We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An original meal in Paris”
Review of La Bonne Excuse

La Bonne Excuse
Ranked #20 of 16,971 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: new restaurant
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An original meal in Paris”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Tucked in a small street near the Seine River, la Bonne Excuse is a perfect restaurant if you're looking for a quiet restaurant with original food. The foie gras, served with fig flavored bread was excellent. The monkfish with fennel and strawberries as well, with the strawberries bringing some welcome acidity to lift the dish. The fennel, a mix of cooked and raw could have been minced a little thinner, not for the flavor itself, but to make it easier to eat. The chocolate cake, a real fondant was delicious. The food is made locally and it shows. A see-through window over the kitchen is also interesting.
Very nice service, friendly, but not overly so. All in all, an enjoyable evening in a frie^ndly place. Perfect for a romantic evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank French_Traveller_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    84
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Intimate, Friendly, Suburb”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently enjoyed a wonderful meal at La Bonne Excuse. The couple that own and run this restaurant are friendly and welcoming. It is a small place close to Musee d Orsay in the 7th arrondissement. We had the cod with lemon marmalade and it was delicious. Recommend this restaurant for quality food in a warm atmosphere offered at a fair price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificHeights7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great little authentic French restaurant”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We dined Here after reading reviews , and we are glad we did. The restaurant has only a front of house lady who is also the waiter who was very friendly and helpful . Her recommendations were accurate. The kitchen is viewable from the dining area and you can watch the chef and his assistant prepare your meals. The food was fresh and cooked perfectly . The Apple tart looked amazing ,shame I didn't have room to fit it in. I would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Jasonkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful Meal with Gracious owners, Chef and Staff”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Chef is from Spain, his wife, the manager, is from Paris and the food is out of this world.
Don't miss the Foie gras and the Apple Tart with hot Caramel sauce! This is a small place on a quiet street in the 7th with an unpretentious staff that will help you with items on the menu, especially if your French is rusty or non existent. We have been here for a month and considering the price, quality, presentation and artistry of the chef, it ranks very high on the list of excellent meals we have had on this trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Special experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were in Paris for a 'special' birthday celebration with four other friends. The restaurant, that I had booked several weeks earlier, while still in Australia turned out to have changed considerably and not for the better, so the hunt was of for somewhere else. Well, it turned out to be right under our noses - literally as we were staying on Rue de Verneuil, 07 and La Bonne Excuse is on Rue de Verneuil - just behind Musee D'Orsay.
We went in a few days earlier to look at the menu and the female proprietor was very friendly and it transpired it was HER birthday the same day as mine - so we booked a reservation.

She arranged for the table at the window and was very warm and welcoming. The menu is not broad, but there is something for everyone. I had the pate to begin with and it was amazing. We ALL loved our meals - and there were a couple of fussy eaters there. The food was served with edible flowers and the plates were a work of art in themselves. The wine list is not extensive but again, has something for everyone and most budgets.

The finale was, I hadn't ordered dessert, but Madam dimmed the lights and brought out an amazing small chocolate 'bombe' with the largest sparkler I've ever seen and my friends sang happy birthday - followed by the other patrons - in French.

The restaurant is run by the lady and her husband, he is the chef. They have one other person in the kitchen, so the food is very personal and beautifully prepared and offered. This couple LOVE their food and it shows in the beautiful pairing of tastes.

It is necessary to make reservations, and make sure you are a little more dressed up than board shorts and trainers, it is a subtly classy place without being snooty.

Bon appetite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bonne Excuse also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Bonne Excuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing