We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice functional Hotel”
Review of Touring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Touring Hotel
Ranked #688 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is situated in the 9th quarter near 2 metro stations. Not far from the Opera
Has a strictly kosher breakfast and has many kosher shops nearby.
Its a simple clean hotel. The street side is noisy. The rooms are not very big but very clean

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside off the hotel - less noisy. No air condition....
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Touring Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is in a fab location. - it is just off rue Lafayette so an easy walk to the big department stores, cafes, metro and near Monmatre and the Sacre Coer.
We were warmly welcomed the moment we walked through the door. The reception staff were very helpful.
Our room was a good size and nicely decorated. The bathroom was large with lots of natural light.
For Paris this was an excellent hotel, and good value.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, it faced away from the street and looked out onto other rooms in the hotel. You...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsbar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at thr Touring Hotel for four nights and I can say for sure we will return,
The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are very clean and also the breakfast was better then expected. The hotel is located few seconds walk from Cadet Metro station and althogh there is no free wifi at the hotel you can always sit in the macdonalds branch near the metro.
Botton line: The hotel gives a good value for the price.

1  Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I got a deal and frankly wasn't expecting much. However for what seemed like not very much money for a reasonably central location I was perfectly happy. Reception desk staff were perfectly friendly, room was clean as was bathroom. It was furnished in a pretty basic fashion but that is what I was expecting. Big plus is that it is on a quiet street: too many hotels in Paris are in noisy locations - this one was peaceful, and for one night in Paris perfectly adequate

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

A lovely 3 star hotel on a quiet street. Rooms are a little small, but then most rooms in Paris are.
Room was very clean and comfortable. I found this good value as I booked it as special on their own website, which was cheaper than using search engines.
All the reception staff were friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast is extra and they charge €10.00, which I thought was a little expensive, but there are lots of cafes nearby.
Very close to the metro station "Cadet" which is very handy for nipping around Paris. Also only a 15 minute walk from the Sacre Ceour.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room number 9 (a twin room) was very quiet
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Hotel: Comfortable and neat, good location, decently priced, friendly staff (they speak Hebrew and English in addition to French), but no free internet. The breakfast (we didn't eat it, but we heard it was good) is under the Beis Din of Paris and costs 10 Euro per person.
Shabbos in Hotel: The hotel has manual keys that they collect each time before you step out the door (There's no eruv in Paris, so this is a big help). No motion sensors or other Shabbat problems exist to my knowledge. The hotel provides a fridge and plata (located in the basement) for use over shabbat, as well as candles and matches on erev Shabbos. There is also a nice eating area in the basement. (we didn't use it and instead bought meals at a local shul, but I would suggest making use of it)
Food Near Hotel: Several grocery stores, a kosher makolet, a few restaurants and at least one butcher/takeout store exist in the immediate area. We ate Shabbos meals at a quasi-restaurant near Beit El, it was an interesting experience. The food was heavily Sephardi and the company was random, but fun. The price was a little high at 25 Euro per person-per meal. The meals can be pre-paid for at Beit El (in the office when you walk in on your left). The man who arranges the meals speaks Hebrew and French, as does the man who serves the meals.
Restaurants: None that were open for meals on Shabbos (which was the case in the past). During the week we ate at a few around Paris. We liked Sushi West the best (around the corner from hotel).
Shuls: Several in the area. Check out a minyan website (such as godaven) for more info. We found that the times on godaven were off, so be prepared to adjust accordingly.
On Shabbos, we davened at the Great Synagouge (Ashkenaz, Yekkish Minhagim). It was a strange place in that there were echoes of Reform in the davening (the Chazzan faced the kehilla for birchot kriat shema, laining and they omitted Yekum Porkan), but the Rabbi and several congregants were clearly Orthodox. Watch out for the Hechi Kedusha during Mussaf.
I felt most comfortable davening at the Cadet Yeshiva (Ashkenaz - Yekkish Minhagim. They had trouble getting a minyan when i was there) and Beit El (Edot Mizrach).

General Advice: Do all your research before you go (there's no point in wasting time when you're there), use the Rick Steve's App for major tour sites, visit the Musee d'Orsay instead of the Louve, do a bike tour (we used bike about tours.com and loved it), go to Versailles - it's truly unreal, learn some French (even just a little), go to the sewer museum (we didn't make it, but heard it's really cool), use the free wifi at every McDonald's, and watch out for the ubiquitous cigarette smoke (thankfully not in the kosher restaurants we ate at)

Useful links (here's a few, but I recommended searching around for more)
Transportation: Parisbytrain.com
Great Synagogue: http://www.lavictoire.org/
Kosher resources in Paris (outdated but still useful): http://kosher.online.fr/kosher/tips.html
Kosher Restaurant Reviews (Slightly outdated, by an American) :http://parispalaterestaurants.wordpress.com/
Chabad (useful information and they offer Shabbat meals): http://www.chabadchampselysees.com/

Room Tip: The rooms had minimal noise at night. The bathroom will flood when you shower, so you might want to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Room was quite small but with a good sized bathroom with tub. Clean and overall a good vibe. Breakfast was disappointing, consists mainly of sugary and starchy stuff, no fresh fruits meats etc. Coffee is good. The hotel is situated on a quiet side street so it's not at all noisy. Walking distance to all the main attractions and 100m to closest metro station Cadet. I can recommend this hotel!

Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Aida Opera
Hotel Aida Opera
#506 of 1,803 in Paris
887 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,116 of 1,803 in Paris
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#369 of 1,803 in Paris
872 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#700 of 1,803 in Paris
365 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#441 of 1,803 in Paris
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touring Hotel

Address: 21 rue Buffault, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £65 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Touring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Touring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing