We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel, handy location by Garde du Nord” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #582 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel, handy location by Garde du Nord”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Me and my friends stayed here on a Paris trip. It is a few minutes walk straight down from the Gare du Nord, and as we came in by Eurostar this was ideal. The hotel is very cute, we stayed on one of the higher floors but there is a lift if you don't fancy stairs. There is wifi in the rooms.The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had a nice breakfast which was included (croissant, juice etc) I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    242
    106
    34
    20
See reviews for
102
208
114
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Very well-priced stop-over hotel with clean rooms and newly refurbished ensuite bathrooms. Warm, comfortable and very courteous staff at reception. Hassle-free check in (check up name in book and hand over room key!!) and check out. We didn't have breakfast as early Eurostar, which is around the corner. Perfect location. A hidden gem.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Wardymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We chose this good value hotel for its proximity to Gare du Nord. Arriving at Charles de Gaul airport it is easy to take the train in to Gare du Nord for 9.50 Euro per person. Then look for the Rue de Dunkerque exit and this hotel is five minutes walk away. All the staff were helpful and friendly and did us the honour of replying to our hesitant French with French. Our room was clean and very quiet, remarkable for the location. An added bonus is the Quentin Market a few minutes away, great for fresh fruit, cheese and takeaway salads for your lunch! Bon appetite!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Wonderful, friendly staff. Location was perfect. Rooms are not "US size" :) but we expected that and did not have a problem with the smaller sized rooms. One of the rooms had a great view out towards Sacre Coeur, a wonderful sight at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NS-SR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I skinned through numerous reviews before choosing Hotel de l`Europe in the 10th Arrondissement, we are already familiar with the area having stayed at a similar hotel last year just fifteen minutes walk away.
Together with viewing their web site we also used google earth to view the Hotel de l`Europe, we were able to view inside the foyer and location of lift etc. I had established a line of communication /emails with Mr. Baur at the hotel who ended up checking my wife & I in at the reception! Nicolas (son of the hotel owner) was very helpful, friendly and also displayed good use of English.
Acting on advice from recent Trip advisor reviews we requested a room on the 4th floor facing the street. Traffic noise with the double glazed windows closed was minimal (even when a police car with blues & two`s on zipped past in the small hours) during the evening & over night. The room (s) are compact and secure, their walls are only plasterboard and the floor creaks. The room was well heated and the power shower was really invigorating with 24hr hot water. The hotel web site facilities details are accurate so no drama`s e.g. TV /remote, hairdryer etc There`s no kettle /drinks kit but local shops stock all usual soft drinks etc if you choose to stay in your room for an extended period.
The continental breakfast is more than adequate - plenty of juice and hot drinks upon request - served by pleasant staff.
Handy location - YES .....only a five minute walk from either stations; Gare Du Nord or Gare de L`est. Using the Metro is a doddle, just leave time to Buy your ticket (at the machine or booth) before the journey. Hotel Wi-Fi is provided free of charge.... upon request reception Staff will issue you with a printed pass code / login-per-one-device.
Overall, simple, safe, effective and no-frills, clean, tidy and very friendly. We wouldn`t hesitate booking here again, in fact we are considering returning next year for the Bastille celebration. We would gladly recommend this hotel to family friends and anyone who is visiting Paris and doesn`t have money-to-burn with hotel choice......

Room Tip: Read the room reviews beforehand........don`t hesitate to email the hotel and clarify any special re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityBreakTubbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

After reading some reviews, I was a bit sceptical about this hotel. But after staying there for 3 nights, I should say I did enjoy my stay here. Simple, no frills hotel. The guy at the reception was friendly and speaks English well. Really helpful guy, didn't manage to catch his name though. One day, the hotel lift was disabled due to some construction and he carried my heavy (abt 15kg) luggage all the way to the 6th floor and ended it with a smile.

I got a room at the 2nd highest floor facing the street. A bit noisy but its worth it. Walls are not soundproof and the floor creaks a lot. The hotel is well located within the Regional / Metro stations of Gare Du Nord and Gare de Lest. So getting around Paris is not really difficult.

Bathroom is OK and there is a hair-dryer provided. There is no hot-water facilities but you can request for a electric kettle from the receptionist. Wifi is provided free of charge and one-login-per-device. You can request for the password at the reception too. There is a heater in the room and bathroom but it did not provide enough heat. The room was still cold even after shutting the windows for a few hours.

Location wise, the area is littered with some odd shops here and there. There is a market opposite the junction but I didnt managed to find the time to visit it. There is a Halal Sushi/Asian eatery right opposite the hotel (which has superb service by the way).

Overall, it was a nice, memorable stay. I wouldn't mind returning to this hotel if i'm on a budget.

Room Tip: Can try to get rooms facing the courtyard or rooms at the end of the corridors. I did request for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzMean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#653 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#414 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#286 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#97 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Soft
Hotel Soft
#652 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Property: Hotel de l'Europe
Address: 98 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#457 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, well-located and with very reasonable ratesConveniently located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est, the Hotel de l’Europe is a comfortable, quiet place to stay just a few minutes walk from the Butte Montmartre. The building is typically Parisian in style and offers a pleasant, friendly atmosphere in the heart of a lively neighbourhood, near to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing