We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return over and over again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Ranked #913 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will return over and over again.”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Let's face it, the majority of us aren't going to Paris to sit in a hotel room. Most tourists are up early and out all day, only to return for rest until the next jam packed day. So yes, the hotel room is small and the lift comedically tight - but the bathroom is clean with modern fixtures, the beds are comfortable and room kept clean.

The star of this hotel is the value for what you get -You get a clean and safe place to stay in the heart of the cool Latin Quarter. Tucked up the side of the Sorbonne university, the Cluny Sorbonne is minutes from Luxembourg line and or/ Cluny Sorbonne or the great connections of Saint-Michel metro.

We walked no more than 5 mins and found a brilliant selection of bars, cafes and restaurants on the hotel's side of the Seine - and glanced over to see Notre Dam, St Germain/left bank for more options. It doesn't take long to walk to the 'lovers lock' and across to the Louvre - we couldn't believe how accessbile everything was.

I'd stay in the Cluny Sorbonne over and over again - I was safe, got great value and stayed in the heart of a brilliant city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleGreen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    201
    92
    21
    7
See reviews for
51
210
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Hotel Cluny Sorbonne has a great location in the Latin Quarter of Paris. The hotel is in walking distance of many metro stations, bus stops, fine restaurants, and tourist attractions. The rooms are adequate size and are carefully cleaned daily. The employees at the front desk speak several languages and are very helpful with regard to questions about Paris. The location is in a very safe and quiet neighborhood. The best part is the great value for such a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

staff nice helpful, daily service good, only stayed 2 nights fresh sheets & towels shower curtain. bathroom small but clean and all new fittings. Bedroom shabby with twin beds no separation, just enough room to walk around the bed, window not able to open properly without hitting the bed, no door on wardrobe as it would hit the bed. Room doors narrow, glad we did not bring the cat! great location for evening life food and drink so many to choose from just a few streets away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel has to be set within the best location in Paris. Right next to the Sorbonne University and a short stroll to Notre Dame cathedral and The Seine. Along with the big boulevards you'll find a myriad of small intimate streets, filled with bars and cafes, just minutes away.
The hotel itself is staffed by approachable, friendly people (a Paris novelty) who speak perfect English and are very accommodating to your needs.
The room was rather small but perfectly clean and serviceable, with linen and towels changed daily. Seriously this place is an absolute bargain considering the modest room rates they are charging. It fits into the budget category, but does it with a clean and professional style that's rare in such a price bracket.
Paris on a budget? The Cluny Sorbonne is the perfect solution.

Room Tip: If you struggle with mobility try to book the ground floor as the elevator is pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for about the fifth time in the last five years. We keep coming back despite the small rooms and bathrooms because we love the very affordable price (especially the Internet specials) location: very close to the RER stop from the airport, close to other metros, across the street from the Sorbonne and up the street from the Pantheon and the Luxembourg gardens, near Notre Dame and Saint Sulpice, etc. Breakfast is a good deal, but we normally grab food and drink for half the price at the nearby 8 à 8 (fruit, OJ) and Brioche Dorée (croissants, coffee) and then into the Lux Gardens to eat breakfast outside. My only wish is that the hotel would invest in some small fans for the small rooms--it can get hot in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose the courtyard rooms--much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryland_Mike55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our choice of this hotel was mainly based on the price, with location a close second. It did not disappoint on either score. As many have already stated, the rooms are tight, and the bathroom is downright lilliputian. Although we tried very hard to keep the water in the shower, we could not avoid wetting the entire floor, and thoroughly soaking at least one towel a day in an attempt to mop up. Nevertheless, our attendant was always cheerful, and our room actually smelled of lavender when we returned from our day of sightseeing.
We overlooked the street, which may not be the best choice for light sleepers, as there seems to be a constant flow of revellers, loud debaters, and traffic into the wee hours. We found it fascinating to watch illegally parked vehicles being ticketed and towed almost every morning.
Good, less touristy, dining options can be found on Rue Mouffetard (behind the Pantheon). We also recommend a private airport transfer service (rather than the RER or taxi); the very courteous and helpful front desk staff can make the arrangements. Our van arrived right on time, and the cost was reasonable (considering that we did not have to schlep our luggage to the nearest metro station.
All in all, we were very pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: Street rooms have a view but may be noisy for light sleepers; courtyard rooms lack privacy when wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born2bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Located in a great area! We took the velib to explore the city, but also the subway is really close. The room we had was really small, but it was perfect for sleeping and taking a shower. We stayed here three nights, one more night would have been better to see more of the city, but definitely going back to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asli1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#607 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Trois Colleges
Hotel des Trois Colleges
#1,092 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,203 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#283 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#500 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#341 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cluny Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Property: Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Address: 8 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #913 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cluny Sorbonne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cluny Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Sorbonne Hotel
Cluny Sorbonne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing