We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Ranked #538 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
near albany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice. Location is perfect, front desk friendly and helpful, spotlessly clean. We stayed in a triple. Room was small as most hotels in Paris but roomy enough for 3 + luggage. Easy to use safe in room. Bathroom spotless. It was very hot and hotel a/c worked well. Nice linens and beds very comfortable. Less than 2 blocks to Seine river. Cross the river and you're in front of the spectacular Notre Dame. Great restaurants nearby. Lovely/safe area to walk around and explore; at night the nearby monuments and bridges are illuminated; just beautiful. Visit the Louvre (15 minute walk). Visit the Cluny Museum with medieval artifacts (10 min walk).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank upstatefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    191
    36
    8
    11
See reviews for
128
212
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were recommended this hotel and when booking had asked for a triple room with a view. We are a couple with a teenager (16 year old). We were very pleased with the room we were allocated (601?) - right at the top with a fantastic view of St Severin church and the Eiffel Tower. The weather was sweltering whilst we were in Paris but the hotel was a cool sanctuary. Very close to Notre Dame and lots of great local cafes and restaurants. Hotel is immaculately clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a central Paris visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

here working in paris for 8 weeks again stopped here before but forgotten to add my points on the hotel well one word out standing great value service is out standing i hope many people will enjoy stopping here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westernbenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern viginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great stay at this perfectly located hotel 2 blocks from Notre Dame.
We had asked for a room facing St Severin on an upper floor and
that is what we got.

Lobby is quite beautiful. Bathroom very new, modern, all marble, good
shower/bathtub, plenty of hot water. Room (301 twin) was larger than we had expected (after reading other TripAdvisor reviews) and extremely functional with lots of storage space. The furnishings (rug, drapes, etc.) appeared to be new. But the best part with the view from our window. It was the most unique view we have ever had with the church looming at what appeared to be a few feet away.

Beds were comfortable and we had no issues with noise. A/C worked great; in fact, too cold the first night, until we got the control set right for us.

The front desk spoke perfect English and were very, very helpful. Thanks so much to Walid, Sarusa, and the rest of the staff.

Overall, a great place to stay in Paris; excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing St Severin, you will be glad you did. We liked the twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuriNorthernViginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Good things:
This hotel has an excellent staff; very helpful.
The lobby and other shared spaces are very pleasant and comfortable.
The breakfast is decent
When the double-pane windows are closed, the rooms are quiet.
And, of course, the location is outstanding

bad things:
The wi-fi is a joke. It continually disconnects.
The room, while lovely, is very small.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. Get a streetside room, you'll have a nice view of St. Severin across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eclipsoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here and again found it to be wonderful! Rooms were good, clean and comfortable. No coffee making facilities, we took our own travel kettle and tea/coffee! Location great near the metro and Notre Dame. Surrounded by lovely little restuarants and bars - endless choice of food and all good that we ate! Highly recommended it - only downside if you have a room at the front and its warm - busy road through the night! Would still recommend this hotel. Staff very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights & it's for sure a beautiful hotel. The staff is sweet, & you could definitely do worse. I give it a 'very good' for location & view, but the other aspects dragged it down quite a bit.

Positive: The view was spectacular, we were overlooking Saint Severin & had a clear view of the Tour Eiffel. The room is spacious enough seeing as we were out a lot and traveling light, I could see if you had more luggage it would be a very tight squeeze, but that's to be expected in Paris.

Negatives: The room was so incredibly hot & dry each night I was sick all 7 days. We tried everything, opening the window, cranking the AC, steaming up the room with the shower, nothing helped, I woke up more ill each morning & the bed/pillows were pretty uncomfortable.

Overall it's not a bad hotel, I can't speak to it in comparison with other hotels in Paris, but it was the most expensive for the quality of any hotel I've stayed at around the world. What you're paying for is the location - which is prime - & the view - if you get it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,801 in Paris
1,218 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#248 of 1,801 in Paris
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#618 of 1,801 in Paris
550 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#628 of 1,801 in Paris
218 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#475 of 1,801 in Paris
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel

Property: Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Address: 9 rue Saint Jacques | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Family Hotel in Paris
#554 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Henri Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing