We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Hotel Paris
Ranked #1,105 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great basic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed for 5 Nights from end May to beginning June 2013 at Central Hotel Paris as a family of 3. I booked a triple room. We were given a room on the 3rd floor. Lift is tiny as mentioned by previous reviewers. The room and bathroom were clean and I think its a good room size for 3 persons to move around freely, considering this is Paris. Free wifi available, just ask staff at reception for passwords. Lots of eateries around, we frequent Cafe Absolute which is just next to the hotel. There is a sweet English speaking young waitress there who makes us feel really welcome so much so that we ate there 3 times during our short stay. Monoprix and Galeries Lafayette are also just around the corner. Short walk to 2 Metro stations. Really convenient. Staff are generally helpful if not exactly friendly. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you just need a place to sleep and shower while you explore Paris. It is value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelnmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    242
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
84
145
60
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Central Hotel is a very efficiently run, friendly operation. Rooms are compact but well appointed snd everything works. Plenty of hanging space and crisp sheets and blanket on comfortable double bed (preferable to overhot doonas which are not so easily adjustable for temperature). Lift is tiny but works well and is silent. Location opposite small park is pleasant and you can hear birds sing in the morning, even though it is only a hundred metres to bristling Rue Gaite with its cafes and theatres. Close to Metro Edgar Quinet and Montparnasse Bienvenue. Also close to Breton region on the other side of Blvd Edgar Quinet with at least twenty lively and excellent creperies. Breakfast is cheap at six euros but I never tried it. My wife and I were more than happy to psy 6.80 at the Plomb du Cantal restsurant which is great value and quality. Staff at the hotel all very obliging and friendly. wifi a little less than strong in some rooms but fine in comfortable lobby. We stayed here twice, once in April for five days and again in late May for two days. All hotels should be this good.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms were fine with view over park. Also novelist Henry Miller stayed in the hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billw945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Arrived on the Sunday night and due to leave the following Thursday morning. 5th floor via a very small lift the room allocated was small in comparison. Was awoken in the morning at around 8.00am to the sound of a digger ripping up the cobbled street outside the window. Ok, this is a working city and you have to make allowances. Would of been nice to have been informed from the hotel that this was occurring but....Very close to metro so the location for exploring Paris is ideal. Lots of restaurants in the locality so evenings were spent in the same area. Went back to the hotel Monday night and the smell in the bathroom of raw sewage was too much. Complained to the desk and they said they would sort it. Arrived home and Monday night it was hard to sleep because of the smell and Tue morning the road works started again. This looks a big job and will be there for several weeks. I complained about the smell and the noise and said that I should not be charged for the Sunday and Monday but they refused to refund. Said I could have a free breakfast which I declined. Went back to the room an they phoned to say I could have a room on the 6th floor to the back of the hotel, bu I must move ASAP. We packed and took the luggage up the lift to the next floor with no assistance and unpacked again. Room was sound, no smell but could still hear the roadworks early morning. Paid nearly £500 four nights. It is more a 2 star hotel IMO. Check re roadworks before you go.

Room Tip: Check roadworks and room 52 was the smelly one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Good service, the double bed is quite small (less than 160cm) but it was good for 2 person. There is additional sofa which could be use as additional bed. The room and bathroom are clean, but wish for a toothbrush and toothpaste.

Easy check in. For wifi they happily gave us 3 username for 3 devices - so it was appreciated. Sorrounding, you will find a good restaurant, bar, theatre and really close to the shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intanparamitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent our last few nights here in Paris. The location is great and there are good restaurants nearby. It is a short walk to a couple of metro stations and a reasonable walk to a number of sites we wanted to visit. The front desk staff were extremely kind and helpful and our room was very clean and comfortable and I thought it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlaS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My review is based on a standard triple room, it does appear from other pics that the quality of the rooms vary dramatically however.

Pros:
Good service. (we hadnt inc our 5yr old on the booking we were just going to share a bed for the night, but they gave us a triple and didnt make a fuss or charge us.)
Reasonably priced.
Great location!
Comfortable and clean.
Crisp clean bedding.

Cons
Breakfast NOT included despite booking it on a b&b basis.
Building and decor tired, old and dated.
Deffo not a 3star more like a 2 star
Good for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannii H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Great stay really!! Everything is so close . Excellent staff -very helpfull and friendly. We (3 of us)booked our room 2 month before so it's really reasonable price (at about 500 euros for 3 of us -4 nights) in a very good positioned hotel-my reccomodation to everybody!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunceSplit_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
#929 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#928 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#511 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#361 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Patio Brancion
#1,202 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Paris

Property: Central Hotel Paris
Address: 1 B rue du Maine | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,105 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located close to main Montparnasse railway station, Air France shuttle, Metro and bus lines. Our very friendly and dedicated staff are available 24/7 and will be delighted to assist you with calling a taxi or booking a show, theatre or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing