We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place to stay if you're over 80 and don't want to have any fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Muguet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Muguet
Ranked #156 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“place to stay if you're over 80 and don't want to have any fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We were three sisters and assorted adult children (mostly male). The reception we received when we arrived at the hotel was cool to put it kindly. There were no smiles, there was no warm welcome, and there was a lot of annoyance with questions we asked. Our sons range in age from 19 to 26 and there were 5 of them. Apparently, the hotel does not wish to have young, lively people staying with them. Wish we had known that before we booked.....instead, once we arrived we were told that it was a "quiet hotel" and made to feel that talking at normal decibel level was just too loud. Eventually, we felt that we were walking on eggshells and whispering was as loud as we should speak. We couldn't stay together in a room to talk because the people around us told us we were too loud. We couldn't sit in the lobby to talk because - you guessed it - too loud. How do 9 people talk quietly??? (honestly- no one was shouting, but we were not dead....because that would probably have been quiet enough for them....) We were on a family vacation and were not able to hang out together in the hotel as a family. Not that we wanted to have a party - just a few glasses of wine and sharing stories about our day. It was a huge disappointment to be treated as the 'ugly Americans' when we were paying for 4 rooms for two nights. We are used to being treated much better in most hotels (believe me, we are NOT demanding- we tend to be afraid to ask for anything....). As for the rooms - they were noisy (NOT from our noise since we had been silenced)- the first night I heard the people above me up all night stomping around. The rooms were tiny as well. They were acceptable for a European hotel. We had stayed in several other hotels in Italy and had never been treated as rudely. I believe the reception staff would have been much happier if we had stayed somewhere else - and so would we......it was a disappointment....so many more incidents to add to this but I think you get the picture....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjMomandaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetmanager, Propriétaire at Hotel Muguet, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Dear Guests,

thank you to have taken time to add your comment.

We are sorry if you took our remarks so but it is of our duty that each of our customers are welcomed in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere.
Some guests complained to our staff that you made too much noise at a late hour of the evening, it was thus completely normal that our colleague asked you to speak less loud for the good of all.

We hope that you will understand our point of view.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards.

The Manager of Hotel Muguet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    503
    72
    13
    11
See reviews for
296
555
80
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

I'm so glad I picked Hotel Muguet for our stay in Paris. Very charming, perfect location -- five minute walk to Les Invalides, two minutes to the touristy Rue Cler. Very quiet....barely any street traffic. Lovely room, comfy bed. The AC was much appreciated after a long day of taking in museums and so much walking. The staff was really the best -- professional and friendly.

It's not easy to choose a hotel by looking online -- I chose Hotel Muguet based on ratings from other travelers. So glad I did! My husband and I are looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarieClaireetKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Husband and I stayed here for 6-29-2010 to 7-1-2010 prior to heading off to Barcelona to go on a Mediterranean cruise. Our flight got in aorund 11am and we were at the hotel by noon. Despite being early, our room was ready. We had a large corner room and had a magnificent view of the Eiffel Tower. We were able to walk to to the Tower in about 10 minutes, and there are 2 metro stops near the hotel. It is within walking distance to Les Invalides and La Rue Cler is right around the corner, with wonderful cafes and boulangeries. Had fresh crepes or croissants every morning for breakfast on Rue Cler. The room was clean, and large for what I expected in Europe. Only thing was bed was a little hard for our liking, but you can´t please everyone in that department. Free WiFi was nice too. Quiet in the hotel and surrounding area. Would hope to stay here again if we make it back to Paris someday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

My 15 year old son and I stayed here for four days in June and had a wonderful time. The room was nicely sized (considering this is Paris), and so was the bathroom. Our room faced the courtyard, so it was very quiet. The breakfast was more than sufficient (cold cuts, eggs, yogurt, cheeses, breads, fruit). Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was excellent--1 minute walk to great shopping, 2 minute walk to Metro, easy walking distance to Eiffel Tower. Lovely ground floor sitting room with free internet access.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling14Mariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Our family was very comfortable at the Hotel Muguet and would definitely stay there again. Our triple (a true triple with a comfortable extra bed) with the Eiffel Tower view was roomy, clean and comfortable - hard to beat at any price. The neighborhood was appealing, convenient, and quiet, in the shadow of several major sites. For breakfast eaters the large fresh buffet is fairly priced. For the others, there are several options, including Le Notre, around the corner. As we needed to do laundry there (the public laundrymat is not far from the hotel), I had the privilege of wandering around the neighborhood aimlessly for a couple of hours, and the typically dreaded vacation task became a joy! We also very much appreciated the welcoming and very helpful staff, who cheerfully helped us resolve a few travel snags.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkgsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Great location with shops and restaurants nearby. A quite street perfect for resting after a busy day touring the city. Close to the Metro. Rooms were clean, staff was freindly and spoke English.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrfootball2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We just returned from a week in France and a week in Italy.
We stayed at Hotel Muguet for three nights. It was a peaceful place to stay with a great location - very close to restaurants and shopping and the Metro. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnKseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Empereur
Hotel de l'Empereur
#243 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#137 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#62 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#64 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#125 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muguet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muguet

Property: Hotel Muguet
Address: 11 rue Chevert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Business Hotel in Paris
#191 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muguet 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Muguet takes its name from the French for lily-of-the-valley, a theme reflected in the hotel's yet refined decoration. Located between the Eiffel Tower and the Invalides, our hotel is very charming and parisian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Muguet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muguet Hotel Paris
Hotel Muguet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing