We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean room, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Ranked #914 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a great choice for the money.
We took the RER train from CDG to the Luxembourg stop which was very close to this hotel. It is located right across from Luxembourg gardens and the Pantheon. It is just south of Notre Dame. Cute neighborhood with pharmacies, shops, grocery store, restaurants, near transit.

The room was small (think Japanese sized) but it had everything (closet, TV, shower, desk) and was very clean. The turnover service was very good - fresh towels and made the bed. Watch out if you get a room with just a standup shower. If you don't hug the shower curtain you can accidentally flood the bathroom floor.

The front desk was very welcoming and warm.
The price invoiced exactly how I had booked it and check in/out was a breeze. They take amex.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a bath tub if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seahop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

This small hotel is ideally situated for exploring the important sites in Paris. The rooms are small but comfortable; facilities OK; breakfast is a bit sparse with cornflakes, orange juice, tea, coffee, croissant (1 each) and some bread. But, it is in a great location and modestly priced. We would go back there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobscott72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This a very well priced hotel for the Latin Quarter, you get to be neighbours with the Sorbonne university. The young lady who greeted us on arrival was very courteous and friendly, however none of the others seemed to care that much and said very little. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a great power shower but the hotel let itself down by assuming torn wallpaper and grimy paintwork was acceptable, along with electric points hanging off of the wall...room 34. It would take very little to paint the room and make it much brighter and aesthetically pleasing. Altogether it was just a crash pad so lets not pretend we sat in our room all day looking at the walls. I have noticed that management never acknowledge or respond to any comments made on Tripadvisor (whether good or bad) so not sure how they make any amends. If you want something a little plusher go next door to the Design Sorbonne or further down on the corner of the square to the Select Rive Gauche.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrenC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel Cluny Sorbonne, Paris
Our criteria for accommodation in a big city is a nice, affordable low key hotel that is close to a transport hub and within walking distance of the main icons. The Hotel Cluny Sorbonne is perfectly located in the Latin Quarter, a 15 min walk to the Notre Dame and the old bridges over the Seine. The hotel is very easy to find. It is just across the road from the Sorbonne Uni on Victor Cousin Street, which is one street over and runs parallel to St Michel Street. To get there, it's an easy 10 min walk from the Luxembourg RER train stop (at the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens). This place deserves a high rating. It is close to lots of cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. The rooms are clean and well-appointed and a reasonable size by Paris standards. Staff are friendly, efficient and always available at the desk to let you in when you ring the buzzer. The The hotel is just around the corner from the Pantheon and 5 mins walk in the direction of the historic centre of Paris is the Medieval Museum de Cluny which is well worth a visit. We were in Paris for five days then spent a number of days in regional areas before returning, so we stayed at the Cluny Sorbonne for a total of seven days. We really got to appreciate our luck in finding this place. If we come back to Paris, I would definitely stay here.

Stewart and Debbie from Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

You couldn´t find a hotel in a better position! The staff was very helpful in all matters. The best you can get for this price I think. I would recommend this to everyone who wants a nice price-worthy hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just checked in and am pretty dissatisfied with this place, I don't understand all the positive reviews from here which is why I booked a room. It's shabby, my room is on the top floor and at both windows all of the wallpaper is peeling off like there is a leak. Even though it's "one of the bigger rooms" it's small and very outdated.

After checking in and calling the front desk for their internet password I was informed that the internet barely works on the top floor as the signal does not reach that far. To bad I booked here for the area and the free internet access to be able to get some work done at the end of my vacation before flying home in a couple of days. The front desk was very apologetic about it and promised that I would be switched to a first floor room tomorrow afternoon so we'll see how that goes.

So I am sitting in their lobby where I can connect to the internet but it smells as the manager or whoever is cooking fish stinking up the whole area, the gentleman at the front desk is listening to dance music at a low volume however still distracting, a lot of people talking, etc. Not a quiet pleasant environment to work in or a great first impression of this place. I am only booked here for two nights hopefully the rest of the experience is better.

Room Tip: Hope to not get a room past the second floor if you need access to wifi, it's unavailable you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresasc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Right across the street from the Sorbonne and just steps to bars, restaurants, shopping and metro. Doesn't get much better than this in Paris for the price. Comfortable, clean, friendly staff. Small rooms, Super small elevator. If you get a room at the front of the building, noise from the street can be a little loud at night if you sleep with the windows open (no A/C, so might be an issue in summer). Overall though, a great hotel, and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseSolorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#656 of 1,803 in Paris
524 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Trois Colleges
Hotel des Trois Colleges
#903 of 1,803 in Paris
86 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#382 of 1,803 in Paris
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,196 of 1,803 in Paris
265 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#282 of 1,803 in Paris
1,324 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,479 of 1,803 in Paris
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cluny Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Address: 8 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#148 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £75 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cluny Sorbonne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cluny Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Sorbonne Hotel
Cluny Sorbonne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing