We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Small Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Eugene en Ville
Ranked #331 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here recently on a business trip. The hotel is very modern but with a whole lot of dark decor, which make it feel smaller. The size exception is the restaurant area on the first floor.

The hallways are almost a little too dark and cave-like. The room was small but very nice. I can't imagine two people walking around easily as the room is really designed only for sleeping.
The bed is two twins that can be combined. Overall it's firm and comfortable.
I highly recommend getting a room that doesn't face the street as it gets a little noisy at night, especially on the weekends. The inside rooms are much more quiet.
I've also heard that some of the rooms don't have a door to the bathroom, so you're basically showering to the room. My particular room didn't have that.
The staff was very friendly and all spoke pretty good english. Never an issue at all with any of them.
The breakfast in the morning is very good! Fresh eggs and bacon with fruit, juices, yogurt, and pastries.

My biggest "likes" - location, breakfast, bed comfort, cleanliness, and the 'cat plates' in the lobby.
I would highly recommend this hotel to business travelers and younger couples. I don't think I would travel here with my kids.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the interior, not the street. Also try to get a room with a bathroom/shower do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie_baroukh, Directeur général at Hotel Eugene en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Altraveler2000
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review with so many details inside. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our services. It’s a real pleasure for us to satisfy our guest.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is a good base for you to visit city sightseeing spots. Room is compact, clean, new and modern. The one we had was painted black inside and i would have preferred brighter lights. Then again, the mood lighting would be great for romantic couples! It is easy to miss the hotel because the signage is not prominent enough. I hope the management would install an additional signage at eye level to make it easier for us to locate.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EngTingTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie_baroukh, Directeur général at Hotel Eugene en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Entingting,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are really attentive about the guests reviews and we take note of each comment. Indeed, we are working on putting in place more signage for improve our visibility. Also, our hotel has different type of rooms, some brighter than some other, depends of the side and of the level (street or cour) I invite you to tell the reception about your preference for your next coming, we are working very diligently to satisfay it.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in this little boutique hotel for four nights. Must say the first impact is very good due to its unique style. The staff is very kind and helpfull. Our room was really small but quite functional, very good wifi, good heating, good powerfull shower and a very soft and comfortable bed. As for the breakfast there is not a lot of choice ( infact i took mine out of the hotel ) but everything looked good and fresh. The hotel is well located and there are a lot of shops, cafes and restaurants nearby. Now, lets talk about the improvements that could be made to make this little hotel a real pearl: 1 the cleaning staff could make a little bit more effort when dusting or cleaning the toilet 2 the staff in charge of the breakfast could put a couple of lids on the pans with eggs and bacon! I dont like my breakfast cold and gummy 3 room service should start a little bit earlier than 7:30 4 the hotel staff should make sure that the rooms are ready for the customers when they arrive at the hotel as i personally had to wait 40 min... I would understand it if i got there in the morning or lunchtime but not at 16 in the afternoon as the checkout is at 12 they sould have plenty of time to do there job!

Room Tip: I would advice this hotel to people that intend to stay for 1/2 nights max
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie_baroukh, Directeur général at Hotel Eugene en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Cristina C
Many thanks for your review about our hotel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give so many details inside. I’m glad you did enjoy the hotel and its staff despite some delays May I present you my most sincere apologies for these situations.
I propose you to contact me directly for your next booking in Eugene en Ville(virginie.baroukh@a-7.fr)

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have at Eugene en Ville during Paris Marathon. I consider this hotel over the Paris hotel standards (for hotel belonging to same category). The staff is very courteous, all young people, always available; The breakfast is very good ad the room service. Room size is on the average of Paris, that's quite small. The hotel si located next to Rue de La Fayette,very close to both Cadet and Notre-Dame-de-Lorette subway stations, and it's not far from Gare du Nord on one side and Opera on the other side. Next to hotel you can find many bistrot and restaurant.
Should I come back to Paris in short time, I'll be there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescoluongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie_baroukh, Directeur général at Hotel Eugene en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Francescoluongo
We thank you for this lovely coment, and for taking the time of review our hotel .
It is a real pleasure to know that you did enjoy the hotel and your stay .
We would be more than happy to welcome you back .
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at the Eugene en Ville for four nights during a recent business trip to Paris. It was similar to other boutique hotels I've stayed in in Paris: chic, classic modern, and luxe. My room, though decorated nicely, was on the smaller side but it's what you would expect in Europe. My room faced an internal courtyard which was a little disappointing considering how beautiful Paris is. I think I got an upgrade which made my room a bit larger in lieu of the view, so it was fine. The location is fantastic - within 10 minute walk to Opera/LaFayette and situated near many cafes.

The front desk staff was great. I appreciated the informal vibe and they were more than helpful for any questions I had.

If you're staying there, I highly recommend the crepe place down the street - Caramel Sarrasin. Yum!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allisonln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie_baroukh, Directeur général at Hotel Eugene en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Allisonln
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor and for your nice comments about our team and our hotel. We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of your return visit soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was my second visit to Eugene en Ville, and both times I have had a wonderful room. The decor is dark, but has been deliberately done in a modern/new kind of way. Rooms are small, but clean with lovely bathrooms. Is very easy to be put off by the lack of formal reception desk (when I first arrived it had a slight B&B feel), However the staff are all friendly and happy to help. Would recommend the rooms for couples or business trips.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie_baroukh, Directeur général at Hotel Eugene en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Chris H,
Thank you for your coment and for your loyalty to our hotel.
It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be delighted to share your review with my team, it will be a great reward.
We are ready to welcoming you a third time, and even more.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Eugène en Ville. Very impressed. Very clean, modern (dark moody design) hotel situated between Opera/LaFayette and Gard de Nord (Eurostar). Rooms are small (common for Paris) but high spec makes this not an issue (except if you have many suitcases). Best for short stay (2-3 nights). Staff extremely professional and buffet breakfast surprisingly worth eating (rather than go to a cafe). Room 306 worth requesting (secret tip).

Room Tip: Room 306 double room with terrace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COPTHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie_baroukh, Directeur général at Hotel Eugene en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Copthall,
Thank you for choosing our hotel Eugene en ville and for sharing your experience on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, indeed, it is one of our greatest room with private terrace. Also, It will be a real pleasure to share your impressions with my team about its professional qualities.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Les Plumes Hotel
Les Plumes Hotel
#193 of 1,802 in Paris
788 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
#221 of 1,802 in Paris
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Opera Cadet Hotel
Opera Cadet Hotel
#292 of 1,802 in Paris
1,514 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
#253 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel le Chat Noir
Hotel le Chat Noir
#343 of 1,802 in Paris
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eugene en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eugene en Ville

Address: 6 rue Buffault | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#235 Business Hotel in Paris
#415 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#488 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £82 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eugene en Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impromptu pied a terre or a Parisian holiday address for an extended stay, Hotel Eugene en Ville offers guests superior hospitality with spirited service. The emphasis is on creating a mixed palette of styles. The raw-finished walls and industrial furniture poke fun at more traditional features and appointments. Dark Victorian patinas, ornate mirrors and candelabras, soft, cosy armchairs and curios – all handpicked from antique shops and markets – create a style that is at once refined and iconoclastic. The chemistry is simply compelling. On the same eccentric register, a giant screen shows snippets of life inside a luxury hotel: an unconventional film that takes a witty look at an establishment that is well and truly frequented in every sense of the word. The hotel has inherited the sort of elegance that never seeks to look overly sophisticated. It possesses the kind of charm that always feels spontaneous: that truly Parisian effortless chic that Eugene holds the secret to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eugene en Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing