We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Aurore
Ranked #1,284 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Rochester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I booked this hotel because it was the only one available through Wyndam which I have a timeshare with and all other hotels were booked.

Pros- We were able to get a room with a double bed, we thought we were getting 2 twins.
Front desk help speak excellent English and are very nice
24hr. front desk
Sm. safe in the rm.
Good location for the train and tour bus pickups.
Coffee, tea, water boiler, hair dryer, body wash/shampoo
Old elevator

Cons- We had no help with the luggage, we had 3 suit cases, 2 backpacks and a car seat.
Rm. was tight, maybe 10x9. It was me,my husband, an a child. There is NO way you could fit another person, even if they were sleeping on the floor. We moved one of the night stands and pushed the bed up against the wall just so we could move.
We had a TON of little black fruit flies in the rm.
You have to leave your rm. key at the front desk, which made me a little nervous that something could be stolen. One night we were unable to get into the rm. with the card, and after multiple tries they took the card lock off and gave us a key instead. And they were sending someone in to fix it the next day while we were gone, we were not happy about that and asked if they could wait. They said no.
We went to have breakfast an saw that there really wasn't a selection at all, not to mention we waited 5 min. and never even saw an employee. So we left.
The air conditioning they control at the front desk, on /off and temp. (weird)
We asked that our rm. not be cleaned and they told us that the maids have to go in an check the items in the rm. and make sure we didn't leave the water on.
No ice ,or refrigerator
One English speaking channel on tv
On a busy street so its loud, and you can hear everything from the rms. next to you.
The lights in the hallways are on a timer or motion so they go off an your in the dark, until you find a switch.
The décor in the rm. was as if we were in the Caribbean, corals an yellows.(a little strange)

This hotel is basically a front desk, rms., and a dinning rm. nothing else. I would not spend a week here, maybe just a night.
Also on google maps it tells you it takes 20 min. to get to this hotel from the airport, it doesn't, it takes an hour due to traffic and lights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    102
    74
    40
    24
See reviews for
27
106
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Room was clean but small. Shower cubicle did not have a curtain and the drainage was slow so the floor flooded with each shower. Room was very hot. The Aircon did not work- we phoned down to reception at 10.pm and were told they would reset it. Several phone calls later we gave up and opened the window, the noise of the street was better than the heat. So not a good night. We were told on booking in we were entitled to a free breakfast, so we went down in the morning. A really pleasant surprise, excellent choice and very friendly waitress who ensured we had everything we needed. Then we were informed on checkout that we had to pay for breakfast as we hadn't booked directly with the hotel! However as the breakfast had been so good and Darius the duty Manager was so charming we decided not to argue!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel is 2 min opposite Gare de Lyon, great location, free wifi, coffee marking set (not often you have this in hotels in Europe), supermarket Monop is 3 min away, convenient to travel anywhere in Paris. Staff is good, speak English. A 3-star in Paris, means everything is smalleeeeer...Functional, but smalleeeeer. Breakfast is extra 12 euros, and if you want English breakfast.....15 euros. What do you think 15 euros can buy you in Paris??? Don't bother!

Some restaurants nearby, and if you are on a tight budget, next to Monop supermarket there is a nice little fast food/pizza place, with 5 to 15 euros you can fill your stomach nicely. Also a tavern close by, a water hole that serves meals too, 13-14 euros menu de jour - 3 courses, hey, the standard/quality can be disgusting for some....heheheh....you have been warned

I think the hotel is great value for budget travelers to Paris. You really can enjoy Paris reasonably with this hotel.

Room Tip: Get one with balcony, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roast_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence B, Propriétaire at Best Western Aurore, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
dear madam, dear sir, hello:)
Thank you very much for your kind message and your recommandation leaving on trip advisor, you also give good and right information about ours services and the shops around the hotel:)
There is only one thing wich i am very surprise and i will really appreciate you contact me about that: we only serve a hot buffet breakfast wich price is 12€ and not more! so, who ask you 15 € for an english breakfast??? the "plateau courtoisie " in your room is also free, so really i think it might be a misunderstanding, i am at your service, so if you read this answer and if you have the time, please contact me:) i am the owner: laurence BLOT.
I wish you a very nice trip and i hope meeting you again at your next stay in Paris:)
Kind regards from all of us,
Lauren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I traveled to France the third week of March 2014. Having been to Paris before, I intentionally booked with an American brand with the expectation that an American brand would provide a familiar experience and maybe, larger rooms. There were 4 people in my party and I reserved two rooms at the Best Western Aurore near to Gare de Lyon.

The good: 1.) The rooms were indeed larger than my previous trip to Paris. I was able to walk easily around the beds. 2.) The bathrooms were large by Paris’ standards. 3.) The daily room cleaning was adequate and the supplies replenished as needed. 4.) I had misunderstood the room descriptions so one of the booked rooms did not meet the needs of my party and the hotel changed the room the next morning without any fuss or additional fee. 5.) Location, location, location. Gare de Lyon was practically across the street with easy access to not only the Metro but also the RER trains that service the suburbs and airports. 6.) Beds were clean, comfortable and had plenty of linens.

The bad: 1.) Whenever we left the hotel, we had to turn in our room keys. Odd, but not terribly inconvenient, unless you return to the hotel and find the door locked and no one at the front desk. This happened twice, at night, and each time it took at least 5 minutes for the front desk person to return and let us in. During one of the lockouts, a maid came to the door, yelled something to us in French and then went on her way. We had to continue ringing the bell for another 3 minutes. 2.) The temperature of the rooms was too warm and the thermostats in the rooms did not work. When we asked as the front desk, we were told that the temperature was centrally controlled by the front desk and since it was still winter (spring was 3 days away), the system was set to heat and not cool, so we could not cool our rooms. We tried opening the windows, which worked during the day, but due to street noise, was not possible at night. 3.) The satellite cable system only had one English language channel, CNN International. An American brand should offer more English channels. 4.) The third morning of the stay the cable went out and did not come back on for the rest of the stay. When we inquired at the front desk, we were told “you are correct, the cable is out”. 5.) The “business center” contained a computer and printer – both were non-functioning. In order to print out something, it had to be emailed to the hotel and printed out at the front desk. 6.) Finally, this American brand hotel had no ice. Not only were there no ice machines, but the front desk told us there was no ice in the hotel, period. Since there were no in room refrigerators, there was no way to keep drinks cool.

An American brand should offer an American experience and should at the very least, have ice.

Room Tip: Rooms appeared to all be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipertrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before catching a train. Excellent location or station, restaurants and the river. Room was a bit small, but the price was very reasonably for Paris. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valenza, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed one night in room 101. Never again. The room was not heated and freezing. The curtains thin and light from the street prevent you sleeping. The room was so noisy it was like sleeping in the street. And wait for it. The bed was filthy. Human hairs and toe nails under the duvet. I tried sleeping in the bath. Save your money. Sleep on a park bench. Don't believe any reviews that say anything positive. Horrible.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#500 of 1,802 in Paris
884 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#961 of 1,802 in Paris
214 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#1,488 of 1,802 in Paris
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#592 of 1,802 in Paris
320 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,125 of 1,802 in Paris
286 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Palym
Hotel Palym
#538 of 1,802 in Paris
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aurore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aurore

Property: Best Western Aurore
Address: 13, Rue Traversiere, 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,284 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aurore 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western FR, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Aurore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aurore Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Best Western Hotel Aurore
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing