We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My wife, son and i found this hotel due to a nightmare experience in a hotel we had booked originally and were not prepared to stay another night. The receptions staff from the time that I called them to see if they had space to the time that we arrived at their front door were outstanding. We ended up in a prestige suite as this is all that was available and yes it is pricey but we had 2 massive rooms and the bathroom alone was the size of the previous hotels superior room. The facilities in the room were excellent with a cappuccino machine and a kettle there was a good selection of teas and coffees and the toiletries in the bathroom were high class. we stayed on a family package and breakfast was included in our room rate, the breakfasts were very good and the restaurant for evening meals was excellent, better than any of the other restaurants that we were referred to by the hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and no request was too much. We were within walking distance of the Champs Elysees and all the shops there, and the hotel assisted with booking of tours and dinner cruise which were excellent.

Room Tip: The prestige suites are expensive but worth every penny
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Having spent the night before across the road at the 4* California Hotel the Champs Elysees Plaza was a big disappointment. After the WOW facter has gone there is nothing left. The decor is stunning until you look carefully and the staff are very good at opening the front door but for two out of 7 nights our room was NOT serviced. The staff smile nicely but there is no sincerity in it. The amenitites in the room are poor. There is a kettle and teabags or coffee sachets at 2 Euros each but no milk and only one teacup, one coffee cup and some assorted glasses. No slippers or bathrobes and poor quality toiletries in this supposedly 5* estabishment. It is certainly not value for money and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room on the sixth floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSR541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aruchaud, Directeur général at Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear madam R, we recognized you....

Your inappropriate comments amuse no one else but you. Know that Tripadvisor is a serious website where only credible comments must be posted.
For the net surfers information who will read your comments in the future, it is necessary to specify that your stays with us are free (due to a contract binding us), that you are always welcomed with the same quality of service that any other guest is but in order to obtain gratuitously additional amenities and services , you ill-treat our staff on each of your stays and write untruthful comments on this website (twice already!)

Dominique Ruchaud
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed in a suite with my 2 children based on the great reviews. The room smelt very strongly of cigars, and with thin walls I was woken in the middle of the night for 2 nights by activity next door!!! The sofa bed was not put away for the stay, which is ok but reduced the size of the room.
Breakfast is nice, but they seem to run out of items, and not replace them. For the price I would stay at a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaguarMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aruchaud, Directeur général at Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment left on Trip Advisor as the feedback from our guests is always very precious for us in order to improve our quality of service and welcoming.
You have noticed that your room smelled very strongly of cigar and after investigations, it seems that your next door neighbor was a cigar “addict”! Rest assured that although we do not approve of this kind behavior, the French Law prevents us from interacting in the rooms. Indeed, in France, only public places and or common private areas are smoke free.
Regarding the sofa bed; the housekeeping service had up to date, instructions to leave the sofa bed open (unless guest request otherwise) for the hole stay to enable children to take a nap. Having said that, following other guests request, we have now decided to change our way of operating: the sofa bed will be open upon arrival during turn down service but will be made up during the day (unless guest request otherwise).
Regarding your experience with the breakfast; you are absolutely right, these types of inconveniences should not happen. The property running full at the time and despite the good will showed by the staff, they did not manage to satisfy everyone’s requests at the right time. We have taken all the appropriate measures to avoid in the future these problems.
We are really sorry and we apologies for the annoyances that you have encountered and still hope to be able to welcome once more.

Dominique Ruchaud
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The staff were unbelievably attentive, friendly, courteous & warm towards us. This was a welcome surprise as the Parisiens are known to be quite rude (especially to the English).

It turned out that The 'Suite' that we booked was NOT in fact a suite, (with a separate bedroom & lounge), but 1 decent sized room. It was on the top floor and had sloping walls - which I don't like as I'm quite tall & I'm 'all about the space'. We could see that the room had its charm & you either liked it or you didn't. The porter, totally unprompted, asked if we liked the room & I informed him that we weren't that keen on it.
He dutifully & cheerfully hooked us up with another one on the 2nd floor - which was much better & more stylish (with no less than 3 sets of French windows; each one with a mini balcony). The room was a little bit noisy, being much closer to the ground, but I got used to it. Besides, the hotel is 150 metres away from the Champs Elysees - so what did I expect !
I wasn't overly bothered by the 'Suite NOT being a suite' because I could see that it was still the correct square footage - as advertised on Expedia.co.uk

Lastly, the breakfast was really 1st class.
In summary; it was expensive - but you could see that the money was spent on high quality food, very well-trained staff & an excellent location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Absolutely fantastic hotel. Not only the BEST hotel I have stayed at in Paris, but probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in my life.
Pros:
- Excellent Location - one block from the heart of Camps Elysees, without the noise and traffic.
- Amazing staff. They go out of their way to satisfy you.
- Phenomenal Accommodations - I got a Junior Suite. The room had a King Size bed (a rarity in Paris), and a pull out couch (as big as a queen). The room decor was to die for; classic design, with modern touch.
Cons:
- The free breakfast was not par with the rest of the hotel. It was good, but not excellent.
-

Room Tip: Upgrade to Junior Suite.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked the Champs Élysées Plaza, partly due to the reviews but unfortunately it's missing rather a few of the special touches that should make up those five golden stars. We stayed in a suite with our two children and the hotel rang us prior to our arrival to check the ages of the children and to see if we needed anything in particular during our stay. The suite was beautiful with lots of elegant touches and the furniture was very in keeping with the over all look of the room. A beautiful bathroom with a deep free standing bath which was unfortunately dirty and in need a of good clean as was the floor to the side of the bath. We had to ring down to ask housekeeping to come and make up the sofa bed for the children and unfortunately it wasnt put away during the rest of our stay, which defeated the point of having a suite as it just made the lounge another bedroom. We also had to ask for another pillow as there was only one for two children. On our first morning we had breakfast in the hotel, we had to ask for plates and glasses as there were non and then when the waiter brought some they were used up instantly as everyone was waiting for them. The continental breakfast was nice and there was a good selection available but the two members of staff were rushed off their feet and unable to stay onto of things which was a shame. We called housekeeping for some cups as there weren't replaced from the evening before but an hour later I had to call again. The hotel is in a great location but there was rather a lot of noise during the night from outside. It's a beautiful hotel and we did have a great time however the finishing touches and detail which make a fantastic hotel were missing.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank FamilyFrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aruchaud, Directeur général at Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you appreciated our property even if we regret that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations.
Regarding your experience with the breakfast and room service; you are absolutely right, these types of annoyances should not happen. Our establishment being fully booked at the time, despite the good will showed by the staff that you noticed, they did not manage to satisfy everyone’s requests at the right time and we would like to apologies.
Regarding the sofa bed; the housekeeping service had up to date, instructions to open the sofa bed upon arrival during the turn down service and then leave it open (unless guest request otherwise) for the reminder of the stay to enable children to take a nap. Having said that, following other guests request, we have now decided to change our way of operating: the sofa bed will still be open upon arrival during turn down service but will be made up during the day (unless guest request otherwise).
We sincerely hope that this change in organization will contribute to a better satisfaction for our guests with children
Finally, we are happy that enjoyed your bathroom which was designed with new materials and French classic old style items such as the deep free standing bath and tiles that are both antic. Therefore, what you thought was dirt was simply the patina left by the years.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family once more during your next trip to Paris.

Dominique Ruchaud
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break.All of the staff made us feel very welcome and seemed to go out their way to make sure we had a pleasent stay.We had such a relaxing time, the room was lovely and so quite at night.When we visit Paris again we will be staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#129 of 1,804 in Paris
338 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#45 of 1,804 in Paris
1,086 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Bradford Elysees - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel

Address: 35 rue de Berri | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#62 Business Hotel in Paris
#64 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £250 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Hôtel Champs Élysées Plaza is an exclusive Haussmannian-style mansion located in the Champs-Élysées district. Most of the rooms feature a spa bath and a marble fireplaceThe spacious guest rooms feature high ceilings and stylish furnishings. Each soundproofed room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a Nespresso coffee machine and a CD player. The private bathrooms have an art-deco design.The Hôtel Champs Élysées Plaza features a spa Sothys with sauna and hamman, as well as a fitness centre. Guests can use the hotel’s library, and free Wi-Fi access is available.The restaurant "Le Keller" at Champs Élysées Plaza is elegantly decorated with a chandelier and has a skylight, where a buffet breakfast is served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champs Elysees Plaza Paris
Hotel Champs Elysees Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing