We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, walking distance from the Eiffel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saphir Grenelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
Ranked #974 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, walking distance from the Eiffel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This trip is a side trip from a business convention in Nantes before going back to Asia. The location is ideal if you have limited time and would like to see the Eiffel and do a bit of shopping. The staff is friendly enough. Room is so small.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank erniedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    135
    71
    27
    14
See reviews for
38
132
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I booked the Saphir Grenelle on-line for 2 stays in July because my preferred hotel was booked out.
The best (and only?) thing going for this hotel is the location on Rue Commerce in the 15eme arr.
My first stay was in a double room with single occupancy, which even by Parisian standards was extremely small, with nowhere to put your bag other than the bed or on the desk. The “ensuite” was micro. Despite relatively mild daytime temperatures, the room was hot and only a fan was available to cool the room. The location of the only power outlet, required the fan to be near the head of the bed. The room was noisy, sound proofing non-existent - voices heard clearly through the wall, doors etc thumping, water through pipes, trains.
The second stay (only because I had prepaid) was in an even smaller single room, the weather was much warmer and the room very hot (even with the fan running 24hrs. The only air conditioned place in the hotel appears to be reception! Sleep quality was very poor.
Rooms have a mini bar, and satellite TV is available although only with French language stations. My impression was that the gentleman at reception was disinterested in his guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalinya_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are here now! Couldn't be happier in this little spot, clean and friendly. We were in the "Chatelet" neighborhood for a week but wanted to be closer to Eiffel Tower and our bicycle tour so we moved here. What a great budget find. Pretty much just like the newer photos. Tiny rooms , tiny bath but all budget rooms in Paris are tiny. And don't worry, you won't spend any time in your room, it's Paris! Metro 6, 8 and 10 are a block up the street, you can get most anywhere in less than 20 mins so dont' let anyone tell you that you must stay "central" or "in the 5th". Hogwash. This neighborhood has lots of shopping and dining and there is a bakery downstairs and Monoprix store a block up. Café du Commerce down the street is great for the mid-day special lunch. Rental car is 2 mins away by metro or a nice 20 min walk. I am giving 5 stars despite them not having air conditioning because they left a little fan in the room and because the air cond hotels are more expensive but hardly blow cool air at all. However, if your date of arrival suggests a heat wave, you can cancel and book FirstHotel or Segur Hotel around the corner, they look fine. But at Saphir hotel you can open your window to the bustling sounds of Paris.
We walked to Eiffel Tower, about 20 mins down interesting streets, also walked St Charles, across to Passy, along the Seine and even to the Latin Quarter. Haven't really had to use the metro much but there it is just steps away and 2 other stations within blocks.
We got two rooms here for the price of one "family quad" elsewhere and though the rooms are mini, we have 2 baths this way and don't feel cramped, just cozy. However be aware that if you are used to the "Roomy" rooms in the USA, you're in for a shock in Europe. These people know how to use COMPACT spaces to fit more tourists in! Just go with it and enjoy the adventure.

Room Tip: book direct on the website to get continental breakfast included for free, other hotels charge 7 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaroldnMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is central and clean but the service provided by the staff is shocking. Both of the male receptionists were completely inept. The man with glasses was extremely rude and unpleasant. He was very agressive over small things such as handing in the room key. The other man defies belief. I lost my phone while staying at the hotel. After I left the hotel he called twice to tell me my phone had been found. The first time I went back he claimed that actually a guest had it and I would have to wait until he returned. When I rang again and asked in French he claimed he had the phone and that noone had called into the hotel. Of course he refused to give his name. The second time a female recptionist rang the guest who claimed not to know anything about it. The female receptionist and the cleaners were the only people who were helpful. I would avoid this place at all costs. The staff clearly have nothing but contempt for the guests.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiny and have no air conditioning. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We asked for, and got, a ground floor location standard room. Room only. 24 hour reception operating hotel entrance and key needs to be left with them. WiFi free and good speed through provider you have to register with. Room and bathroom clean enough and daily service fine. Shower in our room about 3' x 3' with about 18" entrance, so if you are of the larger variety, other grade rooms may have more appropriate facilities. I dropped the soap and had to back out of the shower to retrieve it. We chose this hotel because of the location. We love this part of Paris, and everything is within walking distance. Bakery next door with tables for snacks. Worked for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelnViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Nice and clean very suitable for what we were after. Close to Eiffel Tower metro just hop skip and jump. Loads of cafes and places to eat nearby. Very easy to find. Staff were nice and as helpful as can be with English barrier. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.2 mi away
Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grenelle
Hotel Grenelle
#1,348 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Eiffel
Art Hotel Eiffel
#399 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Avre
Hotel de l'Avre
#661 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel Paris
Europe Hotel Paris
#484 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fondary
Hotel Fondary
#1,490 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Grenelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Grenelle Hotel

Property: Saphir Grenelle Hotel
Address: 10 rue du Commerce, 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #974 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saphir Grenelle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Saphir Grenelle ***! Our hotel offers a modern and warm setting ideally located at the entrance of the famous “Rue du Commerce”, one of the biggest shopping street of the 15th district of Paris « Rive Gauche ». Nearby you can also complete your “Shopping” in the new Commercial Center Beaugrenelle. A few steps from the metro station La Motte Picquet Grenelle, the Eiffel Tower, the Invalides, the Unesco and the Exhibition center of Porte de Versailles. Our “animated” neighborhood, where you will find numerous shops and restaurants including the famous Cafe du Commerce, is a strategic location both for business trips and for leisure and sightseeing. Secure public parking is located near the hotel. (Paying Service) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saphir Grenelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saphir Grenelle
Saphir Grenelle Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing