We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good sleep, but a beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Ranked #484 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights & it's for sure a beautiful hotel. The staff is sweet, & you could definitely do worse. I give it a 'very good' for location & view, but the other aspects dragged it down quite a bit.

Positive: The view was spectacular, we were overlooking Saint Severin & had a clear view of the Tour Eiffel. The room is spacious enough seeing as we were out a lot and traveling light, I could see if you had more luggage it would be a very tight squeeze, but that's to be expected in Paris.

Negatives: The room was so incredibly hot & dry each night I was sick all 7 days. We tried everything, opening the window, cranking the AC, steaming up the room with the shower, nothing helped, I woke up more ill each morning & the bed/pillows were pretty uncomfortable.

Overall it's not a bad hotel, I can't speak to it in comparison with other hotels in Paris, but it was the most expensive for the quality of any hotel I've stayed at around the world. What you're paying for is the location - which is prime - & the view - if you get it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you 're looking for a B&B with clean, comfortable rooms overlooking a old church, this is it. The location is fabulous! Walk to all the tourist attractions or stroll through the small alleyways. Staff are helpful and friendly. Wifi is an added bonus!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nooby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this Hotel for 3 nights , Excellent Location for exploring the latin Quarter and easy walking distance to Notre Dame. Metro station just on corner we used this once to reach the eiffel tower and found it no hassel at all , even for us 3 ladies from rural country NZ so if the thought of the metro scares you - dont let it. Parisian people are always willing to help so dont be afraid to ask them if you become lost or stuck.- just remember your manners when asking.
Hotel room was great we had 3 single beds and plenty of space for all our suitcases - the room was a " triple share " and was one of the most expensive rooms - however i knew this was the case when we booked it because i wanted the extra space. we had a nice veiw of the church across from hotel and the eiffel tower was visable in the far distance.
If i ever return to Paris i would stay here again - mostly because of the location. You are most certainly in the middle of Paris stsying at this Hotel.

Room Tip: triple share room is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Reception skills by all reception staff was poor, no one looked up when you walked in, when we checked out we weren't asked if we had a good stay. No rudeness, merely disinterest. Barely a welcome when we arrived either.

Room
View was great from the front of the building of the church and a glimpse of Eifel Tower.
Small.
Really small.
Scuffing durty marks all over the walls, it looked as though it hadn't been painted for years. Aged dirt on the ceilings. For the money this isn't good enough. Furniture terrible in style and not a good use of the space, poor quality.

No, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brightredangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just spent the weekend in the Henri IV and it was great.
Yes, the room is small, as mentioned by other guests. But when you are in Paris, how much time will you spend in your room anyway ;-)
The room was cosy, clean, and nicely furbished, it was at the inner part of the hotel, which made it nice and quiet. I found that the beds we had were comfy but for those taller than 185cm they might be on the short side. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and the price we paid was very reasonable for a Fri./Sat. All in all: next time I'm in Paris I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013_Dutch_Family_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Always love to stay in this area of Paris - so close to everything and easy to get to all the airports. Usually this hotel is out of our budget but got it on a last minute deal so was delighted. The staff arent great (it is Paris though so you should never really expect great customer service!) and the rooms are small (again typical of Paris) but as Paris hotels go its as good as any of them and if you can get a good rate, go for it

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irishcouple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Henry IV and would definitely recommend it for couples, single travellers and families on a budget.

The hotel has a family-run business feel to it. The staff are friendly and helpful, and for a small hotel it was good to see someone on the front desk 24/7.

The location is great... 2 mins walk to Notre Dame and train station, as well as plenty to see and do around the hotel.

The rooms are small and slightly aged, but this is to be expected - the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and our room had a great view of the gothic like church across the road.

This is a hotel that we would definitely consider going back to as it was well priced, well located, safe, clean and had friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneySeaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,803 in Paris
1,250 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#795 of 1,803 in Paris
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Esmeralda Hotel
Esmeralda Hotel
#809 of 1,803 in Paris
305 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#245 of 1,803 in Paris
915 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#613 of 1,803 in Paris
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel

Address: 9 rue Saint Jacques | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Family Hotel in Paris
#554 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £130 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Henri Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing