We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean quiet place to stay in central Paris”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mattle
Ranked #1,672 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A clean quiet place to stay in central Paris”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for three nights, and found it to be clean and quiet, exactly what you would expect from an average priced hotel in central Paris. If you are looking for additional extras, this is not the place for you, however, it has a great location, and there is a metro station close by to access all the major sights. Keep an eye out for the great Mexican restaurant across the road too.

Room Tip: Skip the in hotel breakfast and find yourself a good bakery outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    38
    27
    40
See reviews for
26
58
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I can't belive the agency actually recomended us to upgrade for this hotel. small rooms, low maintaince level, everything is old.
the bath is so high (probably mounted on the old bath) that is very hard to climb into.
the pipes are so old that the water come out brown at the begining.
no socket to charge your mobile phone either plug off the TV or charge it in the bath.
the curtains are to short to block the sun so if you want to have a noon nap bring a cloth to block the sun yourself.
the breakfast is a real joke, the coffee is bad, the espresso machine isn't working, the croissant are from yesterday or from a very bad bakery (in paris... quite hard to find a bad bakery). no vegtables or a variety of cheese. we had breakfast outside almost everyday.
the mattress is old and uncomfortable, you actually feel the springs on your back.

Room Tip: not in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Qiryat Motzkin, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 4 days in fab. We had alot of fun and loved the area. The locals are very lovly and really helpfull. The staff helped us with the travel informations and kosher and not kosher food around the area. The room was extreamly tiny but it was enoughf for the two of us.
Thank you mattle hotle's staff for a trip we will never forget.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lior S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Old, dirty, very poorly maintained. False representation with pictures. In most countries this hotel would not get even 2 stars. Avoid unless you want to be severely disappointed. Other than one person, rest of the staff does not speak a word of English. I have no idea how they can have 3 stars. once we checked out we went to a 2 star hotel in which service and hotel itself was a million times better than this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
427 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Located in the Opera District of Paris this little hotel is a clean and authentic retreat just down the block from Les Follies. Indeed it was a 14 minute walk to the Opera House, about 20 minutes to Montmartre. The subway is a 5 min walk and there are some fine restaraunts on the street in front of the hotel. Affordable. If there is any drawback you pay extra for wifi which is a little off. They have a great breakfast which is worth the euros paid.

Room Tip: we like Juliette balconies and lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingsinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed at the Mattle with a friend for 4 nights. The first room we were given was tiny with double bed instead of twin beds (tourism agent mistake) but because we checked in very late (after midnight) we were told that we could ask to change rooms only the next day. in the morning the hotel owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us the key to another room which was perfect.

Overall, Location is great, both rooms were clean and breakfast was good. The only two drawbacks were weak air conditioner and the fact that the toilet (in both rooms) wasn't properly attached to the floor and moved a bit when sitting on it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I was very disappointed in this hotel. For the price I paid for it, and i not recommend it

the hotel is old and not maintained well ,the wall on the lobby is not painted ,the room was small and equipped with old bed with unpleasant smell ,the toilet seat was broken , the bathroom was very small along with the shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Bergere
Hotel Royal Bergere
#1,586 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Grands Boulevards
Opera / Bourse
le Havane
le Havane
#1,184 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Leman Opera
Hotel Leman Opera
#974 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
Peletier Haussmann Opera Hotel
Peletier Haussmann Opera Hotel
#1,253 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mattle

Property: Hotel Mattle
Address: 8, rue de la Boule Rouge | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,672 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mattle 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mattle Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing