one of the cheaper places to stay!

  • Liked — Location, decor, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — No tea or coffee making facilities in room.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnandmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in September, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
We arrived a little early for the usual check in but were quickly and efficiently shown to our room.
The room was quite a reasonable size, very clean and tastefully decorated with period furniture sloping ceilings and beautiful french fittings in the bathroom,
The bathroom was marble and even though the shower was over the bath it was easy to use and the water pressure was good. The soap, shampoo and other products in the bathroom were french and of a very good quality.
The staff were nice and very helpful. On the day we arrived we were tired and hungry and the receptionist directed us to a restaurant just up the street which was excellent.
The location of the hotel was fantastic, just across the road from the beautiful gardens and only a short walk to Blvd. St. Michel and St. Germaine. Musee D'Orsay, the river Seine with the artists and souvenir sellers, Notre Dame and many other places of interest, shops and restaurants.
The metro and RER train stations are only a short walk away and easy to use once you get the hang of it.
Take the RER train to Versaiiles, it only takes about 40 mins and is a really interesting trip. The palace itself is unbelievable, you really have to see it and the grounds are huge.
We really loved the hotel and wished we had more time to spend there.

  • Liked — Location, ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JamesandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united states of america
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

We visited the hotel in July 08. We had to take 3 rooms since there we 5 of us-my wife and 3 daughters. We had requested the room on 2nd floor with the terrace.It was just perfect. The room was a little small, but the terrace was large and had morning sun. I was able to lay out in the sun every morning before starting our day. The hotel staff was great and the breakfast room very nice.The hotel is well located-with many restaurants, bakeries, cafes, etc nearby. We were able to walk to all attractions except Eiffel Tower. It is in a charming part of Paris with many little side streets to explore. I particularly enjoyed the Musee D'orsay-it has the most incredible collection of painting on the 4th floor-I could have spent an entire day there. I highly recommend this hotel to all-especially 1st time visitors to Paris. I also highly recommend Paris to all. We had a great stay!

  • Liked — eyerything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravelor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#22 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#25 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#80 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#39 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxembourg Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxembourg Parc

Property: Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Address: 42, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#23 Family Hotel in Paris
#29 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#77 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxembourg Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Luxembourg Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg Parc Hotel
Luxembourg Parc Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing