We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food. Wonderful Staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bonne Excuse

La Bonne Excuse
Ranked #18 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food. Wonderful Staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

On the advice of both French and American neighbors here in Paris, I went to this charming restaurant earlier in July with two others. We all live in different major cities in the US , love to cook and are used to good restaurants. La Bonne Excuse was everything we expected it to be and more. The co-owner couldn't have been more charming and accommodating with excellent food and reasonably priced wine suggestions. In English, which was a help to the others. The foie gras which is one of their specialties was melt-in-your mouth delicious. As one guest said, "This foie gras raises the bar". It's better than any I've had in NYC or Chicago". Everything was superb, but the codfish and apple tart dessert deserve special mention. I hope to return again soon and will certainly recommend La Bonne Excuse to other friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    82
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having arrived in Paris tired and not wanting to travel far from our hotel, but looking forward to a nice dinner, we happened upon a review of La Bonne Excuse and decided to try it. We were so glad we did! The room is lovely, the food superb, and the service gracious. Don't miss this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler4life59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly small restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I think that you need to get to this intimate and friendly restaurant very soon as it's a real gem. We were warmly greeted by a very hospitable hostess, who spoke charming english. The food was beautifully balanced with a great depth of flavour.The apple tart is something not to be missed, order early as it takes time to make and well worth the wait. There's also a very reasonably priced wine menu and the hostess will help you choose from it.
All in all, this is why so many people come to dine in Paris.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobnettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure who the recent negative reviews were referencing... The experience with the service here was top notch. The waitress/co owner was very helpful, informative, attentive and focused on ensuring everything was perfect.

Highlights included langoustine app, beef filet entree and the popular apple tart dessert. Presentation was beautiful. Prices were in line with quality.

Only criticism was the temp in the restaurant. If visiting on a warm day, do not expect to cool down here!

Helpful?
1 Thank Naboozal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a poor experience at Le Bonne Excuse. We chose the restaurant based on Trip Advisor's high rating and although the food was good, we were appalled by the poor service. The hostess/ waitress was extremely rude to us ,lecturing us about our desire to order appetizers and deserts and other topics. She humiliated us in front of the entire restaurant. We went to several excellent local restaurants on our trip and saw locals ordering appetizers/deserts. There is something strange about walking into a traditional french restaurant and seeing only tourists and then, being treated poorly because you are a tourist! The food, as reviewed by others, was good but with so many choices in this amazing city, why would you choose this one?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bonne Excuse also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Bonne Excuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing