We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place”
Review of Hotel Rocroy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rocroy
Ranked #626 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. Very conveniently located near the Gare du Nord train and metro station. We arrived a few hours early but the staff were very accommodating and were able to check us into our room early. The gentleman at the counter gave us a map and highlighted all of the major sites to see and their nearest metro locations. The room was very modern looking and was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also very spacious and clean. No complaints whatsoever. No noise, comfortable bed, and very decently priced. Wifi worked really well for us and the option to control your own air-conditioning was wonderful! Honestly could not believe the quality we got for the price that we paid. Next time I'm in Paris I'm definitely staying here. I have recommended this place to all of my friends traveling.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor (?) (room 407, I believe) and it was perfect. Not sure how the other floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALINE M, Manager at Hotel Rocroy, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for all these good reviews about our hotel and staff.
We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It's true that we always try to give a room on arrival when it's possible, even if it's before 2 PM. We know how it can be comfortable to be able to leave the luggage in your room (even if we provide also a luggage room), and have a shower when you travelled for a long time.
It's good that you enjoyed your room, its bathroom, the air-conditioning and the WIFI.
We would love to welcoming you and your friends again, and thank you for recommending le Rocroy.
Kind regards.
Aline MYOTTE / The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    212
    72
    30
    26
See reviews for
54
175
49
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We only stayed for a night stopover and choose this hotel for it's value for money and close proximity to Gare Du Nord (getting the Eurostar back to London). It's a decent hotel, clean, wifi and free pool table! A comfortable nights sleep.

Marion on reception was very friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iYapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in August. Decided on a premium room with Booking.com as it was still better value than other hotels I'd looked at and included breakfast. It was convenient for Gare du Nord but still quiet as it was in a side road. Easy access to the metro, although we chose to walk mostly (shame to go underground when you can enjoy looking at the different areas).
Our room, (4th floor) had air conditioning, a fridge, safe, kettle, hair drier, bath and shower. Furnishings were all clean and room was always immaculate when we returned. I did have to ask for coffee/tea to be replenished when they had forgotten but it wasn't a problem. Only drawback was the wardrobe was small so you couldn't hang up a dress. Wifi was available but I found it a little slow.
Breakfast was ample, usual continental, plenty of it and fresh, including fruit salad. The room was in the cellar and one side did smell a little, think cleaning equipment was kept down there. The side with the buffet was fine however.
Lift was small so I chose the stairs and my husband took the cases in it! Ask for a lower floor if you don't like small spaces!
Staff were polite and friendly.
I would recommend this hotel, I spent quite some time looking at others on the internet, but this one ticked more boxes, especially for the price. I would happily return.

Room Tip: Asked for a room away from lift, as advised on Tripadvisor, had room at end of corridor on level 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really great location of the hotel. Very close to Gare du Nord. Which was excellent when travelling around in Paris. The Price is good.
We had a triple room. Good standard. The elevator was not of the newes sort. There were a lot of mould around in the building. The fire alarm went of twice while we stayed there. Once in the middle of the nicght and once in the early morning, due to people smoking in their rooms. A bit dissapointing fire routines.. No one checked up on us and no one told us what was happening.

But on the bright side
Not that much tourists in this area, which we appreciated.
The staff was friendly enough. Spoke English well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martholg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALINE M, Manager at Hotel Rocroy, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you took to give your good opinion about our hotel.
Sorry for the fire alarm, it seems that we had a smoker that time who thought it would be possible anyway !
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you again,
Kind regards.
Aline MYOTTE / The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My sister and I enjoyed a great stay at this quiet hotel near Gare du Nord. The staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The rooms were clean and of a good size, especially for this price range and in Paris. Breakfast was very good as well, we were offered a wide variety of foods to choose from and everything looked and tasted fresh. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone thinking of coming to Paris and I hope to return one day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALINE M, Manager at Hotel Rocroy, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for your good reviews.
It seems that you liked all and we are very happy to learn that.
Hoping to welcoming you and your friends again,
Very kind regards.
Aline MYOTTE / The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I traveled by train and the hotel is centrally located between both train stations. The metro is 3 blocks away were you can travel to all the sites. We purchase a metro pass that covered 3 zones, busses, subway and trains.

The rooms were clean, larger than we expected. Love being able to open the large windows. The staff was very friendly. The is a laundry 2 blocks away. (Need to wash because we had been traveling starting 7-14-14 and it was the 26th now)

Short wak to cafe's and grocery stores.

First time to Paris.
O and I

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar and Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALINE M, Manager at Hotel Rocroy, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Iris and Oscar,

Thank you for your kind review. It's true that we are very closed to 2 main train stations and from 2 metro stations that allow our guests to go everywhere very easily and quickly.

All our staff (chambermaids, receptionnists...) always try to do their best to make your stay pleasant and they are happy when they read that they succeeded.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,
Kind regards.

Aline MYOTTE / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed for a long weekend at the end of June. I arrived early and wasn't expecting to be able to check in but I was told they could have my room ready in 30 minutes, so I left my luggage in their store room and grabbed a coffee at a local cafe before coming back to freshen up.

Reception was always staffed and they were very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, quiet despite overlooking the road (it's only a side-street, so not very busy and the windows are very well soundproofed) and nicely decorated in a 'boutique' style.

The room safe was big enough for my large 17" laptop. The TV has accessible HDMI ports so, if you don't want to watch French TV, bring a media player and your favourite 'box set' on a USB stick!

The air conditioning was amazing! The room was freezing when I arrived which was just what I needed to cool me down and wake me up after a very early flight from the UK! There's a controller in the room, so you can set it to whatever temperature you like and it stays on all day (no requirement to put a key-card in a slot), so it's a comfortable temperature when you get in.

The location is great for Le Gare du Nord and Montmartre, with a 5-10 minute walk to several metro lines. The area around Le Gare du Nord was swamped with hawkers and scam artists, so not a particularly pleasant welcome to Paris but they don't travel as far as the hotel.

The large "double bed" turned out to be two singles zipped together, so wasn't comfortable to sleep in the middle (on the zip). As other people have noted, the lift (elevator) is small and would be a tight fit for 2 people with luggage... but so what? It's better than taking the stairs and there was never a long wait for it to arrive!

I thought the breakfast was expensive, although on a par with other Paris hotels I looked at. Other reviewers seem to expect a 'full English', American or even Indian breakfast! This is Paris - you get a 'continental' breakfast which mostly consists of pastries, bread and cold meats. If you don't like that, eat in one of the many local cafes instead. There's even a McDonalds near Le Gare du Nord, for people who won't try 'local' food!

The bathroom was modern, bright and clean but the shower tray filled up with water because it didn't drain away fast enough. Although my room was a decent size, I was unable to get the chair between the bed and the small desk, so it's impossible to work at the desk.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay, thought the price was reasonable and would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the street. The view wasn't amazing but the big Frenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALINE M, Manager at Hotel Rocroy, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kevin,

I want to thank you for the time you took for posting such a long and very nice review.
What else to say ! We are all very happy that your stay with us was very pleasant and we hope to see you and your friends again very soon.

Kind regards.
Aline MYOTTE / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#416 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
#755 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Entrepôt
Maison du Pre
Maison du Pre
#1,283 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#611 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#498 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocroy

Property: Hotel Rocroy
Address: 13 rue de Rocroy, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#402 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rocroy 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the french capital, The hotel*** Le Rocroy has the perfect location to make the most out of your stay. Next to Gare du Nord, Gare de l'Est, you can easily walk to the Montmartre area, visit the Sacré-Coeur or the famous Place du Tertre. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you will enjoy the large spacious rooms all equipped with AC, wifi and a personal desk, the friendly lobby in a authentic exposed stoned room, and the conference room for your buisness meetings. The team willl be available to answer any of your request. Enjoy a typical breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rocroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocroy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing