We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Ranked #624 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Good things:
This hotel has an excellent staff; very helpful.
The lobby and other shared spaces are very pleasant and comfortable.
The breakfast is decent
When the double-pane windows are closed, the rooms are quiet.
And, of course, the location is outstanding

bad things:
The wi-fi is a joke. It continually disconnects.
The room, while lovely, is very small.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. Get a streetside room, you'll have a nice view of St. Severin across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eclipsoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    190
    36
    8
    11
See reviews for
123
209
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here and again found it to be wonderful! Rooms were good, clean and comfortable. No coffee making facilities, we took our own travel kettle and tea/coffee! Location great near the metro and Notre Dame. Surrounded by lovely little restuarants and bars - endless choice of food and all good that we ate! Highly recommended it - only downside if you have a room at the front and its warm - busy road through the night! Would still recommend this hotel. Staff very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights & it's for sure a beautiful hotel. The staff is sweet, & you could definitely do worse. I give it a 'very good' for location & view, but the other aspects dragged it down quite a bit.

Positive: The view was spectacular, we were overlooking Saint Severin & had a clear view of the Tour Eiffel. The room is spacious enough seeing as we were out a lot and traveling light, I could see if you had more luggage it would be a very tight squeeze, but that's to be expected in Paris.

Negatives: The room was so incredibly hot & dry each night I was sick all 7 days. We tried everything, opening the window, cranking the AC, steaming up the room with the shower, nothing helped, I woke up more ill each morning & the bed/pillows were pretty uncomfortable.

Overall it's not a bad hotel, I can't speak to it in comparison with other hotels in Paris, but it was the most expensive for the quality of any hotel I've stayed at around the world. What you're paying for is the location - which is prime - & the view - if you get it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you 're looking for a B&B with clean, comfortable rooms overlooking a old church, this is it. The location is fabulous! Walk to all the tourist attractions or stroll through the small alleyways. Staff are helpful and friendly. Wifi is an added bonus!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nooby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this Hotel for 3 nights , Excellent Location for exploring the latin Quarter and easy walking distance to Notre Dame. Metro station just on corner we used this once to reach the eiffel tower and found it no hassel at all , even for us 3 ladies from rural country NZ so if the thought of the metro scares you - dont let it. Parisian people are always willing to help so dont be afraid to ask them if you become lost or stuck.- just remember your manners when asking.
Hotel room was great we had 3 single beds and plenty of space for all our suitcases - the room was a " triple share " and was one of the most expensive rooms - however i knew this was the case when we booked it because i wanted the extra space. we had a nice veiw of the church across from hotel and the eiffel tower was visable in the far distance.
If i ever return to Paris i would stay here again - mostly because of the location. You are most certainly in the middle of Paris stsying at this Hotel.

Room Tip: triple share room is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Reception skills by all reception staff was poor, no one looked up when you walked in, when we checked out we weren't asked if we had a good stay. No rudeness, merely disinterest. Barely a welcome when we arrived either.

Room
View was great from the front of the building of the church and a glimpse of Eifel Tower.
Small.
Really small.
Scuffing durty marks all over the walls, it looked as though it hadn't been painted for years. Aged dirt on the ceilings. For the money this isn't good enough. Furniture terrible in style and not a good use of the space, poor quality.

No, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brightredangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just spent the weekend in the Henri IV and it was great.
Yes, the room is small, as mentioned by other guests. But when you are in Paris, how much time will you spend in your room anyway ;-)
The room was cosy, clean, and nicely furbished, it was at the inner part of the hotel, which made it nice and quiet. I found that the beds we had were comfy but for those taller than 185cm they might be on the short side. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and the price we paid was very reasonable for a Fri./Sat. All in all: next time I'm in Paris I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013_Dutch_Family_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#190 of 1,802 in Paris
1,209 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#244 of 1,802 in Paris
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#584 of 1,802 in Paris
216 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#626 of 1,802 in Paris
545 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#320 of 1,802 in Paris
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel

Property: Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Address: 9 rue Saint Jacques | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Family Hotel in Paris
#554 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Henri Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing