We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, but not quite 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
Ranked #89 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really nice, but not quite 5 star”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Not long back from a 5 night stay. Was my partners 40th & wanted to do something special for him. Booked the package that included breakfast & bottle of champagne. I emailed hotel ahead of us going,to ask if they could arrange a cake for him & was delighted when they emailed back to say this wouldn't be a problem & even got a choice of what cake I would prefer. I also emailed asking if possible for a higher up room with a view & was prepared to pay more if needed. I didn't get reply so assumed it would be taken care of. We arrived at hotel after 9pm & were shown to our room (on 2nd floor). I went back to reception to ask of they had received my email asking if there was any chance we could have a higher up room & although they had received it, we were allocated a 2nd floor room, however there were higher rooms available which I had a look at but had no view whatsoever so stayed with room given. I also expected champagne to be in room on arrival which would be expected but had to go down to reception & ask for it. Also on website, states each room has an expresso machine but ours didn't, although reception advised if we wanted coffee to call down & it would be delivered to our room, which we did on 2 occasions. Our room was actually really nice & had slight view of surrounding street.
They have a lovely cosy bar area just adjacent to reception, so on our way out on the second night, went in for a couple of drinks. Waited at least 10 mins before member of staff came in, & then handed us drink menus. Waited another 5 mins before we could order our drinks. Not on in a 5 star hotel :( All in all we enjoyed our stay, the breakfast staff ( in restaurant, we didn't have dinner in hotel) were lovely, (older gentleman & young girl) were really pleasant & looked after us really well. Reception staff seemed quite above themselves, didn't really welcome us whenever we returned to hotel or engage in conversation, always seemed to have something better to do, for example, talk among themselves, but the young guy on the door was a wee gem, always smiling. ( Sebastian take note, could learn a thing or too from this young man) can't really fault the hotel, its lovely & location is great, however, just felt something was lacking sadly. We were happy to pay 5* prices to enjoy a fabulous experience & expect to get what you pay for but at times, felt out of place by 'senior members of staff & reception. The hotel may want to challenge this by leaving their own comment which of course they are entitled too, but they can't argue with how we were made to feel sometimes. The morning before we left, the fire alarm went off, my partner & i were having long lie as night before was his birthday so stayed out quite late celebrating. Noise from alarm was deafning, got up, reluctantly, and went down to reception, where they ignored us. We stood on pavement outside hotel where it was freezing waiting for someone to advise us when ok to return to room. Another couple who had come down with us ended up going up street for a coffee while waiting. After a few minutes we came in to ask what was happening & got told it was coming from a guest room but we were free to return to room. No apologises or anything. We were only ones there & yet again felt staff could have been more helpful, they really couldnt have cared less. Really lacking in customer service.
Yes, they brought my partners cake up to us & we had room service for breakfast with complimentary glass of Buck's Fizz on morning of his birthday which we really appreciated & the male member of staff who brought it up was lovely, but still felt for what's meant to be a 5 star hotel we were left feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCEP, Directeur général at Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel Champs Elysees Plaza to Celebrate your partner’s 40th, and for having taken the time and trouble to write a comment about your stay with us.

I feel sorry about your experience with us. I can understand the feeling you had regarding the lack of consideration during the fire alarm that indeed went off at 11am and in general from the front desk. Though it is a first time for us, it is not acceptable. Our front of house manager has been informed and has reviewed in details with her team the importance of welcoming a guest, to follow up their requests and anticipate their needs. We are a boutique hotel of 35 rooms, which usually gives to our guests the feeling of being at home far away from home.

As for the Champagne. We are very sorry for this misunderstanding as we thought that you wished to have it at the same time as the birthday cake. That it is the reason why it was not in your room upon arrival. Once again, very sorry about that.

Finally, concerning the room you have been accommodated in, on your booking comments, you had indeed asked for a room with a view on the higher floor but the configuration of our establishment does not provide Executive rooms with street view on high floors. furthermore, the establishment was running full and we did not have the possibility to propose a different room type on the higher floors with street view. So we thought that the most important to make your stay unforgettable was to favor the street view over the higher floor.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, to provide them with a problem free stay and unforgettable. I am sorry that I did not have the chance to meet you during your stay, or being informed about the troubles you faced, I would have been more than pleased to act immediately, and personally take care of you.

Hoping that we will have the chance to welcome you again and let us show you our good standards and our true sense of hospitality,

Kind regards,

Dominique Ruchaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    117
    26
    11
    8
See reviews for
105
347
38
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband booked the best suite in this hotel (Prestige Suite) for our wedding anniversay. We are at that time of our lives when we can spoil ourselves and we have stayed in lots of 5* hotels around the world. Unfortuntely although the hotel is lovely, it did not live up to our expectations. Our stay started very well with us being picked up from the airport by a pleasant driver in a brand new Mercedes, and we received friendly and helpful assistance from the front desk, albeit we had to wait longer than expected for our room. The suite is spacious and nicely decorated. It would have been nice, considering the price we paid, to have had more than a single rose and a small box of macaroons to welcome us. In the Far East they give you flowers and a fresh fruit bowl each day at least.

We were looking forward celebrating our anniversay with a meal in the new restaurant. The Sommelier and main waiter were very friendly. Unfortunately the waitress who took our order was not. She was very condescending and unhelpful when we asked what the side dishes were, implying because we were English we must want pomme frites.

There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room but be aware: there is no milk or creamer and when I asked for some from reception they were reluctant to help, eventually they said they would contact housekeeping but it never arrived before our breakfast turned up, also when you check out you will be charged EUR2 for each tea bag you use!

We still enjoyed our stay and we are not demanding people, but to be honest we have had better customer focus from other hotels we have experienced. I suspect though that as they essentially have a captive clientele they feel they don't need to 'go that extra mile', which is a shame.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCEP, Directeur général at Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our establishment for your stay in Paris and are delighted that you enjoyed the spirit and facilities of our hotel. Nevertheless, it is important to us that our guest keep an excellent souvenir of their stay with us and we are sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. To this effect, rest assured that our teams always do their utmost to make sure that this is the case and your feeling regarding the food & beverage has been immediately reported to the manager of the said department in order to perfect our welcoming as well as the timing in serving.
Regarding the amenities, you benefited of a welcome with a fresh flower and Macaroons from Ladurée. If standards of a 5 star hotel vary little from one to another, the amenities offered can be different from a hotel to another, from a country to another or even from a continent to another like Macaroons Ladurée and chocolates in our establishment (typically French) and/or basket of fresh fruits and/or fresh flowers in other hotels and/or other countries.
A wedding anniversary must always be a magical moment and we were not aware that this was the reason of your stay, otherwise, our booking department would have been very happy to propose our package “la vie en Rose” specially conceived for honeymooners and wedding anniversaries and including amongst others, breakfasts, a VIP welcome with rose petals on the bed, a bouquet of fresh roses and a bottle of Champagne rosé for an unforgettable stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Champ Elysees is a beautiful hotel located in the center of Paris shopping. The staff was so helpful and treated as with warm hospitality. We also ate at the restaurant one evening and it was AMAZING! We enjoyed our entire expereince.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked the "Mona Lisa-Discovery of Paris" package through the hotel website. I had arranged through the hotel for airport transport and we were greeted by Mr. Sri, who assisted with the luggage and transported us to the hotel. Mr. Sri was also our driver for our trip to the Palace of Versailles and the return trip to the airport. I would like to say that Mr. Sri does his job well. The staff at the hotel was also very good, they arranged dinner reservations and for our transport. Now to the Hotel... We arrived early on the 21st and were greeted right away by the friendly and helpful staff. Much to our surprise the room was ready, which we appreciated. Our four night stay with the package was to include: Accommodation in Junior Suite with Jacuzzi, daily plaza breakfast, museum and monument pass, 10% discount at Galeries Lafayette, VIP treatment: Hermes guest amenities and Godiva chocolates, free access to the spa and sauna, and high speed internet access.
The room was clean and had adequate space. The bed was not comfortable, it sloped from the middle of the bed downward. There was also a constant noise that sounded like something was dripping (almost like a clicking sound). We were on the third floor so the noise from the street was quite loud.
We only had breakfast two of the four mornings. The breakfast was good and there was a decent selection.
Museum Galeries 10% discount is available to EVERYBODY, all you have to do is go to their website and print out the discount.
As far as the VIP treatment, EVERYBODY gets Hermes in their bathroom and chocolates on their pillow (only if the chocolates were two out of the four nights).
The museum and monument pass was great and saved quite a bit of time.
With the internet and spa access EVERYBODY gets that too.
I should not have booked the package. I would recommend to book a room and then purchase the museum pass separately, it is a better value.
To quote P.T. Barnum "there's a sucker born every minute"...This time I was the sucker.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCEP, Directeur général at Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor .
We are sorry that your stay did not seem to match your expectations, though after reading your comment it seems that you’ve enjoyed the quality of our welcoming and equally enjoyed what you had in your package . Regarding the elements of your Mona Lisa Package, it seems that you have been misinformed on some points. Indeed all our customers have access to the SPA and to free Wi-Fi. However we can confirm that all of our customers do not have the VIP treatments such as chocolates, Hermes guest amenities or/and Early check in upon availability (which was your case since you were able to access your room at 8:00 am) .... As for the price, it is calculated at a fair rate to include daily breakfast and Museums Pass (Pass for 4 days in your case) which is very attractive. You have of course the opportunity to take the room on one side and to pay your breakfast apart, buy the Museum Pass on the other side and print your discount Galerie Lafayette (only for foreigners) , but more than a waste of time, this is a waste of money.
We are so sorry that you felt that our Package was not a good deal but rest assured that the principle of the package is not only to provide an all in hand solution thus saving you time but equally to provide you with exclusive benefits at a more attractive rate rather than purchasing each service separately which is the case with the Mona Lisa package.
We hope that these clarifications will have given you a better understanding of the philosophy of our packages in general and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon with a different package . To this effect, we would recommend the Wellness Package (including a massage for deep relaxation and easing off) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely hotel, perfect for a special weekend away from normality! Excellent service from every member of staff. Very smart interior in main areas & rooms - we got upgraded to the Premier Suite which was a lovely surprise. Delicious hot chocolate at breakfast in the small & excellently serviced restaurant. Quirky, old fashioned tiny lift, like you see in the movies! Great location for discovering Paris on foot - we walked everywhere, visited the Musee D'Orsay (pre-booked), walked round the outside of the Lourve, investigated St Germain, tested the cafe culture at Les Deux Margot's & went up the illuminated Eiffel Tower at night. We travelled by Eurostar. Would definitely stay here again, even without the upgrade.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Premier Suite! I'm sure all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Familyontour4of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had been looking for a great hotel to spend our anniversary in Paris and chose this hotel. It is a small hotel ideally located near the Champs Elysees. The welcome from the staff was very friendly and inviting. They would speak to us in either French or English depending on how we initiated the conversation - we really appreciated that respect. Because it was a special occasion, we received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite that was stylish and elegant. The breakfast was excellent and the service was impecable in all ways.The old fashioned elevator was a hoot!

This hotel is not inexpensive but was well worth the cost for a special occasion. We will always remember our special stay there and would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel with only 35 or so rooms. Any one of them would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dccv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I switched last minute to this boutique hotel making my reservation the day before we arrived. The reservation and front desk staff were very helpful. The hotel was what I had hoped for in terms of being something special for our first trip to Paris. We were in awe of the beauty of the lobby, rooms and bathroom. The Junior Suite was large and perfect for the twin bed and sofa bed we needed for the three of us. The bathroom was spectacular and we enjoyed the Hermes toiletries and chocolates on the pillow. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, coffee superb and was even delivered via room service the morning of our very early departure. I hope to have the opportunity to return again very soon!

Room Tip: Our Junior suite faced the interior with the bathroom window on the street side. This made for a ve...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jkk12141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#106 of 1,800 in Paris
332 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#22 of 1,800 in Paris
618 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#32 of 1,800 in Paris
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel

Property: Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
Address: 35 rue de Berri | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#62 Business Hotel in Paris
#72 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Hôtel Champs Élysées Plaza is an exclusive Haussmannian-style mansion located in the Champs-Élysées district. Most of the rooms feature a spa bath and a marble fireplaceThe spacious guest rooms feature high ceilings and stylish furnishings. Each soundproofed room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a Nespresso coffee machine and a CD player. The private bathrooms have an art-deco design.The Hôtel Champs Élysées Plaza features a spa Sothys with sauna and hamman, as well as a fitness centre. Guests can use the hotel’s library, and free Wi-Fi access is available.The restaurant "Le Keller" at Champs Élysées Plaza is elegantly decorated with a chandelier and has a skylight, where a buffet breakfast is served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champs Elysees Plaza Paris
Hotel Champs Elysees Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing