We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parisian Chic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Parisian Chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel in a suit with our 8 yr old daughter. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful during our stay. The room was clean, tidy and wel stocked. Our daughter especially enjoyed the complimentary chocolates and macaroons. This is a very comfortable friendly boutique hotel just off the Champs Élysées. If you are expecting the 5 stars of the Athene or Four Seasons you will be dissapointed however if you want great service, excellent comfortable rooms and typical Parisian style even down tto the traditional caged lift then this is the hotel for you. We will definitely be back as my daughter loved the staff, hotel and traditional Parisian style.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suit with our daughter extremely comfortable bed, sofa bed made up and turned down wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWindsorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    108
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
100
322
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Beautiful one bedroom suite, with lovely bathroom and ultra-comfy beds. Perfect décor. Cannot fault the customer service - the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Good value. Conveniently situated. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rg2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Having booked a last minute trip to Paris on a Friday evening at 8pm and literally travelling across with the car in the EuroTunnel at midnight, we chose the Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel over other hotels (which were offering much better deals), as we wanted to have something special. We booked this via our trusted travel agent, but also checked out the hotel on their own website along with the reviews on Trip Advisor.

We arrived just before 6am on the Saturday morning after delays with the EuroTunnel and were understandably tired. The hotel was locked but the night porter was very quick to open up. Check-in was a little lengthy, but we presumed it was because there was only one member of staff doing it (said night porter). We asked if the car would be okay/free in the street parking and were told that we should park in the hotel car park. It took another 15 minutes for the concierge to come and show us where the car park was. So check-in after travelling throughout the night by car took just over 30 minutes (a touch too slow for tired guests).

The room itself was a corner room on the second floor right above a cross roads. It was the "Junior Suite" which is quite obviously so advertised with a sofa etc. on their website. However, it only had two arm chairs in it, which seems to be the standard in a 5 star hotel? The room itself was quite large, but definitely not a suite. The TV at the other end of the room was teeny tiny and squinting was part of the program when sitting in bed. Unfortunately, the previous occupants of the room must have been smokers, as it smelt of cigarettes, but we were far too tired to even consider asking to be moved. So we just rolled into bed with the windows open for some fresh air (downside was the traffic outside).

The bed was a nice size and comfortable. The bathroom was fairly small with a shower, a separate toilet and a bath, which double up as a "jacuzzi" (although it really was just a bath). Disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom - finding other people's hair wasn't too pleasing by the sink and in the bath. Towels were lovely and thick, along with the bath robes provided.

I think the clear downsides of the hotel room was that everything seemed to be charged for. 2 Euros for a tea bag, 2 Euros for a coffee, around 12 Euros for cashew nuts, 7 Euros for a small can of soft drink... the list continues. There was no complimentary shaving kit in the bathroom, but was provided when requested. Same goes with the lack of a trouser press or an iron in the room, however that was also provided when requested. It is just a shame that in a 5 star hotel the tea and coffee in the room isn't complimentary. The entire hotel felt like it was just an excuse to charge you.

The breakfast room is a tiny little affair, with a feel like being in someone's dining room at home perhaps in a B&B (but much better decoration of course). The breakfast choice is very limited, but the service was absolutely shocking. There are only around 10 tables or so in this room and one waiter to cover them. Unfortunately, he was incapable of offering clean glasses upon our request, but instead proceeded to clear a table, offered his assistance to another table who requested orange juice and alas, got glasses out for them, filled them with orange juice and served it to the table. Whereas, we were still waiting for the glasses, so we could get our own orange juice. This didn't just happen to us but also other guests as the glasses kept running out (same as the juice, water etc.) but it went un-noticed. Eventually, a second waiter started helping, but they were still struggling to keep up.

Another gripe that I have with the hotel is that upon arrival, we asked if we could park on the road outside the hotel only to be told that we should put it into the hotel car park. Turns out upon checkout that parking in Paris is free for the whole month of August. Very frustrating to be told that at checkout when being handed the bill for the hotel car parking!!

Overall, the hotel has a homely feel to it as things are quite small and contained in the public areas (reception, tiny bar with 3 stools etc). It is very Parisienne with an excellent little traditional elevator to the rooms. Luxurious on the landings of each floor, but most certainly not the standard and service of a 5 star hotel when it comes to service in the restaurant.

The room was a disappointment because a suite normally means just that, not just a large room (especially when advertised with a sofa in the photos on the main website). It was rather unexciting after paying a fair amount for the two nights (of only really one was used as we arrived so very late the following morning). Perhaps the other rooms are better. I would not recommend this hotel, as there are much nicer 5 star hotels in Paris. Much better value for money along with better service available in other hotels.

This is a nice hotel, but not exhilarating and as luxurious as some other 5 star hotels. Service is somewhat slow and insufficient, everything is very expensive and if you stay this August (2013), remember, you can park for FREE on the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aruchaud, Directeur général at Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.
We can perfectly understand that you were tired when checking in and that 30 minutes before having your room does seem a bit too long. However, for a next stay, I would advise you to trust the doorman with your car as it has been proposed to you (it is a free service…); you would have thus had access to your room in less than 10 minutes.

Regarding your room, it is indeed not normal that it smelt of cigarettes or that the cleanliness of the bathroom did not seem perfect. As a result, we have already informed the housekeeping service who will take all the necessary actions to avoid that this type of incidents occur again.

You had booked a Junior Suite which seems not to have satisfied you. Our establishment contains 35 atypical rooms and Suites (and it is generally what guests appreciate in our hotel). Our hotel website though, does give a very precise description of our rooms and different pictures of our Junior Suites with sofas (that we book in priority for families) and those with armchairs, and we are very sorry that you still seem to be misled. Furthermore, they all have Jacuzzis (tubs with water and air jet). The one in your Junior Suite is even part of the last generation that has on top of it chromotherapy. These bathtubs are very easy to use and it is generally for the delight of our guests but one must not hesitate to ask for advice at the front desk if one does not know how to use it (which seems to have been your case).

About the annex services, Indeed, coffee, tea and items form the mini-bar are charged for (like in a majority of hotels) and we equally supply upon request amongst others shaving or dental kits or even an iron if necessary (but our guests usually prefer to leave their ironing to our housekeeping service).

As for breakfast, I can only deplore the time you had to wait and for which our food and beverage manager has been immediately informed. Sadly, there was a rush of orders (in the breakfast area as well as in the rooms) at the same time, which explains that you had to wait but does not excuse it. Our staff is nevertheless very concerned and professional and rest assured that they do their best to satisfy everyone during these moments of rush.

Finally, parking is indeed free in Paris during August but we always advise our guests to leave their car in the car park. As a matter of fact, Paris is not London and degradations on vehicles (particularly top range vehicles) are unfortunately rather regular. I believe that should your car have been damaged in the street, you would have probably blamed the hotel (with good reason) for not advising you to put your car in the car park.
We nevertheless hope that you have had a nice weekend in Paris and made the most of the pleasures and delights of our lovely city.

Best regards.
Dominique Ruchaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

An absolute gem! This hotel has mastered the art of hospitality. From the tiny details in each room, to the bathrooms, to the breakfast and bar areas... No detail has been spared, nothing is missing, and nothing was over looked. The staff are incredibly helpful and genuinely sincere in their intent to help. Other hotels should learn from this little boutique about the art of hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDAK-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unknown
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We are a family of four who stayed in the prestige suite on the fourth floor, having stayed previously 3 years ago. We enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from the minute we walked in to the moment the bell hop closed the taxi door which took us to the airport. My daughter enjoyed the free chocolate which waited for her every night, my son will always remember the lady on the third floor in the building whilst my wife and I couldn't ask for a better start to the day with the breakfast which we had every morning. We will definitely be back ... Soon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsung698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We are a couple with a 3 years old son who stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. What i can say is that this hotel is the best i have ever stayed !

My son love it
My wife is so happy
I am very pleased

- location : execellent (3 minutes walk to Champs Elysees)
- staff: all are friendly, helpful, respect their jobs, caring
- breakfast : high quality food and they will try their best to fulfil your special needs ( vegetarian, special requests from children

I cannot find anything that they need to improve ...i will stay in this hotel next time i visit Paris again. I will feel like visiting old friemds

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay in Paris. It's well located, the rooms are large,air-conditioned and nicely decorated, charming elevator and nice restaurant . Great breakfast. The staff are absolutly fantastic! Big smiles, and very helpful and friendly. Professional but not stuffy like some of the big name places.
Can't say enough good things about this place; exellent value too.
Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: 21 is a Junior Suite with a sofa-bed. Nice big bathroom with jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Bradford Elysees - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#144 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#34 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel

Property: Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
Address: 35 rue de Berri | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Paris
#59 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#61 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#62 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Hôtel Champs Élysées Plaza is an exclusive Haussmannian-style mansion located in the Champs-Élysées district. Most of the rooms feature a spa bath and a marble fireplaceThe spacious guest rooms feature high ceilings and stylish furnishings. Each soundproofed room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a Nespresso coffee machine and a CD player. The private bathrooms have an art-deco design.The Hôtel Champs Élysées Plaza features a spa Sothys with sauna and hamman, as well as a fitness centre. Guests can use the hotel’s library, and free Wi-Fi access is available.The restaurant "Le Keller" at Champs Élysées Plaza is elegantly decorated with a chandelier and has a skylight, where a buffet breakfast is served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champs Elysees Plaza Paris
Hotel Champs Elysees Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing